We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and Convenient” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Loggiato dei Serviti

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Loggiato dei Serviti to your Saves list
Hotel Loggiato dei Serviti
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza S.S Annunziata, 3, 50100 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Charming and Convenient”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I stayed here for 8 nights in mid-October and loved the ambiance of the hotel and the historic piazza it is located on. Although very near the Duomo, the Accademia and Museo San Marco it was away from the hoards of tourists with a grocery store and laundry right up the street as well. My single room was confortable with cloth covered walls, matching drapes and a coffer ceiling and had a great view of the equestrian statue in the piazza. The breakfast buffet was ample, with choices and elegantly presented; cappuccinos and hot silver pots of tea and American coffee were graciously served to order. The staff was just wonderful...very helpful...lots of smiles. Can't wait to return

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

740 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    224
    43
    29
    9
See reviews for
145
364
44
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Lovely ancient building, great service. My room was on the top floor, not overlooking the piazza ss. annunziata, so it was quiet. however, there were a lot f people hanging out on the steps in the piazza in front of the hotel, so there it was loud. the bathrooms are functional and have everything you need, but they haven't been renovated for quite some time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Beautifully converted old convent full of character and antique furniture. we stated from 25-27 Oct. Very comfortable with friendly staff, free wifi and they even printed our tickets to the Uffici Museum.
The only problem was our radiators did not work. But they tried to fix it .

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

It's a nice hotel. Room was at the end of a maze and a long flight of stairs which wasn't mentioned in the reservation... Reading lights didn't work. Everything else was fine.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loggiato, Proprietario at Hotel Loggiato dei Serviti, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear madam,
We remember very well about you and the fact his that when you booked a single room you had the possibility to book and double room single use in the classic or superior category corresponding the correct amount for each type of room. So this is something that we really recommend to all our guest before doing any booking remember that you can choose the category if there is availability on the date that you book. Another thing, please remember to use our direct website for bookings and if you have a special need or request we will be pleased to meet your expectations IF you tell us before even by e mail.
In this case, madam, when you were here you did not tell us that you wanted another type of room so for us what practically impossible to know your disappointed if you do not tell us face to face. Using this to let us know your inconvenience leave us useless and disappointed for something we could had easily solved it with the correct communication from you in the right moment.
We are very sorry for your not excellent stay with us. Truly.
kind regards
Rodolfo Budini Gattai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Three of us stayed here for 5 days in October in two rooms. Rick's review made this property sound great. It was only so-so. The rooms were tired which is to be expected in a former monastery. However, the bathrooms were out of a horror movie. Both my wife and I were sick during our stay, which colored things. However, I do not view a room as where you sleep, especially when sick. Having the shower share the toilet was funky and having to crawl over the bidet in the dark of night to get to the toilet is beyond the pale. Not only that but entering the hotel requires navigating a homeless center. Disgusting. The front desk was accommodating but that is about it. The entire experience did not support the price charged. I read the Tripadvisor reviews prior to booking and saw the negative ones. Believe them. I would not stay here again. Frankly, we all found Florence to be a grim, grimy little city only charming to naive college kids. This hotel did not help alter our view.

Room Tip: Pick a different hotel. There are no good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loggiato, Proprietario at Hotel Loggiato dei Serviti, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Guests,
We are very sorry to read your comment.
Since many centuries Florence has worldwide been considered one of the most beautiful places to visit and this is the first time that someone considers it as a place just "for naive students".
We have received with pleasure many comments during these years and for sure we had understood which are our weakness and our strengthens and we really appreciate those guests that had dedicated us the time to write and communicate us their opinions, but I have a question: is it possible that you stayed in our hotel for 5 nights without letting us know anything about your issue?
We are very sorry but either Florence city and the Hotel Loggiato dei Serviti are well described respectively in the guides and in our website with pictures and descriptions so you should know before travelling what to expect of this city and place. We believe that your words are too extreme and poor and that for sure this city and our hotel are not good for you.
Kind regards
Rodolfo Budini Gattai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I had done my research and the hotel had great reviews, but my room was very poor quality. I travel a lot in Europe and I understand that single rooms are rarely good value- either almost the same cost as a double, or the size of a cupboard. This one was a cupboard; you could almost touch both walls. I could have accepted this if it wasn't so substandard in comparison to the other rooms I saw: a cheap bed with a bare mattress base, no bedside table, and no wardrobe except a tiny half-length cupboard that you couldn't reach unless you stood on a chair. The room was uncomfortable and depressing, expecially when compared to the lovely rooms on the website! Most guests seemed quite happy, and the other rooms looked very nice. Reception staff admitted that their other single rooms were bigger and better furnished, and at the same price as mine. Why then do they put guests in substandard rooms when they aren't fully booked? Are they hoping to charge higher walk-in rates for last-minute guests? I would never stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loggiato, Proprietario at Hotel Loggiato dei Serviti, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear madam,
We remember very well about you and the fact his that when you booked a single room you had the possibility to book and double room single use in the classic or superior category corresponding the correct amount for each type of room. So this is something that we really recommend to all our guest before doing any booking remember that you can choose the category if there is availability on the date that you book. Another thing, please remember to use our direct website for bookings and if you have a special need or request we will be pleased to meet your expectations IF you tell us before even by e mail.
In this case, madam, when you were here you did not tell us that you wanted another type of room so for us what practically impossible to know your disappointed if you do not tell us face to face. Using this to let us know your inconvenience leave us useless and disappointed for something we could had easily solved it with the correct communication from you in the right moment.
We are very sorry for your not excellent stay with us. Truly.
kind regards
Rodolfo Budini Gattai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

My wife and I had several conversations about how we would rate this hotel. We constantly went back and forth between a 3 and 4, but ultimately settled on a 4 due to their excellent service.

The hotel is located very central to the sites on a piazza, however, the is a decent amount of homeless folks that sleep on the piazza at night. We were never bothered or hassled, but it always provides need for caution in the late hours of the evening. A laundromat is literally a minute away, which was ideal and useful.

Breakfast was European style as would be expected and it was good with made to order cappuccinos. The staff are excellent and are quickly able to match your face to your room number. The free wifi was great and we had no connectivity issues as mentioned by others.

The only negatives were the fact that our room had numerous Mosquitos, the bed was not very comfortable, and the hotel had turned off the AC for the season. I specifically booked the hotel due to the fact that it had AC, which would have been nice with weather in the mid to upper 70s. Unfortunately, we had to keep our windows closed at night due to the presence of Mosquitos outside, however, they still found a way into our room. We easily killed 10-15 Mosquitos in our room, yet we were still eaten alive.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Loggiato dei Serviti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Loggiato dei Serviti

Address: Piazza S.S Annunziata, 3, 50100 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Florence
#34 Business Hotel in Florence
#57 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Loggiato dei Serviti 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Loggiato dei Serviti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loggiato Del Serviti Florence
Loggiato Del Serviti Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Loggiato dei Serviti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.