We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Regency Hotel

Save Saved
You added Regency Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Regency Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Massimo d'Azeglio, 3, 50121 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
30% off room rate
Ranked #49 of 461 hotels in Florence
London
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Just off the beaten track but still accessible to the centre of Florence. Nice and quiet location. First class service and help. Alejandro was excellent help and spot-on with restaurant recommendations. Massimo was a great cocktail waiter!
Service was impeccable. Had a room on the 4th floor and a little more expensive but was great. Rooms prepared regularly. On the more expensive side over all but we were not let down. Breakfast was ok. Never ate there for dinner but only due to trying other places. A beautiful building and decor.

Room Tip: Great rooms on 4th.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    105
    41
    15
    3
    3
See reviews for
25
88
4
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

At The Regency Hotel we found the very best service we have ever experienced in a hotel. Everyone -- the desk staff, the waiters, the housekeepers -- did their very best to make us feel welcome and pampered.
That was the great news. There is no bad news, just news that is not as good. Our room was just OK, comfortable, but not large, and it was rather strangely decorated with red print cloth walls and red print carpeting. It took some getting used to. I've been in other much larger, nicer rooms in Florence for this money (but the service was not as good). As mentioned in other reviews, there are lots of steps to negotiate in this hotel. And finally, for us the hotel was just too far from the main attractions of Florence. To stay here you must really be able to walk, have an excellent sense of direction, and possess good map-reading skills, and even then you will get lost at least a couple of times. Taking cabs is not a cheap answer. The hotel called a cab for us to go to the train station. The meter read 7+ euros but we were charged twice that because the hotel called, so the driver said. The 8-minute ride us 15 euros (about $20).
We truly enjoyed our stay at the Regency, but we will think hard before staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amedeo_Ottaviani, Proprietario at Regency Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dea Guest,
Thank you for your most kind message. We truly find it most useful to receive Guests' feedback and are most happy to read your stay met your expectations in terms of service and comfort.
Hopefully we will see you back to experience our lovely restaurant and private garden.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london, england
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

If you are over 70, have arthritic knees or need a walking aid (such as a stick), this hotel is sadly not for you. It is not only just a little off the beaten track of tourist favourites (not a problem at all for the able-bodied, fleet-of-foot and those addicted to taxis), it also has a fair few steps, at the entrance, to some of the rooms and to the outdoor dining room. If these considerations do not bother you and you enjoy well-run boutique hotels with excellent service, high-quality towels and linens changed by some sort of housekeeping magic and meal times and room settings which reflect a more leisurely age, then you'll enjoy the pampering and the quiet relaxation the Regency offers at the end of a busy sight-seeing day. Not really a place for kids or the boisterous.

Room Tip: If you can afford it go for a junior suite with a garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peripatetic
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We recently stayed 4 nights at the Regency and loved everything about it. Any problems were addressed immediately and even enthusiastically by the wonderful staff. We didn't exactly love the two rather expensive meals we had in the restaurant, but there are many splendid, and more affordable, places to eat nearby, so that didn't really matter. The (included) breakfast, however, was excellent. It's a bit of a walk to get to any of the major attractions of the city, but it's also an enjoyable walk, and the distance is what makes the hotel and it's neighborhood so serene. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Regency Hotel in Florence during our honeymoon. It was a wonderful place. The outside courtyard where you can eat breakfast every morning is unbelievably beautiful and peaceful. Our room was the nicest I've stayed in in Europe, with high ceilings, a king sized bed and a complimentary minibar. The front desk staff was very helpful, with useful suggestions on where to eat and how to avoid lines at popular tourist spots. The hotel was in a good location, in a quiet area that was right across from a park. It was nice not being in a busy touristy area, but at the same time it was less than a 10 minute walk to the Accademia and about a 15 minute walk to Santa Croce Church, The Uiffizi, Ponte Vecchio, the Duomo and pretty much anything else you would want to see. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who is going to Florence.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

This is what I call an elegant, 5 star hotel. Away from the crowds of the center of Firenze, yet at walking distance, this beautiful, small palazzo, in front of a quiet square, holds few rooms. The service was impeccable; as leaders club members we were upgraded for a wonderful, big garden suite. Breakfast had first rate cheeses and prociuttos, breads etc. I would not stay anywhere.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amedeo_Ottaviani, Proprietario at Regency Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear Guest, we thank you very much for your most kind comments.
Your feedback is truly precious as it gives us the exact value of our efforts. Our small property bases its overall performance on the daily listening of our Clients' feedback.
We daily strive for the best and feel honored to welcome the best Clients of The Leading Hotels of the World as You, a Leaders Club Member, THANK YOU!
Please know we remain available and hope to have the chance and the pleasure to welcome you soon back to Florence.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

A little out of the way in Florence Italy but certainly within walking distance of the city center, the Regency Hotel is a Gem. Service in all areas is top Notch from the Front Desk Personnel to the Restaurant and Housekeeping. The Rooms are like a museum but with up to date furnishings and very comfortable bedding and sparkling clean. The hotel is comprised of two buildings with a wonderful courtyard in between that is used for dining. If my family and I were to visit Florence again we would certainly stay here again as they make you feel like home. A Jewell in Florence

Room Tip: For privacy book the Garden Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amedeo_Ottaviani, Proprietario at Regency Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear valued Guest,
we thank you for your most positive feedback. We truly appreciate your taking the time to write about your experience with the Hotel Regency and give your perception of a stay with us.
We love our profession and are all absolutely enthusiast to deliver the right service to those choosing to stay with us. You are a great witness of our overall efforts and would welcome the opportunity to see you and your family soon back to the Regency!
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Regency Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regency Hotel

Address: Piazza Massimo d'Azeglio, 3, 50121 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#51 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#93 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Regency Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once upon a time when the city of Florence was the Italian Capital, Hotel Regency served as a retreat to high government officials and ministers of the State. Today, the nineteenth century villa located in the heart of Florence is a five star property and a long time member of the prestigious “The Leading Hotels of the World”. The hotel overlooks pristine Piazza D’Azeglio, framed by monasteries, ancient cloisters, famous museums, the Synagogue and, even more impressive, maintains the private villa-like air, ensuring travellers a memorable experience.Affacciato su una delle più belle “piazze salotto” fiorentine, immerso nel verde e nella tranquillità, l’Hotel Regency conserva ancora il fascino vintage della residenza ottocentesca di ministri e alti funzionari, con l’atmosfera di una dimora privata di gran lusso. Collocato nel centro storico cittadino, in una posizione invidiabile, consente di godere della bellezza delle opere d’arte che rendono unica questa città come i palazzi rinascimentali, le chiese, i chiostri ed i musei tra i più prestigiosi al mondo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Venere, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Regency Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Regency Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.