We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Entertaining” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Opera at St. Mark's Anglican Church

Opera at St. Mark's Anglican Church
Via Maggio 18, Florence, Italy
1 800 877 1755
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 220 attractions in Florence
Type: Operas, Performances
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Love Duets’ Concert: you do not have to be a lover of Italian Opera to enjoy this wonderful evening. It’s set in a small church from 1800’s. You have a piano, soprano & tenor performing Opera’s love song and Italian love songs. The setting and performance is overwhelmingly powerful. You’ll be moved to tears by the emotions. Not to be missed.
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Entertaining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 NEW

As a novice not sure what to expect but really entertaining and thoroughly enjoyable. The advertising pamphlet programme was different to what was actually sung which was disappointing. Brilliant venue.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    571
    93
    12
    5
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leuven, Vlaams-Brabant
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“The singers gave a beautiful performance!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014 NEW

I am not an opera fanatic. To be quite honest, I find opera take to much time and are quite boring at times. But this opera on the other hand, was absolutely wonderful! The singers were enthusiastic and had beautiful voices. For me it was a sort of 'soft opera' and that was perfect. Especially the love song duets, were amazing! I would highly recommend booking your tickets for this performance.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Incredible intimate Italian opera experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014 NEW

Went to see La Boheme and was amazed at how incredible the performance was! All of the actors were amazingly talented with beautiful voices and great acting skills. The acoustics in St. Marks are wonderful. I would recommend sitting in the raised seats at the back if you are sensitive to volume, especially since the seats are raised so as to provide an equally clear view. The church itself is beautiful, and all of the staff are wonderfully friendly and very grateful for any small donations to their charity. The tickets were a bargain given the excellent quality of the opera, and the 2.5 hour length (including intermission) was perfect. This was the best Italian opera experience I could have hoped for!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Hills, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Unforgettable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014 NEW

I went with my granddaughter who didn't think she liked opera. We both really enjoyed it. Top singing talent and charming venue. I live in New York and have opera available often, but this was different. The fact that it was Italy made it even more special. Loved everything about it.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“What a treat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 NEW

Opera in Florence but didn't bring your tux? No worries, this is a neat idea with lots of great side benefits. The production, held inside an Anglican Church, is minimal as is the musical accompaniment. But it works, and the singers are outstanding. The place is small to give their voices a soar and it makes you feel as though they're singing just to you. Also, if you donate money it goes to a great cause in India. Definitely a great idea if you have the time

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Opera at St. Mark's Anglican Church also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Opera at St. Mark's Anglican Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Opera at St. Mark's Anglican Church, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Opera at St. Mark's Anglican Church to your Saves list