We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel Convenient to everything” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Villa Medici

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Villa Medici to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Villa Medici
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Il Prato 42, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #103 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Knoxville, Tennessee, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Lovely Hotel Convenient to everything”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Great service (seems to be a trend in Italy). Hotel shuttle in p.m. that is convenient if you are tired after walking all day. We were greeted with a nice bottle of wine and delicious biscotti in our room that helped us settle in. Concierge gave great recommendations and got us advanced tickets to Accedemia Museum where we saw the statue of David (the real one). 2nd night, we were greeted with a delicious chocolate sculpture (it was Christmas).

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    130
    57
    13
    10
See reviews for
79
173
11
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We estayed at there for just one night, but was a very good night. The staff was attentive the breakfast was amaizing cheese, bred, eggs, salmon and cream cheese. ist quiet close to the center but the walk is like been in a museum. ill be back for shure.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gianmarco N, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Medici, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Aprachid,

thank you very much for your beautiful words regarding your last stay at our hotel.

We appreciate a lot that you noted great professionalism in my staff, and high quality in our breakfast.

We feel very lucky to work in an open-air museum which is Florence.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future

A presto,

Gaetano Torino
General Manager
Leading Hotels of The World
gmvillamedici@sinahotels.com
+39 055 27 7171
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2014

We stayed at the Grand Hotel with a tour group. The lobby was lovely. Our room was in the front of the building with a view the main street and a small garden area to the left. The room was decorated old style and the bathroom was large with white marble. The only down side was that there was mold on the air vent in the sleeping area. The garden/pool area was pretty and a nice place to relax and have a drink before dinner. The staff serving the bar area and garden were very pleasant. The breakfast area was nicely decorated but the food was just ok. We also had dinner one night which was not up to the standard you would think you would receive in a 4/5 star hotel.
Lovely stay at this hotel but eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gianmarco N, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Medici, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Nancy538,

thank you very much for your positive feedback.

We very sorry for the inconvenience at our restaurant, we really hope you will have another opportunity to enjoy our property in the near future.

A presto,

Gaetano Torino
General Manager
Grand Hotel Villa Medici
gmvillamedici@sinahotels.com
+39 055 27 7171
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

Rooms were fine. Staff was attentive. One caveat. The food- 3 breakfasts and 1 dinner left something to be desired. We were part of a Peril tour and those meals were included but do your self a favor and eat out somewhere. Bar staff and wait staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gianmarco N, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Medici, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Redwilber,

thank you very much for taking your time to write a review about your last stay at our Hotel.

We apologize for the inconvenience during the dinner, we will do our best to improve our services and maintain high standards.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future

A presto,

Gaetano Torino
General Manager
Grand Hotel Villa Medici
gmvillamedici@sinahotels.com
+39 055 27 7171
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

Great hotel with beautiful gardens & a great location a little away from the fray of the city. Walking distance to everything & a staff who were so friendly & helpful. This is a great place to feel pampered & get a good feel of Florence.

Room Tip: I'm not sure you could go wrong. We did get an upgrade though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gianmarco N, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Medici, responded to this review, November 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are happy for your beautiful comments.

We are at the right distance to enjoy the historical centre walking or with our complimentary courtesy car.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

A presto,

Gaetano Torino
General Manager
Grand Hotel Villa Medici
gmvillamedici@sinahotels.com
+39 055 27 7171
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014

Earlier this month, I stayed at this property with a group of 14 people. I enjoyed seeing the differences in each room. Many of our group rooms had tapestry on the walls to feel the charm of an old Italian villa. I am a sucker for modern architecture, so I was pleased with my room (320). It had dark wood floors, white walls, with one accent wall and a nice view overlooking the pool and the rooftops. Make sure if you are planning a group and people are sharing rooms to let the group department know you'd like two separate beds, they originally gave us rooms with two beds put together.

Breakfast was plentiful and the staff remembers what you like if you stay for an extended time. My favorite dish of the meals we ate was the vegetable soup. It is so much different than what we get in the USA. Great food.

Wifi was a little spotty in my room, but I know most group members didn't have much trouble with it… And it was complimentary. A nice benefit at a 5 Star Hotel. The entrance is grand, which was nice for coming and going from a large bus. The most charming part of the hotel was the traditional room keys.

Lastly, the hotel is situated in a nice location walking distance to everything. And the staff is very helpful with any recommendations.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gianmarco N, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Medici, responded to this review, October 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for your excellent feedback, is very important for us receive such a detailed review.

We have many types of rooms and in a group it may happen to assign different style of furniture, some room is one of a kind.

I’m glad to read your appreciation about our good cooking.

I’m looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Arrivederci,

Gaetano Torino
General Manager
Grand Hotel Villa Medici
gmvillamedici@sinahotels.com
+39 055 27 7171
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

Wow! We loved this hotel! The property and the staff were charming! From the concierge, to the front desk to the bellman, all were so kind. The rooms were elegant and comfortable. We were upgraded without asking and without an extra charge. The beds and pillows were divine. We didn't have much of a view from our room but it didn't seem to matter. We also had room service one night and the pizza's were awesome!!! When we return to Florence, we will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gianmarco N, Direttore at Grand Hotel Villa Medici, responded to this review, October 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

we are extremely happy to read this fabulous comments regarding your stay at Grand Hotel Villa Medici.

I will share your nice words with our staff who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks.

We look forward to welcoming back you in the near future.

Arrivederci,

Gaetano Torino
General Manager
Grand Hotel Villa Medici
gmvillamedici@sinahotels.com
+39 055 27 7171
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Villa Medici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Villa Medici

Address: Via Il Prato 42, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#42 Business Hotel in Florence
#47 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#93 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#114 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Villa Medici 5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The fine art of hospitality in the heart of town in an 18th century noble palace featuring a splendid garden with outdoor swimming pool, a fully equipped fitness club and meeting rooms overlooking the domes of Florence. At the roof top some suites with jacuzzi on the terrace boast a superb view over the town.The Restaurant “Lorenzo de’ Medici” and the “Conservatory” on the pool offer an all year round enjoyable dining room. The “Jockey Bar”, balancing modern with traditional style is an ideal corner for relaxing moments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Villa Medici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Medici
Grand Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Villa Medici, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.