We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“truly "the best apartment in Florence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residenza Oltrarno

Save Saved
You added Residenza Oltrarno to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Residenza Oltrarno
Viale Raffaello Sanzio 2, 50124 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #155 of 508 Florence B&B and Inns
Lowell, Maine
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“truly "the best apartment in Florence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Our family stayed at Residenza Oltrarno in October 2012. The apartment is huge and utterly charming with Italian antiques but modern amenities. The foyer of the building is magnificent and a circular staircase makes you feel like you are ascending to Italian royalty. It truly feels like a home with extremely large rooms with balconies overlooking the street from every room. Stefano was wonderful. Grocery stores are nearby and a short walk to the center of Florence enables you to be a tourist and relax at home as well. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The bedroom on the non-street side was a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Maple Ridge, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We visited this past July for a week, stayed at Residenza Oltrarno and loved it. Were there with 2 other people, tons of space for everyone, and the livingroom/ dining room was perfect for gathering and discussing the next day's activities. Stefano and Leonardo were excellent hosts, organizing a tour for us and providing little extras along the way such as calling cabs, etc. We were there to get married in Florence (fabulous!) and they even helped me find a place to get my hair done prior to the ceremony that was close by. Handy grocery store across the street, a good walk to the old part of town but nice to stay out of the super touristy areas, lots of eateries close by. The apartment was spacious, very clean, air conditioning in the bedrooms worked well which was appreciated during the super hot weather we had while we were there, and the numerous windows in the apartment helped a lot with air flow. If I had to choose any downside, the traffic is noisy outside but this could be said of a lot of places, Florence is a busy town. Would definitely stay again, good value for sure.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orso1976, Proprietario at Residenza Oltrarno, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your review!
We hope that your marriage was beautiful in Florence and in our house.

Hope to see you again!

Leonardo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

what a wonderfull apartment so spacious with all things you would need and near all amenities. There was plenty of tourist books to plan your days. Bus stop on your doorstep when you have walked enough and plenty restaurants round about. Supermarket 2min walk. Stefano was on hand with loads of local info and can get tickets for most things you want to see.We stayed for a week and it wasnt long enough we had a wonderful time. We are 6 mature ladies and we were very very comfortable there. Thank you very much Stefano and Leonardo. xx

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, British Columbia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

We recently stayed here with two other couples and had a wonderful time. The accommodations were clean and spacious and worked very well for us. We took full advantage of the kitchen and dining area which made it very relaxing to come back to after a long day of site seeing. There is a great grocery store nearby so we were able to stock up. We were welcomed on arrival and Leonardo was very helpful with providing information for our days in Florence. He even went so far as to get our reservations for the museums. It was an easy walk to the historical center but there is also a bus quite close by if needed. The only issue we had was the parking. Although we did get a parking pass there is no private parking available so you take your chance finding a place nearby. Overall, everything was beyond our expectations and I would definitely recommend staying here.

Room Tip: The two rooms towards the front had more traffic noise but all were very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perm
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

My friend and I spent in Residenza Oltrarno wonderful 6 days. It is a quite place with romantic atmosphere. Rooms are spacious, light and beautifully decorated. The house is away from crowded with tourist central streets but at the same time is in the walking distance from many places of interest (20-30 min). Rooms were always clean; hosts were always friendly and helpful. We would like to recommend this place to everyone.

Thank you Stefano and Leonardo for our enjoyable stay in Florence!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

First of all, Stefano & Leonardo are excellent! Very kind, very helpful, and very reasonable.

It was clean and spacious.

The location is decent. It was about a 10-30 minute walk to anything we wanted to see.

If/when we go back to Florence, we'll definitely be staying here.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

My husband and I traveled through Italy for our honeymoon for 4 weeks. We stayed in different bed & breakfasts throughout the country and this was the best of all! It is a very spacious appartment, with big rooms, decorated with charming italian artistic style. The owners are very welcoming and helpful. Everything is always very clean, and at the same time everything is so relaxed that we felt for a few days as if the place was our own. It is about 20 mins walking distance from the center of the city, and also very well connected to move around in buses. There is a supermarket half a block away and a bancomat next door, which is very practical. There are also several restaurants closeby, and Steffano and Leonardo even give you recommendations of several restaurants with their exact locations on a map. We enjoyed our stay in Firenze and in this guest house very much, and totally recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residenza Oltrarno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza Oltrarno

Address: Viale Raffaello Sanzio 2, 50124 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #155 of 508 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residenza Oltrarno is the ideal home for your stay in Florence. No matter if you come for vacation, work, study or any other reason.Residence Oltrarno is the best solution for your needs. It is a large, huge flat, about 200 square metres.It is near the centre, but just outside the town ZTL cameras (blocking access to non-residents' cars in the town of Florence). It also offers its guests several spaces and amenities that meet all the needs of those who want to feel at home when abroad. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Residenza Oltrarno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residenza Oltrarno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.