We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Cora

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Cora to your Saves list
Villa Cora
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Niccolo Machiavelli 18, 50125 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 458 Hotels in Florence
SF Bay Area
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Thank you to all staff in the Villa as well as restaurant! One of the nicest properties we have ever had the pleasure to visit. We have stayed in wonderful places worldwide, but "our villa" feels like home! The restaurant was fabulous, as well. We had a rental car and parking outside the main city center is advised which is one reason we chose to stay here. I could walk out on the terrace in the morning to bells ringing and a view of The Duomo...just heavenly!
It would be a wonderful place to stay for several days (especially if you have a car). It has a lovely pool area and a spa, so you can sightsee on day trips around Tuscany and still have some downtime. You are not that far by car to the designer outlets and the many beautiful drives to wineries and hill towns. We would love to return for a longer stay in the future!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaudioDelli, Direttore generale at Villa Cora, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your positive review sharing on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay at the Grand Hotel Villa Cora.

We are delighted to hear that your stay was so wonderful, and very grateful to receive such a positive feedback about our staff.

We are really looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

Hope next time will be for a longer stay.

With my warmest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    43
    8
    6
    8
See reviews for
72
190
4
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sand Springs, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The hotel staff is the most helpful we have seen. The hotel is a stop on the city bus tour just so the "tourists" can see it from the outside. That made staying here even more special. Our room is fabulous. The location is perfect. The hotel will shuttle you to the center of the city in the morning and pick you up in the evening after a phone call. We took the tour bus for the day and just got off at our hotel. It was wonderful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaudioDelli, Direttore generale at Villa Cora, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you so much for your review.

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated the service of our staff.

It's a real pleasure to have such guest like you and we are already looking forward to welcoming you back soon.


With my warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Oh the Grande Ville Cora!! I have such wonderful memories of this palacious hotel. I was a European Travel Consultant and booked this hotel for my discerning clients. So when my Sweet Man proposed we decided to get married in Florence, Italy at the Palazzo Vecchio and I chose the Villa Cora for our accommodations. We have returned to Florence many times and I cannot envision staying anywhere else.

Our wedding/honeymoon stay was in the main building and at that time the room we had was called the Michelangelo Room. The next year we stayed in the adjoining building, which faces the main building. Every room at the Villa Cora is like sleeping in a room made for a Princess. Opulent, inviting with attention to every detail. The breakfast meals or gourmet. The staff has been more than accommodating on every one of our visits.

The location is across the Arno River from the Piaza della Signoria and the heart of Florence. But the Villa Cora is in a beautiful residential area on a hillside and not far from Piazalle Michelangelo, which is a must for panoramic photo opts of the Florence skyline. There is also a very nice restaurant located there too. We would take a 10-minute taxi into Florence but to us it was worth staying in this quiet area versus the town centre. You cannot drive in Florence proper but the Villa Cora has parking for your rental car. This was very convenient for us because we would take a day to drive into Tuscany to Siena, San Gimignano, or Montecatini. All of the top things to see in Florence are within easy walking since Florence is a small town.

So if you want to feel like royalty stay at Grande Villa Cora but if you desire the activity of the city stay in Firenza Centre.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaudioDelli, Direttore generale at Villa Cora, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you so much for your review.

All the team of Villa Cora and me are pleased to learn how much you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you for pointing that the hotel is beautiful and that sleeping at Villa Cora's rooms is like sleeping in a room made for a Princess.

We are honored of the positive comments and I will surely extend them to the entire team.

Looking forward to welcoming you back.

My warmest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Everything is just perfect!
An incredibly beautiful venue, restored and decorated, the installations and facilities are superb.
The location is also very nice.
Staff is helpful.
I recommend to my friends.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaudioDelli, Direttore generale at Villa Cora, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice words, we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we really hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back!

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We arrived at the Grand Hotel Villa Cora on Saturday, October 14. Our travel agent was told that this property was expensive but that it was only a 20 minute walk from the hotel to the Ponte Vecchio. We were also told that there was a shuttle bus available from early afternoon until late evening.

At about 2 PM we wanted to catch the shuttle into town. We were told that it runs from 4 PM to 6:30 PM. Therefore, we decided to walk since it was to be only a 20 minute walk. Well, it was about a 45-50 minute walk to the Ponte Vecchio. We were exhausted.

The bottom line is that we spent almost 50 Euros on taxis to get to and from the hotel.

I feel that our travel agent was lied to by the "hotel chain representative."

Other than the rude bellman who accompanied us to our room, the property and staff are outstanding. It is truely beautiful. The buffet breakfast is outstanding.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Grand Hotel Villa Cora is everything it's name suggests. Recently renovated, the rooms are spectacular. Quite large, beautifully furnished, lovely bathrooms, etc. The staff is terrific as well. Situated in a quiet area just minutes from the Arno, this hotel allows access to Chianti or Florence depending on your plans for the day. Don't miss an opportunity to stay in this lovely villa!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaudioDelli, Direttore generale at Villa Cora, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Mr. and Mrs. Brauner,

thank you very much for writing such a nice comment following your recent stay at the Grand Hotel Villa Cora.
It's a real delight to read your words and we really hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Claudio Delli - Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We only stayed one night at this wonderfully palatial hotel - if we could have found the excuse we would have stayed longer and sampled their cuisine but nevertheless we spent a very pleasant 24 hours here in August. Away from the bustle of the centre of Florence with wonderful views of the city from our bedroom it offered us a real respite from the heat and the flurry. The outdoor pool is great and the breakfast room looking out towards the pool was light adn refreshing. The staff were very helpful and friendly and the room was very stylish. The hotel really felt more like a villa than a hotel with none of the usual busy atmosphere in the foyer. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Request a room on the second floor looking towards Florence - the view is lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaudioDelli, Direttore generale at Villa Cora, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Sir, Madam,

thank you very much for your positive review sharing on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay at the Grand Hotel Villa Cora.
We are delighted to hear that your stay was so wonderful, and very grateful to receive such a positive feedback about our staff.
We are really looking forward to welcoming you again soon.
Hope next time will be longer than one night.

With my warmest Regards,

Claudio Delli - Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Cora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Cora

Address: Viale Niccolo Machiavelli 18, 50125 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#5 Business Hotel in Florence
#6 Family Hotel in Florence
#10 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Cora 5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
VILLA CORA is a 5 star resort located in a 19th century mansion with a large park, bordering the gardens along Viale dei Colli, within walking distance from Boboli and Oltrarno and considered the "grand lady" of Florence southern hills. Its 46 rooms and suites, heated pool in the park, Gourmet's Restaurant and Spa make it the ultimate, exquisitely sophisticated "city resort". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, MrandMrsSmith, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Villa Cora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Florence
Grand Hotel Cora

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Cora, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.