We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!Fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Opera at St. Mark's Anglican Church

Opera at St. Mark's Anglican Church
Via Maggio 18, Florence, Italy
1 800 877 1755
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 222 Attractions in Florence
Type: Operas, Performances
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Love Duets’ Concert: you do not have to be a lover of Italian Opera to enjoy this wonderful evening. It’s set in a small church from 1800’s. You have a piano, soprano & tenor performing Opera’s love song and Italian love songs. The setting and performance is overwhelmingly powerful. You’ll be moved to tears by the emotions. Not to be missed.
Torquay, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Wow!Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I booked this before we went as had read about it on here.I Wasnt quite sure what it was going to be like as in a church not a theatre..WOW! From the first opening notes that wer sung you knew you were in for a real treat! I can not emphasize enough just how amazing this was! As it is set in a small church it is so wonderfully intermate and the acoustics were fantastic! It literally made your hairs stand on end!! PLEASE go and see!!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    596
    98
    14
    7
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Great Dunmow, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Intimate Opera”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

An amazing night out in Florence. La Traviata in four acts with great singers and a fabulous narrator. The setting is wonderful, a church just south of the Ponte Vecchia, you sit very close to the singers and feel part of the performance. The whole experience was marvellous, we would highly recommend this to anyone, opera lover or not. We have very rarely been to the opera before and loved this evening.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very nice experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

For what it is, the opera at St. Mark's is pretty wonderful. We were just 5 minutes late and it created such an interruption, but the cast were comical about it. The church is beautiful and the people were warm and friendly. We'll be visiting again the next time we are in Firenze :)

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

This was our first opera and was a wonderful experience. We saw La Boheme in 4 acts, before each act the narrator explained the scene before it was played out, which was very helpful and entertaining in itself. There was a brilliant atmosphere and the singers were fantastic, we will definitely go again when next in Florence, could not recommend this enough.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Interesting Event”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We booked tickets to La Boheme before we arrived and although we wouldn't be massive opera fans we enjoyed the experience. The opera was being run for a good cause and although it was being run on a limited budget, the singers were excellent. For the price we paid it was well worth the visit.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Opera at St. Mark's Anglican Church also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Opera at St. Mark's Anglican Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Opera at St. Mark's Anglican Church, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.