We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Small Hotel offering Top Notch Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Regency Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Regency Hotel to your Saves list
Regency Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Massimo d'Azeglio, 3, 50121 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 461 Hotels in Florence
New York, NY
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Great Small Hotel offering Top Notch Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

A little out of the way in Florence Italy but certainly within walking distance of the city center, the Regency Hotel is a Gem. Service in all areas is top Notch from the Front Desk Personnel to the Restaurant and Housekeeping. The Rooms are like a museum but with up to date furnishings and very comfortable bedding and sparkling clean. The hotel is comprised of two buildings with a wonderful courtyard in between that is used for dining. If my family and I were to visit Florence again we would certainly stay here again as they make you feel like home. A Jewell in Florence

Room Tip: For privacy book the Garden Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amedeo_Ottaviani, Proprietario at Regency Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear valued Guest,
we thank you for your most positive feedback. We truly appreciate your taking the time to write about your experience with the Hotel Regency and give your perception of a stay with us.
We love our profession and are all absolutely enthusiast to deliver the right service to those choosing to stay with us. You are a great witness of our overall efforts and would welcome the opportunity to see you and your family soon back to the Regency!
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    46
    15
    4
    4
See reviews for
27
99
5
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Our stay at the Regency hotel was fabulus, great small hotel, great staff, location is great because it is walking distance from city center, but at the same time not too busy and loud which is perfect, really nice staff, good ambiance and decor, great room sizes which is usually a problem in major cities in some parts of Europe, we stayed at a beautiful garden suite, and had a fabulous time :) for the price it was really awesome choice, definitely would go back again no doubt !! Loved it as a small boutique hotel :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amedeo_Ottaviani, Proprietario at Regency Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear Guest,
It is indeed a pleasure to respond to your kind review. We have read your positive feedback carefully and feel very happy we had fulfilled your expectations. Your comment about the reasonable rate and great service received makes us feel we are going in the right direction, not overcharging Guests!
We hope you will soon give us the pleasure to welcome you back to the Regency.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We spent three amazing nights at Hotel Regency, The staff, from the concierge to the cleaning staff performed flawlessly, with professionalism and compassion. The restaurant and waiters were beyond compare. Very elegant, perfect in every way.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We moved to the Regency Hotel after arriving at Hotel Montebello Splendid and finding it to be terrible. We called the Regency the day of our arrival and they offered to accomodate us that night. We were unable to get out of our reservation at Montebello that evening, but we arrived at the Regency the next morning. The hotel staff was waiting to great us with open arms. We enjoyed a maginificent breakfast in the courtyard and found our room spotless and charming. The Regency Hotel turned our experience in Florence around and we are so greatful. Alessandro, Danielle and the rest of the staff were so attentive and kind. We cannot wait to return to this hotel again soon.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockport, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The Regency ranks as one of my favorite hotels. It is a little bit of a walk into "town" but oh so worth it to be in this wonderful place. The only problem is that you hate leaving the hotel---you're in Florence, you have to go out but you're at the Regency and never want to leave. What to do, what to do?

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazil
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

This is a perfect spot for loving couples. I came here for a weekend with my wife, as part of our 30-year wedding celebration. The hotel is just perfect. Staff are extremely friendly and will go out of their way to please you. Allessandro (the concierge) is so friendly that, when he learned that was our 30-year wedding trip, he sent us a complimentary bottle of champagne. The rooms are spacious, air-conditioning is noiseless, the bed and linens are classy, bathrooms are clean and work well. All in all, a perfect spot to indulge yourself and your lover (even an old lover works perfectly).

Room Tip: My room was a suite in the hotel front (facing Piazza Massimo d'Azeglio). A quiet, perfect room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

We stayed at the Regency for three nights. Upon arrival we were greeted by Allesandro(concierge), he confirmed our scheduled tour guide and driver and made us feel at home instantly. Allesandro also made our dinner reservations for all three evenings. We reserved one of the suites and it was beyond our expectations. We relaxed in the courtyard every evening and had superb service from Giacomo. We also enjoyed breakfast every morning. My wife and I look forward to returning to the Regency. We went to Florence without much research and it is our belief that the Regency made our stay so memorable.

Room Tip: We had a large suite. 2 bathrooms, a large bedroom with a seperate living room,
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Regency Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regency Hotel

Address: Piazza Massimo d'Azeglio, 3, 50121 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#48 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#93 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Regency Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once upon a time when the city of Florence was the Italian Capital, Hotel Regency served as a retreat to high government officials and ministers of the State. Today, the nineteenth century villa located in the heart of Florence is a five star property and a long time member of the prestigious “The Leading Hotels of the World”. The hotel overlooks pristine Piazza D’Azeglio, framed by monasteries, ancient cloisters, famous museums, the Synagogue and, even more impressive, maintains the private villa-like air, ensuring travellers a memorable experience.Affacciato su una delle più belle “piazze salotto” fiorentine, immerso nel verde e nella tranquillità, l’Hotel Regency conserva ancora il fascino vintage della residenza ottocentesca di ministri e alti funzionari, con l’atmosfera di una dimora privata di gran lusso. Collocato nel centro storico cittadino, in una posizione invidiabile, consente di godere della bellezza delle opere d’arte che rendono unica questa città come i palazzi rinascimentali, le chiese, i chiostri ed i musei tra i più prestigiosi al mondo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Regency Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Regency Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.