We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Excellence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Cora

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Cora to your Saves list
Villa Cora
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Niccolo Machiavelli 18, 50125 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 463 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Friendly Excellence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Superlatives could seem inadequate to describe this experience. This hotel is right up there in our top ten which includes Gidleigh Park, Cliveden, Ellenborough Park and others. We love trying wonderful places especially when we can get an offer and breakfast is included. This hotel, a private villa was built in 1860 for the Baron von Oppenheim and has been restored to period glory, from the chandeliers to the marble floors and everything in between. We had driven from Pisa and arrived on a misty morning to be met by Marco at the most informal hotel reception ever. This was like being welcomed into someone's home. Marco, Alessandro and other front of house staff that we encountered but whose names we didn't learn were always attentive, helpful, smiling and kind. They went out of their way to make sure we were informed, advised and encouraged; nothing was too much trouble and everything was done with good grace. Our room was outstanding, a huge room with a four poster bed, two big windows overlooking, on one side, the pool and woodland and on the other the front gates and the driveway and in the distance the hills beyond Florence itself. The bathroom was huge with a bath and separate shower. We had read about the distance from the town and knew what to expect and we were quite happy with a walk down to the Oltrano and beyond. We were offered the shuttle bus but didn't use it. We had a car and sometimes parked along the road at Piazzale Michaelangelo, (free parking), and walked down to the town from there. This spot is a 'must' to see the sunset view over Florence, it is just wonderful.
We ate in the hotel, their cuisine is stunning, the chef is obviously passionate about his kitchen and the outcome is wonderful, delicious food. We had a full meal in the evening, a smoked duck breast amuse bouche, a shared starter of risotto with brown cow's pecorino (sic) and ham, a local chicken dish with crushed potatoes, a zuppa inglese followed by extra complimentary brandy snaps, chocolates and macaroons. All of this was absolutely spot on, fine dining, and the service ever attentive. A big mention for Vittoria and her staff in the dining room who were lovely. Breakfast was a real pleasure, the choices of fruits, yoghourts, jams, breads - made in the kitchen, cakes, (thank you for introducing us to kitchen made ricciacelli!) croissants and tarts - also made on the premises. Eggs were cooked to order with panchetta all accompanied by the best coffee. We also had room service, a simple fillet steak with chips, simple but beautifully cooked and served. We shared the hotel with a gastronomic group who meet there to eat 'special' food, on this occasion a particular Tuscan chicken dish served in the dining room of the original house, this was on the Friday night. On Saturday there was a dinner for the Tuscan Porsche owners club. I think the message here is that local Italians recognise the quality of what is available here.
There is a heated swimming pool, the only one in Florence, and a full spa offering a range of treatments. We did not try the pool or the treatments.
Four days from Nov 30th to Dec 4th was an excellent time to go. Yes, there was a rainy day but the was also a full on blue sky day and the town was busy but without the crowds that can make visiting the sights a pain. There were no queues for the Uffizi, the Santa Croce, the Baptistry and other places, it was wonderful, in the summer these can be two hour waits and we don't do those well!
I believe it is so special that everyone should visit Florence at least once in their lives if they have the opportunity, it is magical to see so much preserved history in one beautiful city and it holds such an important place in our cultural heritage. This is the perfect hotel to enjoy such a once in a lifetime experience.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor and were, slightly, disturbed by noise from the ground floor on the first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaudioDelli, Direttore generale at Villa Cora, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Guest ,
Thank you very much for having written this wonderful review regarding our Grand Hotel Villa Cora on tripadvisor. We are so delighted that the Hotel , its facilities and staff have impressed you so much . It will be a real pleasure to share your comments with all the Hotel's Staff and particularly with Marco, Alessandro and Vittoria whose names have been mentioned in the review.
We really hope to welcoming you to our Grand Hotel Villa Cora again as our precious guests.
Our Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    397
    45
    11
    6
    8
See reviews for
87
243
7
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berkhamasted
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

This hotel is a luxury getaway from the busy Florentine streets – but only a quick cab drive or half-hour walk away. Beautiful building with great facilities and excellent dining. Prices reflect the luxury but it a destination hotel and worth every penny.

Room Tip: Even the slightly cheaper rooms are excellent and probably better value - all rooms are high spec.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaudioDelli, Direttore generale at Villa Cora, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Dear guest,

First of all, thank you very much for taking the time to write such a nice review about our hotel.

Guest comments like yours really make us feel that all the hard work that we put into every guest visit, pays off.

We are thrilled of the positive comments and I will surely extend them to the entire team.

We hope to welcome you back very soon to our hotel,

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAMBRIDGE
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

The Grand Hotel Villa Cora is a beautiful property with really nice rooms and amenities (including free in room internet which I am becoming increasingly irritated that many hotels don't offer). The location is quiet and beautiful - unfortunately, it rained for our entire stay so we were unable to really appreciate the view or the grounds). This is a perfect location if you want to spend time at the hotel relaxing rather than exploring Florence. If you want to spend most of your time in town, this location can be inconvenient, largely because of the shuttle schedule. It doesn't run in the afteroon (between 1 and 4, I think) and stops running at 8:30 PM. So, if you plan to have dinner in town, add in about ten euro for a cab each night to get back. The staff was very helpful and even directed us to a very nice restaurant that was about a 5 minute walk away (solving the shuttle problem for that evening). I would definitely return if I had enough time to have a day or two mostly spent at the property, but if your main purpose in visiting Florence is to visit museums, churches, etc. you'd be better off staying in town.

Room Tip: Our room had a lovely terrace with a very nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaudioDelli, Direttore at Villa Cora, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Guest, we really thank you for your positive review of the Grand Hotel Villa Cora.

We would like to add an important information to your description of the Hotel shuttle service: our guests can be dropped off almost everywhere downtown so all the main attractions of Florence can be reached in less than 10 minutes.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best Regards,

Mr. Claudio Delli - Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Thank you to all staff in the Villa as well as restaurant! One of the nicest properties we have ever had the pleasure to visit. We have stayed in wonderful places worldwide, but "our villa" feels like home! The restaurant was fabulous, as well. We had a rental car and parking outside the main city center is advised which is one reason we chose to stay here. I could walk out on the terrace in the morning to bells ringing and a view of The Duomo...just heavenly!
It would be a wonderful place to stay for several days (especially if you have a car). It has a lovely pool area and a spa, so you can sightsee on day trips around Tuscany and still have some downtime. You are not that far by car to the designer outlets and the many beautiful drives to wineries and hill towns. We would love to return for a longer stay in the future!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaudioDelli, Direttore generale at Villa Cora, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your positive review sharing on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay at the Grand Hotel Villa Cora.

We are delighted to hear that your stay was so wonderful, and very grateful to receive such a positive feedback about our staff.

We are really looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

Hope next time will be for a longer stay.

With my warmest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sand Springs, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The hotel staff is the most helpful we have seen. The hotel is a stop on the city bus tour just so the "tourists" can see it from the outside. That made staying here even more special. Our room is fabulous. The location is perfect. The hotel will shuttle you to the center of the city in the morning and pick you up in the evening after a phone call. We took the tour bus for the day and just got off at our hotel. It was wonderful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaudioDelli, Direttore generale at Villa Cora, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you so much for your review.

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated the service of our staff.

It's a real pleasure to have such guest like you and we are already looking forward to welcoming you back soon.


With my warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Oh the Grande Ville Cora!! I have such wonderful memories of this palacious hotel. I was a European Travel Consultant and booked this hotel for my discerning clients. So when my Sweet Man proposed we decided to get married in Florence, Italy at the Palazzo Vecchio and I chose the Villa Cora for our accommodations. We have returned to Florence many times and I cannot envision staying anywhere else.

Our wedding/honeymoon stay was in the main building and at that time the room we had was called the Michelangelo Room. The next year we stayed in the adjoining building, which faces the main building. Every room at the Villa Cora is like sleeping in a room made for a Princess. Opulent, inviting with attention to every detail. The breakfast meals or gourmet. The staff has been more than accommodating on every one of our visits.

The location is across the Arno River from the Piaza della Signoria and the heart of Florence. But the Villa Cora is in a beautiful residential area on a hillside and not far from Piazalle Michelangelo, which is a must for panoramic photo opts of the Florence skyline. There is also a very nice restaurant located there too. We would take a 10-minute taxi into Florence but to us it was worth staying in this quiet area versus the town centre. You cannot drive in Florence proper but the Villa Cora has parking for your rental car. This was very convenient for us because we would take a day to drive into Tuscany to Siena, San Gimignano, or Montecatini. All of the top things to see in Florence are within easy walking since Florence is a small town.

So if you want to feel like royalty stay at Grande Villa Cora but if you desire the activity of the city stay in Firenza Centre.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaudioDelli, Direttore generale at Villa Cora, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you so much for your review.

All the team of Villa Cora and me are pleased to learn how much you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you for pointing that the hotel is beautiful and that sleeping at Villa Cora's rooms is like sleeping in a room made for a Princess.

We are honored of the positive comments and I will surely extend them to the entire team.

Looking forward to welcoming you back.

My warmest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Everything is just perfect!
An incredibly beautiful venue, restored and decorated, the installations and facilities are superb.
The location is also very nice.
Staff is helpful.
I recommend to my friends.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaudioDelli, Direttore generale at Villa Cora, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice words, we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we really hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back!

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Villa Cora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Cora

Address: Viale Niccolo Machiavelli 18, 50125 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#3 Business Hotel in Florence
#6 Family Hotel in Florence
#7 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Cora 5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
VILLA CORA is a 5 star resort located in a 19th century mansion with a large park, bordering the gardens along Viale dei Colli, within walking distance from Boboli and Oltrarno and considered the "grand lady" of Florence southern hills. Its 46 rooms and suites, heated pool in the park, Gourmet's Restaurant and Spa make it the ultimate, exquisitely sophisticated "city resort". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, MrandMrsSmith and Odigeo so you can book your Villa Cora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Florence
Grand Hotel Cora

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Cora, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.