We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Room With A View - and what a view!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Loggiato dei Serviti

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Loggiato dei Serviti to your Saves list
Hotel Loggiato dei Serviti
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza S.S Annunziata, 3, 50100 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Surrey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A Room With A View - and what a view!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We could not recommend Hotel Loggiato dei Serviti highly enough, we were visiting Florence for the first time, and the hotel was of utmost importance due to wishing for 'A Room With A View' after waiting over 20 years to visit, the expectation could not have been higher, and we were not disappointed. We booked directly with the hotel and requested a view of the Duomo, and that is exactly what we got in Room30, it has the most glorious view of The Duomo and the Campanile which you can see when you wake in the morning from the bed!
We found the breakfast more than satisfactory to set you up for a full day of sightseeing. We visited at the end of January and could not believe that we were able to walk straight into all the galleries with no queing at all....just perfect. We had some lovely meals, but our favourite was in Za Za (albeit a bit touristy) the menu was extensive and had a lovely atmosphere, as it was nearly full unlike many of the other restaurants due to the time of year. We managed to fit in a lot of sight seeing, and would highly recommend going up the top of the Duomo and the Palazzo Vecchio too as you get a different perspective from both.

We often returned to the hotel after a long day of sightseeing and had a coffee in the little bar, the staff in the hotel were so welcoming and friendly, and did make our stay even better.
We will definately be returing to Florence, and would not consider staying anywhere else, as the location is just so perfect, within walking distance to everywhere, there are some homeless people in the vicinity, but we never encountered any issues and felt safe at all times.

Room Tip: Room 30 has the most fantastic view......but might try the penthouse next time!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loggiato, Proprietario at Hotel Loggiato dei Serviti, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for such a lovely and attentive review and, of course, for choosing us during your stay in Florence. We are glad you enjoyed the atmosphere of the place and the beautiful view of the city through your windows. We hope you'll be back again to visit us when in town.
Best Regards

Rodolfo Budini Gattai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    224
    43
    29
    9
See reviews for
145
363
44
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

When you step through the doors of this hotel, you'll feel like you've stepped back in time to another era. The architecture goes back to the Renaissance, and the furnishings in the common areas may help you imagine that you've arrived at Italian villa at the start of the nineteenth century. In particular the breakfast room is well appointed with period furniture and tableware that are different from what you'd find in a more modern hotel. The lodging rooms vary widely in terms of furnishings, and because it is an historic building the plumbing gets squeezed into existing spaces that can make for some awkward movements in bathrooms. I think this only adds to the charm of the experience. I've stayed at this hotel four or five times and find that the rooms in the back of the hotel overlooking the gardens of Accademia are a bit larger, and require you to navigate through many old hallways where there are historic details to discover at every twist and turn. On my last stay, the hotel was hosting a large tour group, and since we were a couple traveling on our own the manager asked if we'd mind giving up our standard room and take the suite at the top of the hotel. What great luck, and what kind and thoughtful staff who orchestrated that win-win. There are many nice hotels in Florence that provide comfortable lodging, but this beauty does that and more by giving you an experience you'll remember for a lifetime.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel overlooking the gardens of Accademia
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loggiato, Proprietario at Hotel Loggiato dei Serviti, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very pleased to welcome your review and your description, reporting the atmosphere you can breathe into the building. We thank you for your visit and we look forward to seeing you again when in Florence.
Best Regards

Rodolfo Budini Gattai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas TX
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

This hotel was decent. We did not stay in the main building but in one right off the plaza, and the rooms are not quite like the ones depicted on the website. The first night the heating in my room was very noisy. I mentioned it to the staff the next day and they promptly took care of it. I found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was served a few steps away from the rooms. Overall a good experience, big rooms, great location and friendly staff.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loggiato, Proprietario at Hotel Loggiato dei Serviti, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for leaving your comment and of course, for your choice. Hopefully, we will be able to show you different rooms, also in the main building during your next trip to Florence.
Best Regards

Rodolfo Budini Gattai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hammond, Louisiana
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Let's start with a disclaimer: If you are looking for luxury, this is not the place: look elsewhere. I chose this hotel because it offered the Renaissance ambiance, in the Renaissance city, at a very reasonable price. This place was built to mimic the Ospedale degli Innocenti, across the piazza (both buildings provide frame to the Piazza della Santissima Anunziata), to provide guest rooms to visitors of a monastery: you should expect spartan accommodations. We arrived "early" in the morning (about 9 am), and the room was ready for us. They gave us a garden view room (opposite to the piazza) at the second floor, but still had Brunelleschi's Cupola at sight: WAY TO WAKE UP IN THE MORNING. The room had vaulted ceilings, simply but nicely painted, and a comfortable king size bed. Breakfast was reasonable. The concerns to be noted: 1. The bathroom was tiny: one could use the toilet and the shower at the same time! The shower curtain did not allow space for a normal person to bend over. 2. Also tiny was the elevator: a sardine can, literally... but one should take the stairs in a place like this anyways. 3. WiFi internet should not be counted on... and our bedroom was next to a wireless router.

Room Tip: 1. Although we initially were planning to make to Florence by train, as it turned out, having a vale...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loggiato, Proprietario at Hotel Loggiato dei Serviti, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for your stay with us and for sending your evaluation: it's good to read about your experience and as you pointed out, the hotel is still part of a Renaissance building. You can imagine how hard it can be to have a lift embedded into these walls without spoiling the very nature of the building itself and the same happens for a wi-fi router, though we managed to provide free connection for everyone. We hope you'll be able to come back to discover more and get a room with bigger bath as well. We are going to take it into consideration.
Best Regards

Rodolfo Budini Gattai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This hotel is a jewel. I cannot think of a better word. It is an old noble palace located in one of the nicest squares in Florence. It is so central that we were able to walk everywhere. Our room was old-fashioned but spotlessly clean and had a big bathroom. There is a nice lounge downstair and a small bar. We felt breakfast was adequate. The staff here are superb - the ladies at reception could not have been more helpful. When we come back to Florence we will stay here. Wonderful experience and very reasonable rates. Thank you.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loggiato, Proprietario at Hotel Loggiato dei Serviti, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for sending your evaluation and for staying with us: the staff is grateful for your nice words too. We all look forward to your next visit to our property,
Best Regards

Rodolfo Budini Gattai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

The welcome & help from the staff was the start of a lovely stay here.We booked a Classic double room but were upgraded to a Superior (I think they knew it was my birthday!) The valet parking at €21 per day is the best option in the centre of Florence as we walked everywhere.From the hotel it is a 5 minute walk to Piazza del Duomo,which is breathtaking even on a rainy January evening.
Our room was stunning,warm & had fabulous views. Breakfast was included & was served in a separate, pretty little breakfast room off the lobby & was extremely good.
I would definitely use this Hotel again as it was amazing value for money.
The receptionist demands a special mention as she was friendly,helpful,unflappable & efficient,dealing with various clients in different languages all at the same time-a real asset to this establishment!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean Virginia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This is a nice hotel in a great location. On a quiet square about 4 blocks from the Duomo. We had a suite including 2 bathrooms, a living room and a bedroom. Clean certainly. Well maintained, certainly. Old in its' appointments, structurally different in that there are no "standard" rooms.

Low ceilings to into the bathrooms, high ceilings in the rooms themselves. Furniture clear and respectable but a little tired.

We stayed in the Hotel Campo di Fiori when we were in Rome. It is a hotel trying to look like the Loggiata. If you have the chance, compare the two reception areas. The Loggiata's room key storage is in place from the old days, the Hotel's is a replica. In both cases perfectly acceptable rooms and service. Prices are more than a little different.

Room Tip: We haven't seen any bad ones but in our suite I was able to shoot the attached picture through m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Loggiato dei Serviti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Loggiato dei Serviti

Address: Piazza S.S Annunziata, 3, 50100 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Florence
#33 Business Hotel in Florence
#58 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Loggiato dei Serviti 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Loggiato dei Serviti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loggiato Del Serviti Florence
Loggiato Del Serviti Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Loggiato dei Serviti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.