We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They Do It Right” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lungarno

Save Saved
You added Hotel Lungarno to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Lungarno
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Borgo San Jacopo 14, 50125 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 461 hotels in Florence
Santa Monica, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“They Do It Right”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

As it's said, "You get what you pay for". Sometimes...and this was definitely one of those times. I think the attitude and professionalism of those behind the front desk (Simone et. al) started everything off in a positive direction for me which never wavered.

The location of HL is unbeatable...either direction we headed out our door took us to areas of Florence we intended to explore. And the sunsets from the terrace-amazing.

We also found the room to our liking-comfortable bed, big modern bathroom, free Internet that actually worked at all times.

The first floor lobby/sitting area is relaxing and charming. Kinda made me feel like Manhattan on the Arno...a comfortable place to sit and have a drink, or just read and people-watch.

This is an upscale and classy hotel where you are treated right. I'd have no hesitation recommending it to anyone-for pleasure or business.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    476
    115
    30
    10
    6
See reviews for
107
326
20
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mobile, Alabama
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed at this hotel the first week in July for three nights. We loved that it was a 1-minute walk from the Ponte Vechhio and just around the corner from some very impressive restaurants, landmarks, and museums. We were upgraded to a suite upon arrival with an amazing view of the Ponte Vechhio. The room was amazing, clean, and well appointed. The staff was friendly and attentive. Breakfast was scrumptious. We will stay here again the next time we visit Florence!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foster City, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I stayed there for about a week in September 2102 and another week in June 2013. We loved our stay. The front desk staff was so helpful and very friendly while professional, especially Paolo. They gave us great tips for good restaurants, gelaterias, places to shop, directions, ordered train tix for us, and all with pleasure. Excellent service. Bar staff is a bit slow, but the hotel is so charming and beautiful it makes the wait ok. The Views from the rooms of the Arno are exquisite. Postcard perfect. The rooms are beautiful, and the hotel is walking distance from everything! It is a nice place to relax and enjoy the view of the river too when you are tired from your site seeing. Breakfast is definitely a high point, and their cappuccinos are a must! I would recommend this hotel to anyone. We loved it.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the Arno. It's gorgeous. They have huge balconies too. nice for a d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

My wife and I stayed here in May for 12 nights, and very much enjoyed every minute of our stay.

The location is perfect, and the hotel is charming. What made our stay most enjoyable however was the care and friendliness of all the staff, especially Simone and Paulo and all the team on the front desk.

Would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Charming, clean, helpful staff, great location. Can't say enough about our stay there! Delicious breakfasts, great lobby with a view of River Arno. Walked everywhere, or cab called quickly. Superior hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Hotel Lungarno has a great location both for its river position, and for its proximity to restaurants more frequented by locals, away from the prime tourist zones. The hotel has old world charm and very professional service - we did find it a little distant and stiff for our liking however this is just our preference for more engagement and warmth as we can't fault it for delivery. We loved the lounge bar for an afternoon cocktail overlooking the Arno and although we did not go to the restaurant it looked lovely and very romantic. A good breakfast selection is available with good service from the staff. We booked a relaxing room however on check-in we were told we were in a classic room - not sure what this was as it does not appear on the website however we liked our room. It was not on the river side and was a little noisy at times and we found the air conditioning not as effective as it could have been. I would recommend an Arno view if you really want to maximise the hotel's location. House-keeping was a bit inconsistent and after our 3rd night we had to ask for more toiletries as they were not automatically replenished. The gym available was ok but could be improved eg full set of weights but no bench. Overall this is a good hotel and we would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

What can I say about Hotel Lungarno? Magnifico! Located in a beautiful spot across the Ponte Vecchio away from the crowds, but not isolated from the action. We stayed in a beautiful deluxe room with two little Juliette balconies overlooking the Arno and Ponte Vecchio. The room was a comfortable size, plenty of closet space (for all the of the goodies you will buy in Florence) and the bathrooms are well appointed.
The decor throughout is classic and understated, with tailored slipcovers, vintage wood furniture and a delightful collection of artwork which includes Picasso and Cocteau. The hotel feels a bit like you are staying at someones home. The service is topnotch, the staff was friendly and quite helpful.
They turn the heat off in late spring, but this year was unseasonably cool, so our room was quite chilly. They immediately dispatched a space heater to us when we called the front desk. We also had a debacle with our car rental reservation which could have ruined our day trip out into Tuscany, but the concierge helped us sort it out quickly, and we were on our way.

Breakfast buffet is very good, there are many choices for your breakfast eating style, from pastries, eggs and sausage, to fruit, cheese and Parma. If you are American, don't expect the typical "American Breakfast," after all you are in Italy, and "when in Rome..."-- well in this case Florence.
For a real gourmet experience I recommend at least one dinner in Lungarno's restaurant, Borgo San Jacopo, the Chef puts together an amazing seasonal(?) menu. We love fine dining, but we are not ones to go all-in for quail eggs and sweet pea foam, but I must say we loved our meals, as well as the overall dinning experience. And just in case we were not sure how Delicious the food was, the picture taking (of the food) and sighs of delight coming from the foodie couple across from us put our minds to rest.
However, if that is absolutely not your cup of tea, and you feel like something other than the usual Italian fare, have the club sandwich in the lobby/ lounge, as a matter of fact go back for a second one. I don't know what they do to that sandwich, but I still think about it today.

*Off the beaten path, yet VERY convenient.
*comfortable well appointed rooms.
*Beautiful views.
*Great service, helpful and friendly Staff.
*Fine dining
*Elegant yet charming atmosphere

I can't wait for my next visit!

Room Tip: A room overlooking the Arno River is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Lungarno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lungarno

Address: Borgo San Jacopo 14, 50125 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Florence
#8 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#9 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#16 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lungarno 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your charming home away from home, a stone throw away from Ponte Vecchio. Florence and Tuscan hospitality are experienced at its finest in this splendid setting offering stunning views on the master works of the Renaissance.The exclusive and stylish Hotel Lungarno was designed by the Florentine architect Michele Bönan and invites you to spend magical days surrounded by luxury, glamorous art and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Lungarno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lungarno Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lungarno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.