We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant place to stay in Florence” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Black 5 Florence

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Black 5 Florence to your Saves list
Black 5 Florence
via Giuseppe Verdi, 5, 50122 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #272 of 522 Florence B&B and Inns
Rome, Italy
1 review
“Pleasant place to stay in Florence”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

I can highly recommend Black 5 B&B in Florence. Lovely accommodation, leisurely breakfast, great location, walking distance to major historic points. A highlight was the personalized service of the staff. Black B&B is more than a bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    52
    32
    19
    11
See reviews for
23
104
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We have really enjoyed our stay. The staff is very friendly, early check-in at 8 a.m. was arranged in an excellent way and we have enjoyed a nice breakfast. Rooms are comfortable and quiet.

I can really recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

We have spent a few days in this unique and special b&b and we highly recommended as we appreciates the impeccable service and friendliness of the staff. The place very central and walking distance to all the major sites. You don't need to take any public transpot and just enjoy a lovely walk to through the centre of the city. Our room was very pretty, decorated in red colour with flat screen tv and a beatiful view to the centre. We would definitely come back for another romantic weekend. Don't forget to ask the staff for special special recommendations on tours and restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Black 5 is a charming hotel situated just a few steps from Santa Croce church and within a few minutes walk of some excellent restaurants and bars. Quiet in the daytime and lively at night, the surrounding area has all sorts to offer any hour of the day. It's also well situated for the Duomo and Uffizi gallery, and if you don't mind the walk it's a pleasant route to the Accademia.

The room we stayed in was comfortable and well-appointed, had a small fridge and decent wi fi reception. The small size of the bath made showers more difficult; if you're not careful the floor is easily flooded, but it's not the drama other reviews make it out to be.

Breakfast was tasty; a mix of continental meat and cheese, mini croissants and pain chocolat, and cereal, fresh juice and mini pancakes. It's all bought in, so if you like your breakfast fresh-cooked you'll be disappointed, but it's tasty, and set us up well for a day's exploring.

The staff are friendly and are happy to speak English. We were welcomed personally when we arrived, and the receptionist was kind enough to put us in a room at the back, given that the cycling championship was on and a front room would have been noisy. If I had a criticism it is that there is only a 4 hour check-in windows (2pm till 6pm) and if you check in after this an additional fee is charged, and at €30 a person it's not cheap.

I would also suggest, as an improvement, a less noisy air con unit, which in any case wasn't terribly effective even in a small double room, and a mosquito net over the bed or a mosquito screen at the windows. The mozzies here are pretty big, as are the bites they leave.

This is a lovely little hotel, a bit tricky to find on foot, but tell the taxi driver the address of Via Guiseppe Verdi 5 and you should have no problems. It's a hotel for those who need/want minimal disruption from its staff. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you're looking for a quiet night, ask for a room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

I have to agree with some of the other reviews. This hotel is a challenge to find and does NOT live up to the photos. We were excited to stay here based on the images but it is a room and breakfast NOT a traditional B&B. Signage is so small you can't see it. The hotel booking sites say parking is available but that is not the case. Parking is at a nearby garage which we had found on our own and is an extra.The B&B if you can call it that, is on the top floor which is up 4 or 5 flights of stairs. The lift didn't work for us so it was tiring. The room we had was large but no amenties such as shampoo, conditioner, etc. There is no information in the rooms about the television, Florence, attractions, etc. Rooms are very dim and the lighting in the bathroom almost non existant. The shower is over an old bath and leaks so much that the floor pools with water and you spend your time trying to wipe up the water on the floor. Staff were friendly but they were not here long. You are on your own in the evening as the property is unattended. It lacks warmth and atmosphere. Location is good near some nice restaurants and wine bars.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This was our first experience with a B&B and we thoroughly did not enjoy it. Granted, we usually stay at 4* and up establishments but when choosing a hotel in Florence, the pictures online were too charming to pass up. First off, the hotel is pretty difficult to find. It's basically part of a building with a small sign so we passed by it a few times before we realized it was it. We didn't have any issues with check in and found the lady to be in moderately good spirits. However, the property is dimly lit and the decorations reminded us of a throwback horror movie. Our room was pretty horrible as well. It just didn't feel clean and comfortable.. I refused to walk around the room barefoot. The bathroom is the absolute worst part though. It's small, grimy, and the tiny bathtub had a shower curtain with dark stains all around the bottom. We tried so hard to maneuver ourselves so that we wouldn't touch the curtain in case it had leftover bodily fluids from the previous tenant.

Having this be our first B&B experience, these items may be typical and not a big deal. But for us, even if it's not a high star establishment, cleanliness is key. We felt like this place lacked that quality and therefore our stay was thoroughly not enjoyable. For those prone to modern, upscale properties, this place won't be for you. The location was soso - still a bit of a walk to the main area but manageable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This is an excellent base for a stay in Florence, rooms were clean and despite what other reviews say you can hardly hear the noise outside, it's in a very good location and excellent value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Black 5 Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black 5 Florence

Address: via Giuseppe Verdi, 5, 50122 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #272 of 522 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Black 5 Florence is a Charming Bed and Breakfast located in the Santa Croce Area of Florence's historical centre. It offers, Free WiFi, Free Minibar with Mineral Water, Air-Conditioned rooms, hairdryer and private Bathroom. Breakfast is settled in Your Room complimentary. Rooms are decorated in different styles and colours to provide a cosy atmosphere and different experiences. The Black 5 Florence is located less than 5 minutes walking away the Uffizi Gallery and the Ponte Vecchio. Wellness Center is at 500 mt walking distance from Black 5 Florence and is available if you book it in advance. All Rooms are, with ensuite bathroom, beautiful wooden caisson ceilings period brickwork, whirlpool bath or shower, hairdryer, large and bright windows. They all look onto the central Via Verdi. They are equipped with Free WiFi, air conditioning, Free Minibar with Mineral Water, TV, Phone, Safe, Antiallergic Mattresses, Double pillows and bed linen in pure Egyptian cotton.Breakfast settled in Your Room consist of: Coffee or Tea, Milk, Brioches, Muesli,Crisp Bread, Butter, Jam, Honey, Yogurt, Orange Juice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Black 5 Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black 5 Florence Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black 5 Florence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.