We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Medici Florence” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Villa Medici

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Villa Medici to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Villa Medici
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Il Prato 42, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #105 of 461 Hotels in Florence
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Hotel Medici Florence”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Excellent friendly hotel, 10 mins walk from the centre of Florence. lovely food and wine. simple but high quality rooms. the staff were excellent and very accommodating, very friendly and attentive. We had a tremendous dinner there which was excellent in every way. even the table decorations were beautiful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SINA_Hotels, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Villa Medici, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Guest,
We thank you very much for sharing with us your good impressions about your recent stay at Grand Hotel Villa Medici. I really look forward to welcoming you back soon to our Property. Arrivederci. Gaetano Torino General Manager Grand Hotel Villa Medici, Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    129
    57
    13
    10
See reviews for
78
172
11
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We loved the grand villa Medici. It's location in Florence is very central - less than 10 minutes walk from main train station and in to the centre. The road it's on is very pleasant and the garden at the hotel feels lovely and relaxing because its quiet. All the hotel staff were friendly to us and very helpful. Our room was spacious with two bathrooms. Like other reviews, we would agree it was a little hot, but it was still a comfortable nights sleep. Also a little disappointed there wasn't free wifi, but the fantastic breakfast each morning and comfortable surroundings made up for it. I would definitely recommend this hotel for all types of visit as its got a nice feel to it and is well located.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I had a wonderful time at this beautiful hotel. After a grueling work week, I spent my first day relaxing in the garden by the pool. I ordered a few glasses of wine and a plate of prosciutto with fresh mozzarella and couldn't have been happier. It felt like I was at the home of a wealthy Italian, which makes sense given that this was once a home to the Medici family.

The rooms were beautiful and made you feel like you were in an Italian palace. But, the garden and pool were really my favourite part of this lovely hotel. I ate dinner by candle light which ended up being the most romantic meal ever and I didn't even notice that I was all alone!!!

The concierge was great and set up a last minute tour of the city with a small group. I saw everything on my list in one day and had two amazing tour guides who were both knowledgable and fun.

The only negative is the hotel is a short walk (about 15 minutes) to the city centre. But, I actually enjoyed this walk each day. It made for a scenic journey home each night to a quiet street great for sleeping! I highly recommend this lovely hotel!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SINA_Hotels, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Villa Medici, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Guest,
We thank you so much for sharing with us your positive review.
We really hope to welcoming you to Villa Medici ‘’family’’ very soon.
Arrivederci. Gaetano Torino, General Manager Grand Hotel Villa Medici, Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Just finished a tour of Italy and out of the 3 hotels we stayed in, this one had the best rooms, lovely garden, beautiful lobby and great staff. Problem? You have to pay for WiFi. In this day and age that's really unreasonable. Most hotels at least have free wifi in the lobby and public areas (where you might have to pay for wifi in your room). This hotel had NO free wifi at all, anywhere. You had to pay 3 Euros per hour (or 7 Euros for 3 hours). All our other hotels had free wifi in the rooms. They seriously need to make a change here!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SINA_Hotels, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Villa Medici, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Guest,
We thank you very much for your kind review about your stay at Grand Hotel VIlla Medici.
Our Guests impressions are always extremely important for us to improve our Property.
We really hope to welcoming you once again to Villa Medici.
Arrivederci. Gaetano Torino, General Manager Grand Hotel Villa Medici, Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

My husband and I traveled Europe for 8 weeks on our honeymoon and Grand Hotel Medici was one of our stops. The hotel was very pretty and clean (a little out of the way), but the staff was extremely rude. It was the only hotel that charged for booking museums and tours, and when you asked the concierge to do this you would get an attitude.

Room Tip: If you use a platinum amex card to book this hotel they will upgrade you if there is a room availabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SINA_Hotels, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Villa Medici, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Google Translation
Gentilissimo Cliente,

vorrei innanzitutto ringraziare per il Suo commento, noi tutto crediamo che si può solo che migliorare nel ricevere critiche costruttive come le Sue.

La prego accettare le mie più sincere scuse e mi auguro di poterLa incontrare personalmente durante il Suo prossimo soggiorno al Grand Hotel Villa Medici.

Con i più cordiali saluti,

Gaetano Torino
General Manager
Grand Hotel Villa Medici, Firenze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

This hotel absolutely deserves a higher ranking on tripadvisor. Big, comfortable rooms... Excellent service... Relaxing, clean pool - it's got everything. The only possible reason for not staying here would be the fact that it is not located in the city center. But don't let that affect your decision - the city center is just a ten minute walk away. Great deal. Great hotel. Ask if they have any free upgrades available. Worked for us.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is a lovely hotel with beautiful rooms (including bathrooms), excellent service and nice grounds + swimming pool. Location is good too, walking distance to all the major spots in Florence. The patio upstairs is perfect to enjoy beautiful views of the city during the day and night. And their breakfast is yummy - with lots of options.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Villa Medici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Villa Medici

Address: Via Il Prato 42, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#41 Business Hotel in Florence
#48 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#94 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#117 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Villa Medici 5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The fine art of hospitality in the heart of town in an 18th century noble palace featuring a splendid garden with outdoor swimming pool, a fully equipped fitness club and meeting rooms overlooking the domes of Florence. At the roof top some suites with jacuzzi on the terrace boast a superb view over the town.The Restaurant “Lorenzo de’ Medici” and the “Conservatory” on the pool offer an all year round enjoyable dining room. The “Jockey Bar”, balancing modern with traditional style is an ideal corner for relaxing moments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Villa Medici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Medici
Grand Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Villa Medici, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.