We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel Experience Ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Regency Hotel

Save Saved
You added Regency Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Regency Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Massimo d'Azeglio, 3, 50121 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
30% off room rate
Ranked #49 of 461 hotels in Florence
Tucson
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best Hotel Experience Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We spent three amazing nights at Hotel Regency, The staff, from the concierge to the cleaning staff performed flawlessly, with professionalism and compassion. The restaurant and waiters were beyond compare. Very elegant, perfect in every way.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    101
    38
    14
    3
    3
See reviews for
23
85
4
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We moved to the Regency Hotel after arriving at Hotel Montebello Splendid and finding it to be terrible. We called the Regency the day of our arrival and they offered to accomodate us that night. We were unable to get out of our reservation at Montebello that evening, but we arrived at the Regency the next morning. The hotel staff was waiting to great us with open arms. We enjoyed a maginificent breakfast in the courtyard and found our room spotless and charming. The Regency Hotel turned our experience in Florence around and we are so greatful. Alessandro, Danielle and the rest of the staff were so attentive and kind. We cannot wait to return to this hotel again soon.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockport, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The Regency ranks as one of my favorite hotels. It is a little bit of a walk into "town" but oh so worth it to be in this wonderful place. The only problem is that you hate leaving the hotel---you're in Florence, you have to go out but you're at the Regency and never want to leave. What to do, what to do?

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazil
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

This is a perfect spot for loving couples. I came here for a weekend with my wife, as part of our 30-year wedding celebration. The hotel is just perfect. Staff are extremely friendly and will go out of their way to please you. Allessandro (the concierge) is so friendly that, when he learned that was our 30-year wedding trip, he sent us a complimentary bottle of champagne. The rooms are spacious, air-conditioning is noiseless, the bed and linens are classy, bathrooms are clean and work well. All in all, a perfect spot to indulge yourself and your lover (even an old lover works perfectly).

Room Tip: My room was a suite in the hotel front (facing Piazza Massimo d'Azeglio). A quiet, perfect room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

We stayed at the Regency for three nights. Upon arrival we were greeted by Allesandro(concierge), he confirmed our scheduled tour guide and driver and made us feel at home instantly. Allesandro also made our dinner reservations for all three evenings. We reserved one of the suites and it was beyond our expectations. We relaxed in the courtyard every evening and had superb service from Giacomo. We also enjoyed breakfast every morning. My wife and I look forward to returning to the Regency. We went to Florence without much research and it is our belief that the Regency made our stay so memorable.

Room Tip: We had a large suite. 2 bathrooms, a large bedroom with a seperate living room,
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Medium sized hotel near a park not in the center but within easy walking distance of the center of Florence.
Staff was superb caring and attentive and the best breakfast with a garden view.
Accommodations excellent and atmosphere so great that we could have just stayed inside for long periods of time.
The restaurant was excellent and they went out of their way to even open up for us a half hour earlier so we could make our reservations at the opera.
We were definitely "spoiled"

Room Tip: Our room faced toward the park and we would recommend that view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

We stayed for two nights at this hotel. While the staff were helpful and the breakfast was very good, we didn't like the location. It was too distant from the old town and the walk was quite tiring when we had to shop and walk to the hotel to keep our stuff and then walk back to the old town again. And the rooms were small and quite dated. We would choose another hotel in the old city Center for our next visit to Florence.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Regency Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regency Hotel

Address: Piazza Massimo d'Azeglio, 3, 50121 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#41 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#95 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Regency Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once upon a time when the city of Florence was the Italian Capital, Hotel Regency served as a retreat to high government officials and ministers of the State. Today, the nineteenth century villa located in the heart of Florence is a five star property and a long time member of the prestigious “The Leading Hotels of the World”. The hotel overlooks pristine Piazza D’Azeglio, framed by monasteries, ancient cloisters, famous museums, the Synagogue and, even more impressive, maintains the private villa-like air, ensuring travellers a memorable experience.Affacciato su una delle più belle “piazze salotto” fiorentine, immerso nel verde e nella tranquillità, l’Hotel Regency conserva ancora il fascino vintage della residenza ottocentesca di ministri e alti funzionari, con l’atmosfera di una dimora privata di gran lusso. Collocato nel centro storico cittadino, in una posizione invidiabile, consente di godere della bellezza delle opere d’arte che rendono unica questa città come i palazzi rinascimentali, le chiese, i chiostri ed i musei tra i più prestigiosi al mondo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Jetsetter, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Regency Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Regency Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.