We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb location in the heart of the city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of B&B Il Gattopardo Firenze

Save Saved
You added B&B Il Gattopardo Firenze to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
B&B Il Gattopardo Firenze
Via dei Magazzini 1, 50122 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #246 of 512 Florence B&B and Inns
Hummelstown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Superb location in the heart of the city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012 via mobile

The b&b is professionally run.

It offers a large shared living room, a small shared kitchen and free wifi.
Rooms are for rent with private or shared bathrooms, so check this when booking.
Rooms are small, but clean and comfortable.
Beds are made daily.
Breakfast is offered at a local cafe around the corner and is very basic with 1 croissant and 1 coffee.

The b&b is at the heart of the city which is very good.
The downside is a lot of noise at night from people, cars and the city cleaning service. We experienced this before in another b&b close by, so you can not hold this against il gattopardo. You just have to deal with it.
There is no airco which would be nice at summer.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    12
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
4
25
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

I have nothing but the best things to say about IL Gattopardo! The location cannot be beat, the accommodations are extremely clean, and the service is outstanding. Our vacation included a group of 11 women renting out the entire bed and breakfast as an apartment. We arrived in Florence earlier than expected, but still very late in the evening. Alkmini was able to meet us at the apartment within 20 mins without any prior notice. Once there Alkmini was extremely helpful and informative while showing the apartment. The entire group was blown away by how wonderful everything was...we even left our bags at the apartment while we spent the day shopping. The only problem was that we were only staying one night…if we had known how comfortable we would have been we would have booked at least two additional nights!

Alkmini, thank you for a fabulous time in Florence!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bothell Washington
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

You simply can't beat the location of this place. Your walking distance to pretty much everything worth walking to around Florence. The place is clean, the rooms are a good size and the kitchen offered everything one would need. The manager Alkmini was great. We even left items we had purchased in Florence in our room and she was kind enough to ship them to us in the States. Great person to deal with. The last time in Florence we were in a hotel but after this experience I wouldn't even consider it. Instead, save your money and take advantage of this place!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrison, CO
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at Il Gattopardo. You can't get any closer to the center of Florence. The apartment is really beautiful, although we didn't spend much time in there. (Several bedrooms have shared access to the rest of the apartment.) We really enjoyed chatting with Alcmena, too. Our room was very clean and had everything we needed.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

It was fun to discover where and how the B&B was situated. Indeed, the location was perfect !
The staffs were very frendly, especilly Alk was really helpfull at any moment!!!
This is the place where we can really remmonded to our friends.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

it's a wonderful hotel with perfect location! you just have to walk 5 meters to find yourself in the heart of florence! the building itself (and the apartment) is amazing!!
and it was quite fun to have a private bathroom outside our room)))

Room Tip: all rooms are perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, India
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

We chose this place quite by chance from air bnb and its been a great choice! Smack in the heart of historic florence - off a street from piazza della signoria. Uffizi is a minute's walk away and duomo less than 5 minutes. The apartment itself is huge and beautiful. We booked last minute for a new years stay and got their last bedroom available (5 in all). This one was without an attached bathroom and we were concerned about it. But the bathroom was just outside the bedroom and was no issue at all. But they have 2 bedrooms with attached bathroom so book early and try getting one of those rooms. There is a lovely huge living room, dining room and kitchen. We spent a fair bit of time in the liviing room and it felt like having a nice apartment to yourself in the heart of florence. The apartment is cleaned everyday (while we were there) and that was a huge plus. We were greeted by Alk and had great recommendations on things to do, places to eat. Don't miss Birreria Centrale restaurant at Via Ciamatori. Amongst the best food we have had in italy - non touristy, frequented by the locals, good prices and great food. Taverna Divina Comediana is a nice place just behind the apartment.

We stayed here for 5 nights and will be back here during our next stay for sure - don't miss it!!

Room Tip: Pick one with attached bathroom if you have the choice. Also check if some rooms have wireless inter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to B&B Il Gattopardo Firenze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Il Gattopardo Firenze

Address: Via dei Magazzini 1, 50122 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #246 of 512 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gattopardo B&B is located in the heart of Florence, between the Dome and P.zza della Signoria. It's furnished with precious furniture, beautiful rugs, under a vaulted ceiling with frescoes and wooden beams, completely renovated. The comfortable, chic bedrooms all have a private bathroom, a 26” LCD screen television and free wireless Internet connection. You are also welcome to use the kitchen facilities for the preparation of coffe, tea ecc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL and TripOnline SA so you can book your B&B Il Gattopardo Firenze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B&B Il Gattopardo Firenze, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.