We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel J and J

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel J and J to your Saves list
Hotel J and J
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via di Mezzo, 20, 50121 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #191 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A great find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This was my second time to Florence and the first time at J and J. My Mother, two children aged 14 and 17, and myself checked in for one night whilst on holiday touring Italy. I wasn't expecting all of the family of all ages to love the place so much, and all wanted to stay for longer! We did move on but came back later in the week to stay again towards the end of our holiday. Michela the receptionist was so helpful throughout, even when I was emailing from the UK and again when we stayed again later in the week, accommodating us at short notice and organising tickets, taxis etc. There are no lifts but the staff help with your bags and you can always ask for a room on the ground floor if stairs are a problem. Personally we found the different flights of stairs and corridors added to the atmosphere unlike some modern bland places we have endured. I would definitely go back to this hotel should I be lucky enough to go to Florence again.

Room Tip: Email them to give them an idea of your needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    76
    29
    14
    11
See reviews for
30
112
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
County Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

The J & J Historic House Hotel cannot by any stretch of the imagination be rated 4* and in fact should have 2* at the most. However it can be considered historic in a number of ways including the level of cleanliness, decorative order, and standard of breakfast. We had room 18, which was imaginatively called a 'junior suite' the whole of which was historically grubby including historic stains to the carpet and sofa bed upholstery, evidence of historic decoration, subsequent patching to plastered walls and a historic standard of maintenance. The 'designer shower' allowed water to form a large pool outside of the cubicle, one of the air con units was located within an under stairs cupboard, the living space window looked straight onto the backs of residential units approx 15m away making drawing curtains back off limits and the furniture was fit only for a historically themed bonfire. Sleep was difficult because of the noise emanating from several air conditioning units located on a wall directly outside the bedroom window.The hotel has no kitchen to speak of and therefore the only hot food on offer is scrambled eggs and ham which are rustled up behind a small bar. You can put together a breakfast of sorts from the cold table but even this is a pathetic offering and not at all 4*. On the plus side the staff are polite and helpful and the hotel is a reasonable distance from the Duomo and the other main attractions. However it is vastly overrated in its 4 stars when compared to other 4 star accommodation closer in to the centre.

Room Tip: Don't waste your money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I have never written anything like this before, as hotels and restaurants are subjective to different tastes, so I shall enter the facts. The location, for walking into Florence was great, although area abit shabby. If you have a car, the hotel parking is 30 euros a day, also going in and out of Florence costs more money, and tourist tax 4 euros a day each. The breakfast area was nice, but Internet really slow... And you have to get code every 24 hours to log in, then sit in corner of front reception to pick up signal, this is all very petty, especially as most people staying wanted to pick up their emails. We called our room, 'the prison' as it was dark and damp, being on the ground floor, just off courtyard, you could not open curtains, as people in courtyard could look in, on the plus side for us, the weather was cold, so therefore people did not sit outside our door, if the weather was warmer, we simply would not be able to sleep. The staff however were very nice, and always offered a lovely smile. The owners of the hotel, need to upgrade a few things, it could be lovely, but needs a bit of 'house doctoring ' and not too be too mean with Internet and toiletries.

Room Tip: Please make sure you get a room on be first floor, unless you like noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on our honeymoon. The room was large. The staff were very nice; on our second morning there we came down to breakfast five minutes after it technically ended but the waiter did not rush us at all. In fact, he made us fresh coffee and brought out items that he was starting to put away. It was very accommodating. This hotel was in a nice location -- it was away from the tourists but a short walk to the heart of Florence.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

We have recently returned from Florence after celebrating our 1st wedding anniversary.

I booked the J&J Hotel on a little bit of a whim in December, and kept looking on Tripadvisor until our trip in May, I was getting a little worried that the hotel was not as perfect as described due to some recent reviews however on arriving all of these worries were dispelled.

After a short taxi journey from the main train station we arrived in a quiet back street at the J&J. We were greeted by a friendly man who made us feel very welcome and showed us to our room. We stayed in room 1 which was better than expected. There was a lovely mezzanine floor and everything that we required for our 3 night stay (including a well stocked mini bar). The features of the room and the whole hotel are in keeping of the original use of the building and it creates a lovely romantic feel. There are no clean lines, brushed steel or bright lights, but lovely soft tones, original architecture and very tasteful decor. As we were only away for 3 nights we did not spend lots of time in our room but when we did it was very comfortable and provided us with everything that we needed.

The hotel is set in a very quiet street which was great and also within walking distance from all the main streets and attractions so we could walk wherever we were going (we only used a taxi to get to and from the train station).

On the whole we found the J&J perfect for our needs and gave us a little bit of a traditional Florence stay,the hotel is great if you're looking for a romantic and unique stay. We would definately return to this hotel and recommend to others.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Brillianr location for seeing the sites of Florence, far enough away from the crowds but close enough to walk to the centre easily. The room was large and very clean with excellent quality bedding, the downside was that the room was on the ground floor in the courtyard so therefore exposed to cigarette smoke and the noise of late night smokers. The room was also very dark so whilst in the room the lights needed to be constantly on.

Breakfast was a total disappointment, everything had to be asked for as it had either run out or not been put out, simple things such as tea bags, rolls and the scrambled eggs. The fruit juice was totally watered down and tasted awful. Staff serving breakfast were very unhappy in their work unlike reception staff who couldn't do enough to help, booking restaurants and taxi's.

There was a TV in the room but we don't go on a break to watch TV so the lack of choice was not a problem.

We stayed for five nights and we would go back to this hotel especially now we know what to expect and we would recommend it

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are noisy and pick up the nicotine smell from smoking in the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

ti bought this city break for my other half as an add on for xmas so wasnt too sure what to expect!. as it was a groupon deal. I admit the pictures make it appear more luxurious than it is, but i have to be honest and say it is a lovely hotel and very quaint. Looks tiny from the outside but inside is lots of little nooks and crannies to get lost in . Our bedroom was lovely and through a little back garden courtyard into the private and very quiet part. It had an upstairs mezzanine floor where the wardrobe and sitting area was. Very narrow twisting staircases and only for able bodied people i would advise! The staff were lovely and helpful. Breakfast was a little bit of a hit and a miss . One day it was lovely and another it wasn't . not enough food or staff i don't think as it was very busy and they obviously couldn't cope . Fantastic central spot for seeing all the wonderful sights. and i would recommend this lovely hotel for a base but not really if your looking for a grand hotel with all amenities. i loved it as it was so peaceful and quiet. there were plenty of lively bars and restaurant just a few streets down. oh! almost forgot watch the front door step as you enter the hotel it is quite high from the ground and a bit of a hazard if you don't concentrate (not too much wine)!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel J and J? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel J and J

Address: Via di Mezzo, 20, 50121 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#80 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel J and J 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming 4 star hotel located in the historical centre of Florence... wonderful buffet breakfast, Free Wi-Fi internet and a charming and accomodation staff are what awaits you at our wonderful hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Venere, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel J and J reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel j And
j And Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel J and J, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.