We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on Earth!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Villa Cora

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Villa Cora to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Grand Hotel Villa Cora
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Niccolo Machiavelli 18, 50125 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #8 of 459 hotels in Florence
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Heaven on Earth!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We were originally booked at the 1865 Bed and Breakfast, but got an email from them saying they were closed down for the week. We are so glad they did close down...We LOVED this hotel...in fact, we wanted to stay in Florence longer just because of the hotel. It's a little away from Florence; however, the hop on hop off bus stop is right outside the entrance...and they have a shuttle. Please keep in mind though...their shuttle will not take you to the train station if you are moving on to other Italy locations.

The rooms are luxurious, and the bath amenities were out of this world. Best in Italy. In addition, the bathroom has a stereo system so you can listen to music.

We did have dinner at their restaurant and the dinner was amazing. I had the chef's pasta and it was a pumpkin ravioli (devine), and the caprese salad (which was the most interesting and creative caprese salad in all of Rome.) Service was fantastic.

The breakfast is amazing. You sit right beside the pool and have so many options, from eggs to omelets to fruit, cappuccino. Service was fantastic.

We didn't utilize the pool; however, it's beautiful and it looked like other guests were really enjoying.

Stay here if you want an amazing time in Florence!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaudioDelli, General Manager at Grand Hotel Villa Cora, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear clients,
At the bed and breakfast they will forgive us but thank god they were closed so you could be our clients..besides jokes, we are very happy that your stay at our Hotel was so enjoyable and that you had an amazing time in Florence. You said everything was perfect starting from the room and its bath amenities that you liked so much to the dinner that you had at our restaurant by the pool which , especially during summertime , has a special and magic atmosphere. You really liked the food prepared by our chefs and you considered the service fantastic and we are really proud to read this that we really can't wait to share all your compliments with the whole hotel's staff.
We really hope that , then, when coming back to Florence, you will choose our Hotel as the place to stay in.
Our Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    211
    36
    6
    5
    7
See reviews for
52
134
3
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is so fabulous I'm reluctant to share my view as it may get too popular. I want it as my secret hideaway. But, I can't do that. This hotel deserves to be shared. Top marks. Everything was just excellent. We did not want to leave. Ended up staying an additional night. Planning on returning as soon as possible.
Loved the touch of a sweetie bag at night. Even if I don't eat sweets.
Service was excellent.
Food was good. Especially the salmon and truffle starter.
Interior and room was divine.
Toiletries were good.
Free shuttle service was appreciated.
Pool and pool area was stunning.
Free Wifi throughout
Ahhhhhhhhh!!!! Paradise!
.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaudioDelli, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Cora, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers here at Trip Advisor with such a detailed comment. We are really happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated our facilities, as well as our team’s efficient and friendly service.
Please don´t hesitate to contact us for your next visit, and we´ll make sure to arrange any especial request.

We look forward to see you again!
Best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spotswood, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We were on a family trip to both Venice and Florence. From the moment we arrived the staff made us feel special. The rooms were pure luxury. It was nice to be on the outskirts of the city and easy to get back and forth. The grounds and pool were beautiful. On our first night we did the BBQ. My mom and daughter loved Giancarlo, the pool bartender. It was wonderful to take in the sights of Florence knowing we had this beautiful gem of a hotel to return to at night. One thing I would like to add- we did a private van trip to Chianti, San Gimignano and Siena. We had a wonderful driver by the name of Paolo. He showed us some amazing places including the Sant Appiano winery for lunch and wine tasting. Thank you Hotel Villa Cora for making our stay one we as a family will remember for life! The McCaffrey's

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaudioDelli, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Cora, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you so much for your review!
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and our staff' s job!!

We are honored of the positive comments and I will surely extend them to the entire team
Looking forward to welcoming back your Family

My warmest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Super hotel, with great and accomodating service, very nice rooms with great views of the city and a super fresh pool & nice pool area. The lunch menu could be a little bit mmore 'spicy', but dinner is great, with BBQ evening once a week. Shuttle car to Florence downtown. Beautiful gardens. The SPA looked great but was not tested. Easy to get to by car and easy to get to the outlet mall south of Florence.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaudioDelli, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Cora, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Guest:

From all of us here at The Grand Hotel Villa Cora, we´d like to thank you for choosing us for your stay while in Florence. We are most thankful for constructive reviews for they allow us to enhance our understanding of our guests' needs and wants. The BBQ on Wdnesday and Sunday is very well appreciated from all the guests and we thank you to point it.

We would love to see you again next time you are in town. So please, feel free to contact us anytime.

Looking forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

We had grins from ear to ear as our taxi took us through the gates of the Hotel on arrival. What grabs you first is the sheer size of the place, it is far bigger and grander than the photos depict. Then next the gardens which are lovely and always had someone tending them. We were greeted by friendly staff and headed to the poolside bar until the room was ready. The pool, poolside restaraunt and area surrounding it are all beautifull and spotlessly clean. Our room was a junior suite which had separate wardrobe area. The fixtures and fittings were of high quality. We asked for a travel cot to be made up for our 3 year old and they even placed a pillow with the hotel crest in it which she loved!!! The hotel is in a great location too, even with a buggy we walked down into the old town in about 30 - 40 mins. Coming back is a different story though as its all up hill so take advantage of the free shuttlebus service that runs on demand.
All in all a lovely 4 day break, stunning hotel snd friendly staff. We booked through BA for my wife's 40th birthday and got 4 nights for price of 3. I'm now sitting on a train on the way into work wishing I was back by the pool!!!
Oh yes nearly forgot, there is a roof top terrace on 5th floor which we only discovered on the last night!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaudioDelli, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Cora, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers here at Trip Advisor with such a detailed comment. We are really happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated our facilities, as well as our team’s efficient and friendly service.
Please don´t hesitate to contact us for your next visit, and we´ll make sure to arrange any especial request.

We look forward to see you again!
Best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We were on a 30 day trip for our 25th anniversary, this hotel hit all the marks. It was pure luxury with a great pool, great service. We visited Florence all day and would come back to this oasis and relaxed until dinner time. The shuttle took us into Florence everyday. The rooms were fabulous and roomy did not have a view of city, but the roof terrace gave us that opportunity.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaudioDelli, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Cora, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear guest:

It has been our pleasure having you stay with us. And now we are the ones thanking you for choosing us and for taking a minute of your time to write a kind review and share it with your fellow travelers.
It would be wonderful to welcome you back next time you are visiting our city, so please do not hesitate in contacting us in advance.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from an amazing 8 night stay at the Grand Hotel Villa Cora and we are already wanting to return! The hotel is stunning, the staff were so helpful, friendly and welcoming - a big thank you to you all! A visit to the roof top terrace is a must, the view is breathtaking. The pool is heaven after a morning sightseeing - our two young children loved it. It is easy to walk into the city from the hotel and the shuttle bus comes in very handy too. The food is exquisite and the BBQ is highly recommended. This has become our favourite hotel by a long way!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaudioDelli, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Cora, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your stay at the Grand Hotel Villa Cora.I' m pleased to learn that you and the Family appreciated my team’s efficient service and enjoyed your stayed in Florence. At the Grand Hotel Villa Cora we like to take care of our guests so they can get best possible experience while visiting Florence.

We would love to have you stay with us next time you are in town,
so don´t hesitate in contacting us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Hotel Villa Cora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Villa Cora

Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Florence
Grand Hotel Cora
Address: Viale Niccolo Machiavelli 18, 50125 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#12 Family Hotel in Florence
#14 Business Hotel in Florence
#18 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Villa Cora 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The GRAND HOTEL VILLA CORA is a 5 star resort located in a 19th century mansion with a large park, bordering the gardens along Viale dei Colli, within walking distance from Boboli and Oltrarno and considered the “grand lady” of Florence southern hills. Its 46 rooms and suites, heated pool in the park, Gourmet’s Restaurant and Spa make it the ultimate, exquisitely sophisticated “city resort”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, MrandMrsSmith, Otel and Venere so you can book your Grand Hotel Villa Cora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Villa Cora, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.