We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic, blissful and elegant hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lungarno

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Lungarno to your Saves list
Hotel Lungarno
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Borgo San Jacopo 14, 50125 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Romantic, blissful and elegant hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Situated near the famous bridge Ponte Vecchio, this hotel truly brings the beauty of Florence as you step your foot inside the hotel.

My wife and I spent 4 nights in this hotel and we both feel this is one of the best hotel we stayed during our Europe trip. Upon arrival on the hotel, we were greeted by Federica, a very friendly, warm and professional reception staff. She's well aware of my GHA black membership and upgrade our room to Studio Arno.

She also recommended us a great small cafe called Marion (5 mins walk from hotel) that serves great coffee and delicious Cremino (perfect combination to have it with cappuccino, highly recommended!).

When we step inside our room, we couldn't be happier. Federica, not just upgrade room, we think she gave us the room with the best view. It's breathtaking and simply stunning. We couldn't thank her enough. Furthermore, welcome drink and snack were served in our room.

Bathroom is spacious. The hotel amenities are excellent, proudly presented by Salvatore Ferragamo. The only small annoyance is the noisy bathroom light. But it didn't bother us too much.

Bed is comfortable, pillows are big and soft, we both had nice sleep since the area is really quiet at night. If we come back to Florence in the future, we definitely will stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: Rooms with river view, is absolutely beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    551
    127
    34
    10
    6
See reviews for
128
369
22
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beverly Hills, CA
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

The Lungarno is wonderful. Located right on the river, a short walk from the Ponte Vecchio, this charming small hotel could not really have done much better. From the front desk to the concierge service, to housekeeping, everything was perfect.

The rooms are fantastic. Though the standard rooms are not huge, they are perfectly decorated and maintained. I had a room with a balcony overlooking the river. The bathrooms are classically elegant marble affairs with great tubs. I would highly recommend getting a river-facing room. Sitting on the balcony, overlooking the Ponte Vecchio, watching the rowers glide down the Arno, all colored by the magical light of Florence, was wonderful.

Service is elegant, and casually formal (is there such a thing?). The lobby and common areas are beautiful, but very comfortable and inviting; a wonderful place for breakfast or for a drink. The concierge helped me with a driving plan to hit a few tuscan towns, and recommended a fantastic restaurant in one of these towns. Never did I wait for assistance from anyone; this is a perfectly managed hotel.

My only complaint, one which I sometimes have at European hotels, is that the air conditioning was not sufficient to cool the room to my satisfaction at night. I am someone who likes to sleep in a very cool room, and unfortunately, the a/c just did not get to where I wanted it to be. (Please note, however, that when I was there, it was extremely hot outside, so this would definitely effect the a/c's cooling ability.).

Room Tip: Definitely get a riverfront room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed there in September 2012 and we found this hotel on Tripadvisor. And I can tell you : This hotel is amazing!!!We hope to return there very soon in Florence!!!!!!!!! It is beautiful and very romantic place!!!!!!!! They have too very nice restauran!!!!!! Beautiful...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed here for my wife's celebration and from the start were treated like royalty. The staff picked up on this when they asked why were in town. While on a short walk, we came back to find a bottle of italian spumante and some chocolate we found in the room.
Th Hotel Lungarno is as nice as you would expect from this high chain...lungarno collection from family of Ferragamo. This Hotel is centrally located and within walking distance to some of the areas coolest attractions(uffizi gallery, palazzo Pitti, boboli garden, Palazzo vecchio..)
The hotel Lungarno is as nice as you would expect from this high end family owner Ferragamo.
From the attention to detail, remembering names, classy and confortable rooms and awesome customer service frpm beginning to the end. Thank you to the staff of hotel lungarno especially to Lorenzo and Ilaria for making my wife's birthday special. I hope to win the lottery one day and make a return visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

The hotel lungarno is the tops. I doesn't get much better than this. The hotel Lungarno with hand old painted pictures, the most beautiful rooms,bathroom with nice marble, the picteau lounge bar...
Make certain you request a room with view overlooking the river and with balcony(as there are not many).the location is perfect and convenient to all the shopping options. Thanks to Lawrence and all the concierge staff for the immaculate service!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutherford, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband, adult son and his girlfriend visited Florence this past November. We loved the location away from all the frenzy of "the other side" of the Arno River. A quaint neighborhood with charming shops, restaurants. We absolutely loved the hotel and how the staff was very attentive and friendly! Our many requests for reservations, car services and such was pleasantly accommodated by Jean-Michel and Paolo at the front desk. Our rooms were spacious and spotless and beautifully decorated along with a fantastic view of the Arno and Ponte Vecchio. Make sure and have a glass of wine at the lobby bar with Danielle and Samuel for interesting conversation along with many tips on places and things to do in Florence. We made sure to start and end our evenings at the hotel bar with them! The entire staff was extremely professional with a personal touch. Hotel Lungarno made our stay memorable and we would without hesitation stay there once again and recommend to anyone who is visiting Florence!
PS Take advantage of the free passes to the Ferragamo museum..the shoe history is amazing. We were lucky to see the Marilyn Monroe exhibit which was fantastic!

Room Tip: We stay in a Junior Suite with the Arno View...so worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Have just returned from a 4 night stay here for an anniversary treat. The Hotel is every bit as good as the previous reviews suggest. Astonishing location, beautifully kept, amazing artwork and stylish decor, fantastic restaurant - brilliant staff - next time I am in Florence it would be difficult to contemplate staying anywhere else (except possibly the other Ferrigamo hotels in the city just to see if they are just as good)
Already contemplating my next stay.......

Room Tip: the deluxe rooms with a view of the ARno and Ponte Vecchio - well you just have to dont you !
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Lungarno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lungarno

Address: Borgo San Jacopo 14, 50125 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Florence
#6 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#8 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#22 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lungarno 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your charming home away from home, a stone throw away from Ponte Vecchio. Florence and Tuscan hospitality are experienced at its finest in this splendid setting offering stunning views on the master works of the Renaissance.The exclusive and stylish Hotel Lungarno was designed by the Florentine architect Michele Bönan and invites you to spend magical days surrounded by luxury, glamorous art and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Lungarno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lungarno Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lungarno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.