We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Cora

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Cora to your Saves list
Villa Cora
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Niccolo Machiavelli 18, 50125 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 461 Hotels in Florence
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

On a recent business trip to Florence, my travel agent suggested this hotel. What a find! It is simply beautiful and the service is outstanding. The room was spacious and even had a large amount of closet space---very unusual in quaint European hotels! I highly recommend this hotel and plan to stay there on my next trip.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimoneGiorgi, Direttore at Villa Cora, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your review.
It's always a real pleasure for us to read a positive feedback of a stay.
Thank you for mentioning the impressions about the services and the size of the room, we are glad that you liked them!

We hope to see you soon again!

Best Regards,

Simone Giorgi - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    42
    8
    6
    8
See reviews for
70
184
4
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

I have spent 3 nights at Villa Cora and I have no words to describe my experience!
The level of service and the professionalism and friendliness of the staff are extremely hard to compare to any other luxury hotels I stayed at.
The pool area and the surrounding park is so beautiful. The food is so exquisite and authentic Italian – very simple recipes but just amazingly well prepared.
Location is perfect! You are less than 10 minutes by shuttle bus from Ponte Vecchio or the Duomo and it’s available every day, 7 days a week until 9-10pm. Florence is such a busy city so if you want to stay away from all the bustle of the city but still very close to it you can’t go wrong with Villa Cora.
The Spa and the treatments they provide are absolutely outstanding.
The hotel itself is a proper Villa from the 19th Century, with lots of history, original features and furniture, huge cristal chandelliers…you feel like you walk in a regal residence (the Banquet room reminded me Versailles or Caserta Palace).
If you want to spend a romantic weekend or just few days in Florence on holidays or business I think Villa Cora is the best destination in Florence. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimoneGiorgi, Direttore at Villa Cora, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Dear Angelo,

thank you so much for your beautiful review.

I'll be glad to share your comment with the Hotel staff!

Hope to see you soon again at Villa Cora!

regards,

Simone Giorgi - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

Unfortunately we only had one night in Florence (I know, crazy, right?), but it was perfection. I can hardly add to what has been said already other than room service (seriously) was amazing. When we left in the morning the director asked if we had any suggestions for changes to which we replied."not one thing."

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimoneGiorgi, Direttore at Villa Cora, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
Dear Mr. John,

thank you for your review.
Yes, one day is not enought to see Florence, so we hope you will be back soon to Villa Cora for a longer stay.
We always want to improve our services, that's why we need to ask you if you have any suggestions. We want you to be part of our dream!

Best regards,

Simone Giorgi - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

This place is amazing. The decor, the service, the staff, the facilities all 5-star. Although you can walk to the city in 25 min, the complimentary shuttle bus service certainly helped in the August heat. The room we had on the 3rd floor was perfect, quiet and had a lovely balcony. The pool was fantastic, though in the summer the sun beds do get taken quickly. We ate in the restaurant the first night and though the food was good, the service could have been slightly more attentive. However these are minor issues as cannot really fault the overall experience. Many, many thanks to Jean-Pierre, Marco, Sebastian, Vanessa, Leonardo and all the other staff who all made us feel like royalty and made our anniversary so special and unforgettable. Can't wait to come back again!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimoneGiorgi, Direttore generale at Villa Cora, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

We really thank you for your nice comment and for sharing it on Tripadvisor.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that everything went according to expecations.

We are honored of the positive comments regarding our staff and I will surely extend them to the entire team.

It is a real pleasure to have such a wonderful guest like you and we really hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon!

My warmest regards
Simone Giorgi, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

Excellent! Distinctive! Exceptional! Exquisite! First-class! Great! Magnificent! Outstanding! Superb! World-class!...... Just a few adjectives that come to mind when trying to describe Villa Cora.
This was actually our second visit. We fell in love with it last year and decided it was a must re-visit this year. We even extended our stay (again).
The highlights:
The staff- attentive, professional, great.
The decor- opulence galore. Interior, second to none. The pool and pool service.
The bag of sweet treats on our bedside table every night. (Love it! Although, as I'm allergic to gluten, I couldn't eat it)
Cleanliness- the maid service is exemplary.
The smell of Dr Vranjes, Firenze in the hallways and buildings in general. After last year's visit, I got back to London and rushed out to buy my very own bottle. My home now smells of Villa Cora, lol(at least of the first floor).
I could go on and on about how amazing this place is.
The shuttle service- easy. No stress.
Sky TV
Bed Linen
Towels
Annick Goutal toiletries
Restaurant- the salmon tartar starter with truffle is 'to die for.'

Any negatives, you ask?
Not really,
If anything;
The water pressure in the shower could be better in our room.
The vanity mirror was quite low (speaking as a tall person). I understand, most women are below 175cm.

I would have preferred some proper natural yoghurt in the breakfast buffet. (Greek style)There were several yoghurt options but I think they either contained sugar or were low fat.
No peacocks or flamingoes in the garden...lol, JOKE!!!!

Really, there is nothing to fault this hotel. (Reluctantly sharing my enthusiasm and statement of what an absolute gem this hotel is as I don't want you all to rush to book. We need a room for our next visit too.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimoneGiorgi, General Manager at Villa Cora, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear Guests,

We don't have words to reply to such a beautiful review and too many compliments but we can only say THANK YOU. Your words are a real spot for the Hotel and we really feel as having achieved our goal when we receive these amazing feedbacks.
This was the second time that you stayed at Villa Cora and hopefully there will be a third..
Warmest Regards from all of us!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
great neck n.y.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

First class hotel, with a beautiful marble pool and patio restaurant overlooking it. Staff were always helpful and gracious , and are ready to help in any way that they are able.
Rooms are either in the main house or the second building by the side of the pool, our room was very quiet, comfortable but a little on the small side even though it was classed as ' superior'. All meals are set next to the pool, breakfast had a beautiful buffet choice and the dinner menu was varied and well prepared. The hotel has a shuttle bus to go into the shopping areas, and is very convenient.

This hotel is a welcome stay for those who want to be close to the city center but also have the ability to relax and eat around the pool. A welcome stop for families visiting Florence who want a little recreation available for their children.

Room Tip: my advice is to always check the room before unpacking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimoneGiorgi, General Manager at Villa Cora, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for writing this beautiful comment ! We are happy to know that you had a good time at Villa Cora and that you coud completely enjoy your star at the Property and its location and facilities.
It will be a real pleasure for us to welcome you back to the Hotel anytime that you happen to be in Florence .
Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Magic doesn't happen often. In fact, few of us has ever experienced it. Well, think of Villa Cora like this "kind of magic" where anything you dream of can happen.

For us, it happened on the 4th of June. Our Wedding. it could have been anywhere but Villa Cora was THE place. The place that allowed us to have that magic moment.

I never had much expectations, but the hotel management, event manager Clarissa, banquet team, GM, anyone involved was an expert and customer skills went above and beyond.

Our wedding was international (French-Korean), which added some logistic complexity with language and culture but the Hotel employees and management was perfectly orchestrated and everything took place smoothly with the utmost perfection and attention to detail.

There is no word to describe this destination, whether you are looking for peace, relaxation or to find this magic like we did. The is the right place to go.

We travelled all over the world and could never find the same level of customer excellence and real smile from the employees. It really feels like home for anyone who steps in. Every one of our 25 international guests from Asia, UK, Switzerland, Canada left with the same feedback: if we could add a 6th star to this hotel, we definitely would.

Thank you Villa Cora for making our Wedding a successful story, to mark the first day of our life as certainly the one that will be crystallized in us forever.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimoneGiorgi, General Manager at Villa Cora, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much to remember us and write this beautiful review . We are so hounoured for having been part of one the most important days of your lives and, most of all, that everything went smoothly and that you can always remember Villa cora with a smile .
We will share this review with all the staff and remember that Villa Cora will always be your home whenever you decide to come back to Florence.
Our Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Cora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Cora

Address: Viale Niccolo Machiavelli 18, 50125 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#6 Business Hotel in Florence
#8 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#8 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Cora 5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
VILLA CORA is a 5 star resort located in a 19th century mansion with a large park, bordering the gardens along Viale dei Colli, within walking distance from Boboli and Oltrarno and considered the "grand lady" of Florence southern hills. Its 46 rooms and suites, heated pool in the park, Gourmet's Restaurant and Spa make it the ultimate, exquisitely sophisticated "city resort". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, MrandMrsSmith, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Villa Cora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Florence
Grand Hotel Cora

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Cora, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.