We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fabulous experience, especially if you are new to opera” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Opera at St. Mark's Anglican Church

Opera at St. Mark's Anglican Church
Via Maggio 18, Florence, Italy
1 800 877 1755
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 220 attractions in Florence
Type: Operas, Performances
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Love Duets’ Concert: you do not have to be a lover of Italian Opera to enjoy this wonderful evening. It’s set in a small church from 1800’s. You have a piano, soprano & tenor performing Opera’s love song and Italian love songs. The setting and performance is overwhelmingly powerful. You’ll be moved to tears by the emotions. Not to be missed.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A fabulous experience, especially if you are new to opera”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

What an amazing experience!

Well organised, wonderful quality of acting and music in a small, friendly setting. Though this was my first opera experience, it was made very accessible with the programme and short narratives in between acts.

An evening you will never forget!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    588
    97
    14
    7
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
loughborough
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
65 attraction reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Good friday recital”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Great little Anglican church in a back st on the south side of the river arno. We were welcomed by the english priest to a free concert of the Stabat Mater by Pergolesi. Sung in latin by two wonderful professional singers accompanied on a grand piano by a brilliant pianist. Never been to anything like it before. During April alternate nights see concerts of italian love duets interspersed with arias from well known Italian operas sung by various members of local operatic groups.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamaica
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Opera in Church in Florence just wonderful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

My daughter and I enjoyed very much the music at St.Mark's Opera company in September of 2012. The singers were so talented and it really was a dream come true to hear this wonderful music in this beautiful church. What also was inspiring to me which I did not find out until the end of the performance that all proceeds from these performances goes to a charity called Amala. A charity project for children in southern India. I had no idea about this when I purchased the tickets but India is a place I go to often and there is so much help needed there with the poor especially the children. I would encourage you to visit this wonderful old church and sit back and let the music take you to another place for a short while.

Dulcia and Jane
Jamaica

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vejle, Denmark
1 review
“Humoristic and classy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

If you want to experience culture in a humoristic and yet classy manner, you have come to the right place. The opera at st. Mark's church is presented in a professional and very relaxed manner, you just know that these guys have their things under control. The singers were amazing, both at singing and at acting, the pianist was very talented, and I just loved that the entire plot of each scene was calmly explained to you by a host, in english, so that everyone could understand what was going on. Watch it!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“A great experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

My husband and I visited Florence in late October 2012, and had the pleasure of seeing Carmen at St. Marks in Florence. What a wonderful experience in a beautiful little old church! There is something organic, delightful, intimate and also confronting about having singers literally standing right in front of you, performing their hearts out! We really enjoyed it :)

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Opera at St. Mark's Anglican Church also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Opera at St. Mark's Anglican Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Opera at St. Mark's Anglican Church, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.