We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Getaway!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Villa Cora

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Villa Cora to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Grand Hotel Villa Cora
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Niccolo Machiavelli 18, 50125 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #8 of 459 hotels in Florence
Florence, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Getaway!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I reside in Florence, Italy. But sometimes, you need another place for an awakening romance away from all the usual areas! This is the most romantic spot to be with someone! It's worth it for the price! I would highly recommended this hotel for a honeymoon, or a special romantic getaway with that special someone!!

Room Tip: Bring enough candles!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaudioDelli, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Cora, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Mrs. Hannah,
thank you very much for your beautiful words.
we are so happy to read that you live in Florence and you loved the Grand Hotel Villa Cora.
We agree with when you say that this is a perfect spot to be with someone special.
We look forward to welcoming you again.

Best Regards,
Cluadio Delli - Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    211
    36
    6
    5
    7
See reviews for
52
134
3
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We extensively researched hotels in Florence for our trip this past August. We were travelling with two children and wanted a family-friendly hotel with a good location and a pool for down time in between sightseeing. Forgoing our original plan to stay deeper in Tuscany, we were also looking for a country-like experience but as close to the center of Florence as possible. Our travel agent recommended Grand Hotel Villa Cora and it was the perfect choice. Our travel agent confirmed our booking almost ten months prior to our arrival and we proceeded to make other plans based on our stay at this hotel. We had each day planned of our stay in Florence and built into our schedule pool time for our family. Much to our surprise a week prior to our departure from the US our travel agent was informed that the hotel could not honor the booking and that they would be able to put us up in their sister hotel in the city center. We were extremely disappointed given the amount of research we did, the planning we did surrounding our stay at this specific hotel and the fact that the sister hotel was in a totally different setting than this property and did not have the pool. After several days of stressful back and forth the hotel management compromised with our travel agent and honored our stay minus one night where we would be transferred to the sister property.

When we arrived at this hotel, we were warmly greeted by the management who offered sincere apologies and informed us of a very generous room upgrade. They really did everything they could to make up for the booking conflict and we are truly appreciate of these efforts. This property is nothing short of magnificent. The room upgrade was lovely (although I am sure our original room choice would have been lovely as well). The rooms are wonderful and amenities like linens, towels, bath products and robes are luxurious. The renovation on this property is stunning - no detail overlooked. The common rooms are gorgeous as well. The pool area is wonderfully relaxing and one feels as if they are at least an hour outside of Florence rather than mere minutes! Ample seating choices, pool tubes for the children, help yourself snack and drink bar, wonderful pool towels, need I go on? My husband had a great massage at the Spa while the kids and I swam and had a lovely lunch at the poolside restaurant which is also where breakfast is served. Breakfast choices are abundant - if you cant find something to eat here you wouldn't anywhere! Made to order omelettes, pastries, fruits, cereals, yogurts, meats, cheese and all high quality and beautifully presented. The hotel seemed full at the time of our visit and one morning we had to wait a while for a table which delayed a private tour we had scheduled to Chianti but other mornings there was no wait. The evening of our tour into the country we arrived back at the hotel late and decided to have dinner at the hotel's restaurant because it was so lovely and we were all a bit tired from the day. There were only about two other tables occupied so we basically had the place to ourselves. Service was lovely and very accommodating. We requested some sliced strawberries accompany our daughter's chicken dish and due to a language barrier instead received a fresh puree of strawberry that the chef made especially for her. We all enjoyed a laugh about it and we appreciated such effort from the chef.

A note about location - we were aware that this hotel was not in the city center and that was one of the reasons we booked it. We did not make use of the shuttle so cannot comment about its availability, but instead will say that the hotel can call a cab at any time and the ride down the hill into the city center is quite short. We think the private, country-like atmosphere at this hotel far outweighs a short cab ride to the city's main attractions. We didnt make the walk into town given it was August and we had the children with us, but I imagine it would be lovely.

Another note about this hotel - while it does not appear to be family-friendly due to the luxuriousness of the property, it is and we all felt very welcomed by staff who went out of their way to make sure our needs were met. Many guests had children and those that did not seemed welcoming of them as well.

Please do not miss the rooftop deck -- the views of Florence, the Duomo, and the surrounding hills are out of a postcard! Thank you to the front desk gentleman who came up to take some photos of our family - they are lovely and will remind us of our wonderful stay.

Ultimately, we loved our stay at this hotel and the effort made by management to compensate us for the booking conflict was extremely generous and we thank them. We were disappointed to have to leave our last day and while the sister hotel was lovely it was a totally different feel than this hotel, which offered everything we wanted for our stay in Florence. While the booking conflict was very upsetting to us and took quite a lot of back and forth to get the hotel to agree to honoring some of the stay, we felt the hotel made up for this and thus we have given the hotel our rating of excellent. We plan to return to Grand Hotel Villa Cora and hope that next time we can stay for the full length of our reservation so that we can enjoy the beauty of this property and wonderful amenities and service provided by a very dedicated staff.

Room Tip: Cannot imagine there is a bad room here because the hotel is newly renovated and immaculate. There...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

We are currently spending our last night of 3 at this wonderful hotel on the first leg of our honeymoon. In all honesty we do not want to leave. It is quite simply the best hotel in which we have stayed and ticks every imaginable box. The property is lavish, opulent, incredibly ornate and stunningly beautiful but with every possible modern amenity. The room had a beautiful view of the city and although not large, was really well set up with lots of storage space. The spa was fantastic and the pool and grounds were breathtakingly beautiful. The service was absolutely impeccable from start to finish and really earns this hotel a sixth or seventh star. For what the hotel offers and delivers this is also surely the best value 5 star option in Florence-in my opinion it is a real bargain. I don't understand why this hotel is not rated at the very top of the Tripadvisor ratings-it surely won't be long until it is at no.1. I also don't understand any criticisms leveled at this hotel by previous reviewers- during our stay nothing could have been better delivered. Thank you to all the staff for making this a wonderful start to our honeymoon.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaudioDelli, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Cora, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for you kind and detailed review. It was also gratifying to read how impressed you were with our facilities, quality of service and location.
We have been honoured and delighted to be part of your honeymoon, and we look forward to welcoming you again in the next future.

Regards,
Mr. Claudio Delli - Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Superlatives could seem inadequate to describe this experience. This hotel is right up there in our top ten which includes Gidleigh Park, Cliveden, Ellenborough Park and others. We love trying wonderful places especially when we can get an offer and breakfast is included. This hotel, a private villa was built in 1860 for the Baron von Oppenheim and has been restored to period glory, from the chandeliers to the marble floors and everything in between. We had driven from Pisa and arrived on a misty morning to be met by Marco at the most informal hotel reception ever. This was like being welcomed into someone's home. Marco, Alessandro and other front of house staff that we encountered but whose names we didn't learn were always attentive, helpful, smiling and kind. They went out of their way to make sure we were informed, advised and encouraged; nothing was too much trouble and everything was done with good grace. Our room was outstanding, a huge room with a four poster bed, two big windows overlooking, on one side, the pool and woodland and on the other the front gates and the driveway and in the distance the hills beyond Florence itself. The bathroom was huge with a bath and separate shower. We had read about the distance from the town and knew what to expect and we were quite happy with a walk down to the Oltrano and beyond. We were offered the shuttle bus but didn't use it. We had a car and sometimes parked along the road at Piazzale Michaelangelo, (free parking), and walked down to the town from there. This spot is a 'must' to see the sunset view over Florence, it is just wonderful.
We ate in the hotel, their cuisine is stunning, the chef is obviously passionate about his kitchen and the outcome is wonderful, delicious food. We had a full meal in the evening, a smoked duck breast amuse bouche, a shared starter of risotto with brown cow's pecorino (sic) and ham, a local chicken dish with crushed potatoes, a zuppa inglese followed by extra complimentary brandy snaps, chocolates and macaroons. All of this was absolutely spot on, fine dining, and the service ever attentive. A big mention for Vittoria and her staff in the dining room who were lovely. Breakfast was a real pleasure, the choices of fruits, yoghourts, jams, breads - made in the kitchen, cakes, (thank you for introducing us to kitchen made ricciacelli!) croissants and tarts - also made on the premises. Eggs were cooked to order with panchetta all accompanied by the best coffee. We also had room service, a simple fillet steak with chips, simple but beautifully cooked and served. We shared the hotel with a gastronomic group who meet there to eat 'special' food, on this occasion a particular Tuscan chicken dish served in the dining room of the original house, this was on the Friday night. On Saturday there was a dinner for the Tuscan Porsche owners club. I think the message here is that local Italians recognise the quality of what is available here.
There is a heated swimming pool, the only one in Florence, and a full spa offering a range of treatments. We did not try the pool or the treatments.
Four days from Nov 30th to Dec 4th was an excellent time to go. Yes, there was a rainy day but the was also a full on blue sky day and the town was busy but without the crowds that can make visiting the sights a pain. There were no queues for the Uffizi, the Santa Croce, the Baptistry and other places, it was wonderful, in the summer these can be two hour waits and we don't do those well!
I believe it is so special that everyone should visit Florence at least once in their lives if they have the opportunity, it is magical to see so much preserved history in one beautiful city and it holds such an important place in our cultural heritage. This is the perfect hotel to enjoy such a once in a lifetime experience.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor and were, slightly, disturbed by noise from the ground floor on the first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaudioDelli, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Villa Cora, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Guest ,
Thank you very much for having written this wonderful review regarding our Grand Hotel Villa Cora on tripadvisor. We are so delighted that the Hotel , its facilities and staff have impressed you so much . It will be a real pleasure to share your comments with all the Hotel's Staff and particularly with Marco, Alessandro and Vittoria whose names have been mentioned in the review.
We really hope to welcoming you to our Grand Hotel Villa Cora again as our precious guests.
Our Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamasted
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

This hotel is a luxury getaway from the busy Florentine streets – but only a quick cab drive or half-hour walk away. Beautiful building with great facilities and excellent dining. Prices reflect the luxury but it a destination hotel and worth every penny.

Room Tip: Even the slightly cheaper rooms are excellent and probably better value - all rooms are high spec.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaudioDelli, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Villa Cora, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Dear guest,

First of all, thank you very much for taking the time to write such a nice review about our hotel.

Guest comments like yours really make us feel that all the hard work that we put into every guest visit, pays off.

We are thrilled of the positive comments and I will surely extend them to the entire team.

We hope to welcome you back very soon to our hotel,

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAMBRIDGE
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

The Grand Hotel Villa Cora is a beautiful property with really nice rooms and amenities (including free in room internet which I am becoming increasingly irritated that many hotels don't offer). The location is quiet and beautiful - unfortunately, it rained for our entire stay so we were unable to really appreciate the view or the grounds). This is a perfect location if you want to spend time at the hotel relaxing rather than exploring Florence. If you want to spend most of your time in town, this location can be inconvenient, largely because of the shuttle schedule. It doesn't run in the afteroon (between 1 and 4, I think) and stops running at 8:30 PM. So, if you plan to have dinner in town, add in about ten euro for a cab each night to get back. The staff was very helpful and even directed us to a very nice restaurant that was about a 5 minute walk away (solving the shuttle problem for that evening). I would definitely return if I had enough time to have a day or two mostly spent at the property, but if your main purpose in visiting Florence is to visit museums, churches, etc. you'd be better off staying in town.

Room Tip: Our room had a lovely terrace with a very nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaudioDelli, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Cora, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Guest, we really thank you for your positive review of the Grand Hotel Villa Cora.

We would like to add an important information to your description of the Hotel shuttle service: our guests can be dropped off almost everywhere downtown so all the main attractions of Florence can be reached in less than 10 minutes.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best Regards,

Mr. Claudio Delli - Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Thank you to all staff in the Villa as well as restaurant! One of the nicest properties we have ever had the pleasure to visit. We have stayed in wonderful places worldwide, but "our villa" feels like home! The restaurant was fabulous, as well. We had a rental car and parking outside the main city center is advised which is one reason we chose to stay here. I could walk out on the terrace in the morning to bells ringing and a view of The Duomo...just heavenly!
It would be a wonderful place to stay for several days (especially if you have a car). It has a lovely pool area and a spa, so you can sightsee on day trips around Tuscany and still have some downtime. You are not that far by car to the designer outlets and the many beautiful drives to wineries and hill towns. We would love to return for a longer stay in the future!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaudioDelli, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Villa Cora, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your positive review sharing on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay at the Grand Hotel Villa Cora.

We are delighted to hear that your stay was so wonderful, and very grateful to receive such a positive feedback about our staff.

We are really looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

Hope next time will be for a longer stay.

With my warmest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Hotel Villa Cora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Villa Cora

Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Florence
Grand Hotel Cora
Address: Viale Niccolo Machiavelli 18, 50125 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#12 Family Hotel in Florence
#14 Business Hotel in Florence
#18 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Villa Cora 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The GRAND HOTEL VILLA CORA is a 5 star resort located in a 19th century mansion with a large park, bordering the gardens along Viale dei Colli, within walking distance from Boboli and Oltrarno and considered the “grand lady” of Florence southern hills. Its 46 rooms and suites, heated pool in the park, Gourmet’s Restaurant and Spa make it the ultimate, exquisitely sophisticated “city resort”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, MrandMrsSmith, Otel and Venere so you can book your Grand Hotel Villa Cora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Villa Cora, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.