We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a beautiful Hotel, the perfect stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Villa Cora

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Villa Cora to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Villa Cora
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Niccolo Machiavelli 18, 50125 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 461 hotels in Florence
Woking, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What a beautiful Hotel, the perfect stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

we, my daughter and me, did spend three nights at the Villa Cora. we simply loved this place. it is perfectly renovated, the smallest details are tasteful and thought threw. the massage treatment was heaven!
we took the shuttle to go into the city and the taxi to go back to the hotel which was pretty convieniend, may be it would be a little better if the suttle would go to certain times to avoid waiting time. our room was beautiful, it was very, very clean. The staff is very nice. it is everything what you can expect.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaudioDelli, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Cora, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you so much for your review.
All the team of Villa Cora and me are pleased to learn how much you enjoyed your stay with us .
It's a real pleasure to have such guest like you and we are already looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

With my warmest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    253
    39
    9
    6
    8
See reviews for
60
162
4
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wrightsville Beach, North Carolina
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Stayed here at the end of our Europe Trip. After going like gangbusters everyday trying to see all the sights, we just hung out by the pool here for days. We loved it! The pool is excellent. Got a massage, walked to restaurants nearby, had breakfast every morning. Stayed here after the Westin. The Westin has a better location as it's closer to the city, but this place is much nicer and in a quieter setting. Definitely recommended. Only downside is some of the staff were a little stuffy.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaudioDelli, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Cora, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice words, we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and we really hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back! We assure you that we have taken proper actions to avoid the stuffy of some staff.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abergele, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

A beautiful hotel in Florence offering a five star deluxe service. I recently took a corporate group there for the second time and both times the hotel delivered on every detail. A first class concierge team who are really friendly. All the staff seem proud of their place of work and take each and every guest and the service level seriously. The hotel is decorated beautifully – you can walk past the same place and each time notice something different. I can't finish without a mention of the stunning pool area - WOW - it is wonderful and has a great bar area. A big thanks to the whole team. I look forward to staying there again in the future!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaudioDelli, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Cora, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you so much for your review!
We are very happy that you enjoyed your second stay with us and we thank you for your preference!
We are honored of the positive comments and I will surely extend them to the entire team

Looking forward to welcoming you back again

My warmest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

My husband and I (both in the hotel industry...him for 30 years, me for 12) were booked at Hotel Bruneschelli where when we arrived, they sold out and didn't have a room for us. I was upset but figured this is all part of traveling. Well, they took care of our stay and sent us to the Grand Hotel Villa Cora which was like walking into a heavenly palace! We had a private villa and the room was so clean and fresh and stunningly beautiful, I felt like I was in a movie. Literally within an hour of our arrival I took a bath because the bath tub was so inviting and luxurious. Marble floors, exquisite paintings, bed linens that make you want to sleep forever. We dined at Le Pool Bistrot which was a unique culinary experience and lovely to sit poolside with a beautiful glass of Chianti. The servers and bartenders (Mattheo and Gianfranco, specifically) were lovely and friendly. My absolute most favorite part of the property is the design and decor. It's an old mansion and the furniture, textiles, wall coverings, lighting, etc. are literally so beautiful, unique and grand I could hardly stand it! I felt like I was in the Great Gatsby movie! Marco de Pin, the front desk manager, was also lovely and helped us with restaurant recommendations and was just absolutely hospitable. This experience is one NOT to miss in Florence. If you want to escape some of the hustle and bustle, but only be 10 minutes from the city centre (the hotel offers complimentary shuttle), this place is for you. It's remarkable...and we are hotel snobs so that is saying something!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaudioDelli, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Cora, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for your kind review.

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated the service of our staff.
It is a real pleasure to have such a wonderful guest like you and we really hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon!

My warmest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbia, sc
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

While traveling Italy with my daughters, we chose Villa Cora for our time in Florence. Though not right downtown, (above the Boboli Gardens) the hotel did have a shuttle service. This service was a little uneven, ran at odd times, so that we had to use the Florence taxi service more than we planned. And this is the only reason I am not rating this hotel a 5. The hotel and grounds are truly Grand. When we arrived, there was a magazine shoot going on, so that tells you how gorgeous this place is. We had excellent service the entire time (except when it came to the shuttle) and spent a rainy day in their wonderful spa. The included breakfast was also very good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaudioDelli, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Cora, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice words, we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and we really hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back!

Regarding the shuttle service we assure you that we have improved it.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I agree with Charlie635 - the service here is definitely not up to par with other Relais & Chateaux hotels or other luxury hotels. I'm surprised this hotel is even still in the Relais & Chateaux network - either the food and service need to be drastically improved, or it should not be included in the group anymore as these two elements were sub-standard and ruined the experience for us. I've had excellent experiences at Relais & Chateaux hotels in other parts of Italy, France and in the US. Details below:

The positives:
The exterior of the hotel, lobby, bathrooms, breakfast area, grounds and pool are all beautiful. The shuttle service into Florence was also very convenient. Marco was the one exception to the bad service - he upgraded us and offered us complimentary breakfast after we had to wait twenty minutes watching the bellboy try to get into our room with a key that didn't work, and then couldn't get in the room again the next morning (same key issue) and it was only when I finally went downstairs to find someone else were we able to get in. The hotel should've offered us a quick and better solution immediately (Marco was not there till the next day but he resolved the issue in quick and professional five star fashion). Sleep quality, location and cleanliness were fine.

The negatives:
The food here is so bad (taste & quality) I ended up skipping my meals on the last day as I had gotten sick from the lunch the day before. This was really disappointing as Tuscan food is known to be delicious.

The rooms could also do with a bit of renovation. The furniture is a bit outdated and the decoration is not very tasteful.

Service - the concierge told my husband that one of the tourist sites was open Sunday morning when it wasn't so he ended up going all the way there to find out it was closed after all. Concierge's should know these things. Then when we asked for a non-touristy restaurant recommendation for dinner they sent us to a horrible tourist joint so we actually had to leave and find somewhere else upon recommendation from friends. Lastly I had gotten a late check out from one of the ladies at the front desk, and afterwards her counterpart told us we were supposed to check out already, in quite an unfriendly, unprofessional way. They do not seem to work together as they were clearly not on the same page.

Room Tip: Suite only
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

As our taxi approached this hotel in Florence, our family commented on the beautiful sight of a building and its surroundings facing us and wondered if it the place had once been a palazzo. Then we realized this was our hotel and we were all overjoyed. Our host greeted us warmly and gave us a tour of the ground floor of the hotel as he shared the history of the place. The rose gardens surrounding the hotel form a perfect frame to the beautiful building. The infinity edge pool adjacent to the restaurant and bar also add to the beauty of the place. One evening our family celebrated the setting of the Tuscan sun from the rooftop terrace of the hotel. What a fabulous view of Florence!! The rooms were finely decorated and quite comfortable. The hotel is located outside of the center of town which we actually preferred because it is away from the hustle and bustle of the tourist crowds. You can still walk to the center of Florence (which we did) but it is a long walk. Palazzo Pitti is within a comfortable walking distance from the hotel. A better option may be to use the free shuttle service offered by the hotel but you must check on available hours for this service because it is not available throughout the entire day. Unlike other hotels we stayed in during our visit in Italy, breakfast was not included in the hotel rate but the room service menu provided some reasonably priced breakfast choices. Our family definitely enjoyed staying in this beautiful place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaudioDelli, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Cora, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear Client,

Thank you very much to write this nice review about the hotel, its facilities and most of all about the enjoyable stay that you had in our property, we are so glad and proud when we receive such nice comments that we can't wait to share them with all the hotel's staff.
We look forward to welcoming you again to our Grand Hotel Villa Cora as our precious guests and we thank you again very much to take your time to write this feedback about the Hotel.
Our warmest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Villa Cora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Villa Cora

Address: Viale Niccolo Machiavelli 18, 50125 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#11 Family Hotel in Florence
#12 Business Hotel in Florence
#16 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Villa Cora 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The GRAND HOTEL VILLA CORA is a 5 star resort located in a 19th century mansion with a large park, bordering the gardens along Viale dei Colli, within walking distance from Boboli and Oltrarno and considered the “grand lady” of Florence southern hills. Its 46 rooms and suites, heated pool in the park, Gourmet’s Restaurant and Spa make it the ultimate, exquisitely sophisticated “city resort”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Orbitz, MrandMrsSmith, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Booking.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Grand Hotel Villa Cora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Florence
Grand Hotel Cora

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Villa Cora, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.