We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a romantic evening of music in a beautiful setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Opera at St. Mark's Anglican Church

Opera at St. Mark's Anglican Church
Via Maggio 18, Florence, Italy
1 800 877 1755
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 220 attractions in Florence
Type: Operas, Performances
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Love Duets’ Concert: you do not have to be a lover of Italian Opera to enjoy this wonderful evening. It’s set in a small church from 1800’s. You have a piano, soprano & tenor performing Opera’s love song and Italian love songs. The setting and performance is overwhelmingly powerful. You’ll be moved to tears by the emotions. Not to be missed.
West Hoathly, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“a romantic evening of music in a beautiful setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Whilst it's not a "proper" opera house as such St Mark's English church is a jewel of a setting - it's a 19th century arts and crafts decorated church quite unlike any other to be found in Florence. The singers are accompanied by a pianist who doubles up as presenter between numbers. The whole evening is very friendly (difficult to be distant when the singers and audience are so close) and the music was accessible - not too heavy - just what we wanted after a tough day's sightseeing!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    571
    93
    12
    5
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Veluwe, Paesi Bassi
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“No opera but beautiful Mass”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Attending a Mass at St. Mark's was a great and deep joy. Very surprised to find a neo-byzantine style church behind the closed facade.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Evening of excellent entertainment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

This is well worth a visit. St Marks church is an excellent venu for this concert. The accoustics work really well and with a capacity of only a couple of hundred people you are very close to the performers. We were fortunate to have Giorgio Casciarri performing the night we attended and together with Ombretta Macchi we were treated to four duets from Tosca before the intermission. Followed by four more lighter numbers after. Really good value for money.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent Love Duets”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Had a wonderful evening at this church and the Love Duets concert trio were brilliant. Highly recommended if you get a chance while in Florence.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Very professional performance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I am new to the opera and slightly sceptical about going but my wife is an experienced opera fan. I had read previous reviews on Trip Advisor and decided to give it a go and I'm really pleased I did. My wife rang and reserved seats which were very reasonably priced. The setting was in the church and the audience sat feet away from the performers. It was very intimate and felt like a private performance.The acoustics in the church were superb. We saw La Traviata which was performed by talented and extremely professional opera singers. I would love to go back and see more performances.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Opera at St. Mark's Anglican Church also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Opera at St. Mark's Anglican Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Opera at St. Mark's Anglican Church, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Opera at St. Mark's Anglican Church to your Saves list