We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tosca” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Opera at St. Mark's Anglican Church

Opera at St. Mark's Anglican Church
Via Maggio 18, Florence, Italy
1 800 877 1755
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 219 attractions in Florence
Type: Operas, Performances
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Love Duets’ Concert: you do not have to be a lover of Italian Opera to enjoy this wonderful evening. It’s set in a small church from 1800’s. You have a piano, soprano & tenor performing Opera’s love song and Italian love songs. The setting and performance is overwhelmingly powerful. You’ll be moved to tears by the emotions. Not to be missed.
Anchorage, Alaska, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Tosca”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

My first Itlaian opera in a very small intimate space. We felt a part of the drama of Tosca. Beautifully presented. We are now hooked on good opera.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    581
    95
    13
    6
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“must see while in florence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I just saw "figaro" at st marks in florence: great performance, a show at st marks is a must see if you are in florence. The music was sensational, the church atmosphere creates the perfect location, and the MC explains in english what is going on (in case you are not an opera buff). Singers were amazing. Spend a few extra dollars and get a front row seat: you are so close to the performers you can reach out and touch them.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

There is a reason this is a top recommendation on TA. We had never been to an opera performance before and truly enjoyed it. It was the perfect length of time, so you never got bored.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Even if you're not an opera buff....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

My wife and I recently saw La Traviata at St. Mark's. If you love opera, it goes without saying that this is a "must do" in Florence. But even if you don't know opera well, like myself, you will absolutely enjoy this experience. The setting is so intimate and the sound is so pure. It was a joy.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Still Great - Entertainment and Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We attended a concert at St. Mark's in October, 2012. Franz and Ilse, and their wonderful singers did it again. We were royally entertained, in an intimate setting, with Franz 'narrating' each segment of the opera Carmen for the audience.

GREAT ENTERTAINMENT!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Opera at St. Mark's Anglican Church also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Opera at St. Mark's Anglican Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Opera at St. Mark's Anglican Church, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Opera at St. Mark's Anglican Church to your Saves list