We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Intimate Opera” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Opera at St. Mark's Anglican Church

Opera at St. Mark's Anglican Church
Via Maggio 18, Florence, Italy (Pitti)
1 800 877 1755
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Love Duets’ Concert: you do not have to be a lover of Italian Opera to enjoy this wonderful evening. It’s set in a small church from 1800’s. You have a piano, soprano & tenor performing Opera’s love song and Italian love songs. The setting and performance is overwhelmingly powerful. You’ll be moved to tears by the emotions. Not to be missed.
Great Dunmow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Intimate Opera”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

An amazing night out in Florence. La Traviata in four acts with great singers and a fabulous narrator. The setting is wonderful, a church just south of the Ponte Vecchia, you sit very close to the singers and feel part of the performance. The whole experience was marvellous, we would highly recommend this to anyone, opera lover or not. We have very rarely been to the opera before and loved this evening.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank OldmanPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

887 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Costa Mesa, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very nice experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

For what it is, the opera at St. Mark's is pretty wonderful. We were just 5 minutes late and it created such an interruption, but the cast were comical about it. The church is beautiful and the people were warm and friendly. We'll be visiting again the next time we are in Firenze :)

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MissSociology
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

This was our first opera and was a wonderful experience. We saw La Boheme in 4 acts, before each act the narrator explained the scene before it was played out, which was very helpful and entertaining in itself. There was a brilliant atmosphere and the singers were fantastic, we will definitely go again when next in Florence, could not recommend this enough.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
108 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Interesting Event”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We booked tickets to La Boheme before we arrived and although we wouldn't be massive opera fans we enjoyed the experience. The opera was being run for a good cause and although it was being run on a limited budget, the singers were excellent. For the price we paid it was well worth the visit.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jahoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We went to the Opera at St Mark's twice during the week we were in Florence, to see La Traviata and La Boheme, and thoroughly enjoyed the productions. It is a very intimate experience, with minimalist sets and costuming, and the church setting is very charming. The singers and pianist were excellent. As long as one isn't expecting a full-blown operatic experience, it is a very entertaining and enjoyable way to spend an evening.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AustraliaAnonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Opera at St. Mark's Anglican Church also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Opera at St. Mark's Anglican Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing