We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Villa Medici

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Villa Medici to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Villa Medici
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Il Prato 42, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #99 of 459 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Francisco, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Loved this hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

This is a lovely hotel with beautiful rooms (including bathrooms), excellent service and nice grounds + swimming pool. Location is good too, walking distance to all the major spots in Florence. The patio upstairs is perfect to enjoy beautiful views of the city during the day and night. And their breakfast is yummy - with lots of options.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    136
    60
    14
    11
See reviews for
84
186
13
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Farmington, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The hotel is located about 15 minutes walk from the center of Florence, in a somewhat quieter area although on a main road. There are pros and cons to being away from restaurants, museums, etc., although the hotel operates a free shuttle service for guests. The staff is very friendly, from the doorman to the reception clerks and the housekeepers. I would agree with other comments regarding the bathroom. It was huge and luxurious. While the room was well-furnished and clean, it was uncomfortably hot, because guests cannot control their own thermostat. The weather was quite cold while we were in Florence, and opening the window to get some relief from the heat was only a temporary solution because it quickly made the room too cold, as well as noisy from traffic below. I would also note that the hallways were a bit shabby.

Room Tip: If you need to open your window, try for a room that does not face the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SINA_Hotels, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Villa Medici, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you very much for sharing with us your good impressions about your recent stay at Grand Hotel Villa Medici.
I am anyway sorry to learn that you were partially dissatisfied about your stay in regard to the A/C system and please forgive us for that.
I really look forward to welcoming you back soon and I will be more than delighted to make personal arrangements for your next stay.

Arrivederci.

Gaetano Torino
General Manager
Grand Hotel Villa Medici, Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This hotel has well -appointed rooms - the bathrooms are luxurious and the lobby is breathtaking. But, many other parts of the hotel are tired looking. We found the English speaking doorman very helpful. The rooms were overheated. The walk to old town is around 15 mins.
We were disappointed to find that after paying for our accommodation for two days in advance, in cash, and after requesting the final costs up-front- that we paid in full; upon checking out, we were issued with an additional tax (2 TAXES HAD ALREADY BEEN PAID).
Considering the price of this hotel, very little care is taken of their paying clients: wi fi wasn't included, no in- room coffee or tea making facilities available, the courtesy bus wasn't available when we asked and the hotel offered no parking. Although, they will arrange the parking of your vehicle with the parking garage across the road for 40 Euro per day - strangely enough, we walked across the road and they parked our car for 10 Euro per day less. Overall, we found this hotel below par for the price.

Room Tip: Find out in advance what you will be charged for and try to pre-pay for this accommodation getting d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SINA_Hotels, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Villa Medici, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am very sorry to learn that you were not totally satisfied of your recent stay at Grand Hotel Villa Medici. I am furthermore sorry to read the misunderstanding with the Reception about the City Tax, which I wish to clarify is a tax imposed to all hotels in town by Florentine Municipality. I can anyway assure you that you did not pay twice the same tax.

With regard to the car parking, as most of hotels in downtown, we have no garage space therefore we offer a valet parking for the guests which we believe is reasonably a bit more expensive than when a guest drives and park the car by himself.

I am sorry again for that but, above all, that I did not have a chance to meet you during your stay.

We really hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back to Grand Hotel Villa Medici, in which case I will be delighted to arrange you future stay personally .

Arrivederci,

Gaetano Torino
General Manager
Grand Hotel Villa Medici, Firenze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My wife and I visited Florence over Thanksgiving and stayed at this hotel on the recommendation of American Express travel service. We were very satisfied with our stay. The hotel was very well kept and the rooms were spacious and well-appointed. We had a balcony overlooking the pool/garden area that was nice for relaxing with a glass of wine after dinner. Like most other hotels, there is no air conditioning in the room, so it can get warm. Opening the balcony door cools the room pretty quickly but also lets in the mosquitoes. A screen door would be a nice addition. The wi-fi was a bit inconvenient. You have to buy these prepaid cards from the front desk.

The staff was friendly and helpful and were very eager to help with making dinner reservations and giving suggestions on place to visit. They were also very helpful in providing directions. I was told that there was also a courtesy car to shuttle you to and from the center of town but we never used it. It seemed like a silly feature since its only a 10 minute walk to the city center anyway.

Breakfast was very good- much better than the standard breakfast you find at your typical Italian hotel. We also had dinner at the hotel one evening and were very pleased with the food and service. We were surprised that there was only one other table seated the entire time we were in the restaurant.

The location was good as well. It is very close to the train station and a pretty quick walk to the city center- again maybe 10-15 minutes. It is also only a couple of blocks away from the Hertz and other car rentals, so it was very convenient for us since we rented a car to take a day trip to Pisa.

Overall it was a very positive experience and I would recommend this hotel and will definitely consider staying here again on my next trip to Florence.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SINA_Hotels, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Villa Medici, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Thomas,

I would like to thank you for posting your positive feedback about your recent stay at Grand Hotel Villa Medici. Your excellent impressions are value-added for us to always maintain the tradition of high standards and good service.
Thank you very much again and I look forward to meeting you soon personally here in Florence.

Arrivederci.

Gaetano Torino
General Manager
Grand Hotel Villa Medici, Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

The view is amazing. The staff is friendly, and so is the pool staff. The pool is a great place to cool off in on hot days. The breakfast buffet is ok but I do not recommend the pancakes. The ice cream shop around the corner is i've best I've ever had in my life. The rooms are all one of a kind. I wish I could be there right now!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SINA_Hotels, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Villa Medici, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear EB,

We appreciate your comments regarding your last stay at the Grand Hotel Villa Medici. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. We continuously strive to meet your needs and expectations.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the near future.

Arrivederci,

Gaetano Torino
General Manager
Grand Hotel Villa Medici, Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Had an amazing experience. Beautiful interior and super smart and friendly staff.
Would recommend this hotel to friends and family!
Very great and memorable trip. The gym was quiet small and dull but useful. The rooms and spacious and the bathrooms are huge with a bathtub.
The location is close to the train station and right in the center.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SINA_Hotels, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Villa Medici, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Erickaf,

Thank you so much for your beautiful review.
Your excellent impressions are value-added for us to always maintain the tradition of high standards and good service.
I truly hope of welcoming you back soon to Grand Hotel Villa Medici where we will do our utmost to exceed your expectations again.

Grazie,

Gaetano Torino
General Manager
Grand Hotel Villa Medici, Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This hotel has a very nice staff... the common areas are historic and lovely.... the rooms are certainly acceptable, however for the price ??? All in all we had a good stay but they definitely need to give a little TLC to their rooms.... or drop the price so it's reasonable value.... I give sleep quality a poor as the a/c didn't work and we couldn't open the terrace (though it was lovely) as the mosquitos did us in!.... We were there in late November and still mosquitos... I suggested they put screens on the windows.... as I said... they have a lovely staff.... I really like the hotel and wish them well....

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SINA_Hotels, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Villa Medici, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

We thank you very much for sharing with us your impressions about your recent stay at
Grand Hotel Villa Medici and we are sorry to learn that you were partially dissatisfied about your stay.
I assure you that we welcome all constructive criticism, as it helps us to get better.

I really look forward to welcoming you back soon and thank you again for very positive comments about our staff.

Arrivederci.

Gaetano Torino
General Manager
Grand Hotel Villa Medici, Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Villa Medici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Villa Medici

Address: Via Il Prato 42, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#47 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#50 Business Hotel in Florence
#80 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#98 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Villa Medici 5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The fine art of hospitality in the heart of town in an 18th century noble palace featuring a splendid garden with outdoor swimming pool, a fully equipped fitness club and meeting rooms overlooking the domes of Florence. At the roof top some suites with jacuzzi on the terrace boast a superb view over the town.The Restaurant “Lorenzo de’ Medici” and the “Conservatory” on the pool offer an all year round enjoyable dining room. The “Jockey Bar”, balancing modern with traditional style is an ideal corner for relaxing moments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Splendia, Priceline, Venere, Booking.com, Agoda, Otel, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Hotel Villa Medici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Medici
Grand Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Villa Medici, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.