We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sparkling Brillance !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Villa Cora

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Villa Cora to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Villa Cora
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Niccolo Machiavelli 18, 50125 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Sedlescombe
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Sparkling Brillance !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I knew what to expect in the glorious & lavish interiors from the many photos I'd seen, but they cannot show the highest quality of care from all the staff ! The attention to detail, wonderful food & sublime surroundings made this four day respite after a wedding so special ! Breakfast is displayed like a work of Art, & nothing is to much trouble from the courteous staff.
Dinner by the beautifully lit poolside & their very own Villa Cora Chianti ! Bathroom , all marble & every woman's dream !
There's a free mini-bus shuttle takes 7 minutes into town dropping off point at The Savoy & seriously expensive Designer shops, a stroll to the Duomo & the most delicious gelato in the world ! Mojito flavour for me!
This is a truly wonderful experience, you get what you pay for & it's worth it !

Room Tip: We chose a room at the front with a balcony, first floor & there is a lift !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimoneGiorgi, General Manager at Grand Hotel Villa Cora, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

It has been a real pleasure to receive your wonderful review about our Villa Cora. We are so happy to read that you had a great time at our property and that you could enjoy every single detail of your stay in that has been and hope will be again your home anytime you come to Florence.
Thank you very much because , besides to tell the beauty of the place, your kind words really help to make understand which is our commitment to the service for all our valued guests.
We really look forward to welcoming you again soon to our Villa Cora!
Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    40
    9
    6
    9
See reviews for
63
168
4
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florence
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We spent our 25th wedding anniversary at the Grand Hotel Villa Cora, a privately owned establishment. The staff were naturally helpful, attentive, friendly and not overbearing. The small things that make the difference were provided: mini mint ices, fruit drinks offered with a smile while relaxing at the pool. The restaurant was pleasant and next to the pool, the food good. The look was sophisticated Italian which is also reflected in the rooms.My husband and I would definitely return.
The hotel is also perfectly placed for access to Florence and areas in Tuscany.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimoneGiorgi, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Villa Cora, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Google Translation
Gentile Signora Elizabeth,

La ringraziamo di cuore per aver pubblicato questa bellissima recensione ma soprattutto per essere stati, Lei e Suo marito, nostri gentili ospiti. Nella speranza di potervi riaccogliere presto nel nostro Villa Cora Le porgiamo i nostri più cordiali saluti.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Recently stayed on a 2 1/2 day stopover in Florence. Was fantastic to have a place just outside the city which acted as a welcome oasis. And a beautiful one. Fantastic property - the hotel and grounds are gorgeous. Great restaurant, and great support (reference, reservations, etc.). They arranged fantastic dining in town. Shuttle to get you around. Just a fantastic experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimoneGiorgi, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Villa Cora, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for your nice words ! receiving such a beautiful feedback makes us feel like having achieved our goal! we are so happy to read that you had a good time with us and that you could enjoy with satisfaction the hotel's facilities as well as having experienced a professional yet friendly service with the whole staff.
We hope that we 'll always be your home anytime that you happen to be in Florence!
Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Reasons to stay here:

The lobby is incredible -- there are several rooms full of beautiful art that will blow you away. The rooms are extremely beautifully decorated. The pool is really amazing, especially because it is heated. The shared roof deck has an amazing view of Florence -- we spent three nights up here drinking wine and watching the sunset. Very romantic. This is a great spot for a more relaxed trip to Florence.

Reasons not to say here:

The location isn't great. It's a 30-40 minute walk to downtown Florence attractions. It's downhill on the way in and quite uphill on the way back. We generally were able to use the free hotel shuttle, but sometimes the shuttle isn't available for 30-60 minutes, and the shuttle stops running at 9 PM. Over a three-day trip, we ended up having to use a taxi to get back twice, and once (Sunday night) weren't able to get a taxi at all and ended up walking 40 minutes back to the hotel around midnight. The taxi is 20 Euros one way, which seemed expensive just to get into the city. I wouldn't recommend this hotel if you are planning on doing a lot of sightseeing in Florence or plan to spend late nights out in Florence.

Some of the rooms are in the main building, which is amazing, and many other rooms (including where we stayed) are in a smaller side building that isn't nearly as beautifully decorated. The hotel is extremely pricey, and if you are justifying the price in part because of the amazing decorations, it may not have been worth the price to stay in the side building.

The pool was the best feature of the hotel, but it was also extremely busy. It was very hard to get a pool lounger. The pool service was also quite slow.

This hotel has a definite "fancy" feel to it. It made us feel a little uncomfortable. Most of the men at dinner by the pool were wearing suits, for example. As underdressed Americans, we felt a bit out of place.

The hotel is extremely expensive, which extends to the price of wine/cocktails and to breakfast and dinner. Breakfast is probably worth it, though.

Overall, we really enjoyed this hotel, but we had some reservations, especially for the price.

Room Tip: Book in the main hotel rather than the side building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimoneGiorgi, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Cora, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

first of all i thank you for your time on writing. I' m glad to understand you loved the decoration and the atmosphere of our property. Rearding the other considerations, i take note and i inform you that our shuttle service take more than 15 minutes for traffic reasons and a taxi cost more than 10 Euros depending to the area you want to stop. Our "Villino Eugenia" which is attached to the main villa has the same category of rooms standard and deluxe. We will improve our service by the pool with our "poolstaff", considering that when the property is full, it takes longer to have a sit. Our concept for all guests is to feel at home, so every client can decide how to get dressed, and the price for the cocktails, wine is related to the service.

I really hope to welcome you back personally to Villa Cora, i will be more than glad to share improvements

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We have just come back from our wedding/honeymoon in beautiful Italy. Our favorite place to stay was the Grand Hotel Villa Cora. We had our wedding there in the Salon on Mirrors and our reception in the Pool Side Restaurant. We along with our quest stayed at the villa for several days and were treated wonderful. The rooms and the grounds are so beautiful and the staff were all so helpful and acomadating. The food was excellent. We will definately be going back to the Villa.
Debra & David VanLue
Livermore, Ca

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimoneGiorgi, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Villa Cora, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Mrs. Debra and Mr. David,

We really thank you so much for taking the time to post this great review on Tripadvisor.

We are glad to hear that you and your guest enjoyed your stay with us at Villa Cora and that you spent a memorable wedding/Honeymoon and holidays with us.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Warmest Regards
Simone Giorgi, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zutphen, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

I have staid three days for a business meeting in the hotel and received great service.
The hotel is just beautiful with so much attention to detail. Everything is only but the best. Lovely breakfast at the pool and very tasteful lunches. Front office and Restaurant staff were so helpful.
Location is ideal, it feels like being in the country but you are so quickly in the city centre of Florence. We will be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimoneGiorgi, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Villa Cora, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

we really thank you for your beautiful and nice review, and we are so glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us at Villa Cora .

Thank you for your marvelous words regarding the Villa in itself, the restaurant, the food and your positive comment regarding the staff and the service.

We wish you to welcoming back again in Florence and of course at Villa Cora!

Warmest Regards
Simone Giorgi, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, England
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for four nights and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and may well return.

All of the staff were very anxious to please and the building and it's location are both excellent. The hotel is far enough away from the hustle and bustle of Florence to be peaceful and relaxing and yet close enough to go in to town for dinner in the hotel shuttle bus in less than 15 minutes.

The pool area is excellent.

Although we were generously upgraded to a junior suite after we said we thought the first room we were offered had some drawbacks the suite itself was rather small and had a less than perfect layout so if the shape and size of your room is important to you I suggest you make some enquiries and find out exactly what you are getting at the time of reservation - as we will if and when we return.

Also if I am being totally honest and without wishing to detract from the favorable tone of my review I have to say that for a hotel of this standard some of the staff could do with a little more training because there were a few too many small mistakes and the breakfast buffet, though very nice, was in danger of becoming more style than substance.

Don't let any of this put you off though because as I have said this is a lovely hotel in a great location and the staff were charming.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimoneGiorgi, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Villa Cora, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your time spent writing your comment and for sharing it with other people on Tripadvisor.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you will return.
Thank you for pointing that the staff is charming, the building and it's location are both excellent and that The hotel is peaceful and relaxing.

Your feedback is a precious suggestion for our every-day operations, and we wish to inform you that proper actions have been taken to improve our service.

On the other hand we would like to remind that our buffet breakfast is "a la carte" and you may have everything express and fresh.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon,

My warmest regards

Simone Giorgi, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Villa Cora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Villa Cora

Address: Viale Niccolo Machiavelli 18, 50125 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#8 Family Hotel in Florence
#13 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#19 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Villa Cora 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The GRAND HOTEL VILLA CORA is a 5 star resort located in a 19th century mansion with a large park, bordering the gardens along Viale dei Colli, within walking distance from Boboli and Oltrarno and considered the “grand lady” of Florence southern hills. Its 46 rooms and suites, heated pool in the park, Gourmet’s Restaurant and Spa make it the ultimate, exquisitely sophisticated “city resort”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Tingo, MrandMrsSmith, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Otel so you can book your Grand Hotel Villa Cora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Florence
Grand Hotel Cora

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Villa Cora, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.