We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection is not inexpensive” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The St. Regis Florence

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The St. Regis Florence to your Saves list
The St. Regis Florence
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Ognissanti 1, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Perfection is not inexpensive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This hotel is in a 16th century building on a small Plaza next to the river. The receptions areas are lovely, the staff friendly and discrete and the rooms are large, soundproof and magnificently decorated. The breakfasts are copious. The dining room with its stained glass ceiling and banquette seating is sitting in the lap of luxury and the food is good but not exceptional. Lovely church on square and good shopping and restaurants nearby. Easy walk to all the tourist attraction of Florence without being in the center of the mob.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St_Regis_Florence, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Florence, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear Surlyprof, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. It is certainly a pleasure to read your that your stay with us was truly unique and perfect. We look forward to welcoming you back for another indelible stay. Sincerely, Ombretta - The Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    590
    78
    20
    12
    2
See reviews for
145
376
21
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This is truly a wonderful hotel. I stayed two nights and wish it was longer. the location is ideal - close to everything, yet set apart from the crowds. It's a short taxi ride or a 15 minute walk from the train station. Check-in is discrete and professional, but also friendly at two desks off to the side of the lobby. I was shown to my room and handed off to my personal butler, who showed me the highlights of the room, as well as a welcome gift of a bottle of wine and biscotti. The room was huge by any standard. I highly recommend booking a room overlooking the Arno. Though a bit louder (some street noise but nothing too bothersome), it's worth it to wake up every day, look out the window and see the river right in front of you. The room was everything one would expect of a St. Regis, as were the amenities.

The bar is great, and they had a big screen TV set up for the World Cup games. Try one of the specialty cocktails, and hotel guests receive a complimentary glass of champagne and hors d'oeuvres - such a nice way to either wind down from a busy day of sightseeing or to start off an evening! There was also an outdoor dining/drinks area overlooking the river and square which was a lovely spot for a drink and a light meal.

As an aside, try the rooftop bar at the Westin across the square - great views and great drinks!

The service at this hotel was excellent - efficient yet friendly.

Yes, this is expensive. I'm not sure why anyone would expect otherwise at a St. Regis. But to me it was worth the indulgence to have such a classic, beautiful place to stay in such a classic, beautiful city. I'm already planning my return visit.

Room Tip: River view rooms are worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St_Regis_Florence, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Florence, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear just up and go, allow me to tell you that we are spoiled by your amazing words of appreciation and to thank you for pointing how our rooms are larger than those that can be expected in Europe: this is a matter of great surprise for our guests. We trust that our surroundings contributed to your satisfaction. It would be our sincere pleasure to welcome you back for many years to come.Ombretta - The Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We stayed at the St Regis for 3 nights and had beautiful river view rooms. From the moment we arrived we were greeted by smiles and the staff were extremely attentive throughout our stay.
The hotel is 5 minutes walk from the city centre ( much closer than its main 5* competitor the Four Seasons) and the rooms are large and comfortable, a welcome place to relax after a long day of sightseeing. The only slight issue was that there was no kettle or coffee machine, and when I asked for an iron I was told it was not allowed in the rooms and I would have to ask housekeeping to iron the item for me. I found this a little odd as I have never come across this in any other 5* hotel I had ever stayed in around the world. Perhaps it is something particular to Florence. I'm any case, it is a minor thing and does not stop me from highly recommending this hotel where we would be happy to stay again.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St_Regis_Florence, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Florence, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Aidualc37,allow me to thank you for highly recommending the St. Regis hotel to the TripAdvisor community. We are very glad to know that your stay with us was perfect in spite of the iron's issue. Actually, for safety reason we are not allowed to provide it to the guests, as you right guessed. Looking forward to meeting you back soon, sincerely, Ombretta - The Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

The service was great and the hotel is gorgeous. We had an amazing view from our very large room. The beds were extremely comfortable and bathroom very large. The concierge remembered us and was very helpful. Hotel is located right beside amazing leather bag boutique. Breakfast was good, coffee was great, breakfast room was beautiful. Dinner was delicious. The champagne ritual was very nice and so were the little snacks. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St_Regis_Florence, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Florence, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Allison L, allow me to thank you for recommending The St. Regis Florence to the huge Community of Tripadvisor travelers. We are glad that you experienced extraordinary moments of pleasure through all our outlets, from the sweet breakfast to the charming Champagne Ritual. Looking forward to meeting you again in the nearest future, all my best regards, Ombretta - The Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

If ever a hotel embodied the history and charm of it's city... it's this property.

With an attention to detail equal the old masters the hotel and our suite captured your attention with each moulding, fabric and piece of furniture... yet afforded a comfortable luxury. Both bathrooms were large and had all the modern comforts you'd hope for.

Our only challenge was that our King bed was comprised of two beds pushed together, that didn't want to stay side by side.

We loved the high ceilings, multiple balconies, immense chandelier and butler service. We were made to feel we were their only guests... and that the quality of our experience was their purpose.

It's location had us within a few minute walk to everywhere we wanted to explore.

We're already planning a return to Firenze, our favorite city and another stay at our favorite hotel... The St. Regis Florence.

Room Tip: Corner suites facing the Arno and the courtyard have lovely views of Ponte Vecchio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St_Regis_Florence, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Florence, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear JLUSTYAN, allow me to tell you that with your focused words of appreciation you have captured the essence of our service: personalized touches of care with the only purpose to make our guests feel extraordinary for us as they really are. Should you give us the pleasure to have you again as our guests, please do not hesitate to contact me personally: I will be glad to take care of your next stay at The St. Regis Florence. Ombretta - The Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Location alongside the river Arno is nice, with stunning views of the Ponte Vecchio. This historic building is perfectly located within 5 min walking distance to main places to visit. Newly restorated rooms are very well appointed, with Florentin style furniture, giving a feel of elegant luxury. The staff were delightful, the services impeccable.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St_Regis_Florence, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Florence, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Tianax, allow me to tell you that we are really glad you enjoyed our exclusive location in the heart of the city and our uncompromising views at the St. Regis Florence make our location one of the best in the world.Looking forward to welcoming you back for another indelible stay, Sincerely, Ombretta - The Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

If you are traveling to Florence this is the place to stay. The location is perfect, the hotel is beautiful and the service was impeccable. Wonderful service from the first email I sent to concierge a few months before our visit to the bellman who helped stuff our 8 large suitcases into our car when we left. The hotel itself is beautiful and welcoming. We were nervous after our stay at the St. Regis in Rome, which had tiny rooms with no storage space. We were pleasantly surprised. Our two children had a standard room, which was spacious, had plenty of storage and a very nice bathroom. We had a suite that overlooked the river that was just perfect. The bathroom was large, the sitting area had a great desk for my husband to set up a workstation for his afternoon calls and of course the bedroom had a wonderful signature St. Regis heavenly bed. We were able to walk to everything and were always glad to come back to this special hotel at the end of a long day and unwind before dinner. Wonderful hotel. Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St_Regis_Florence, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Florence, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Ann-Marie S, allow me to tell you that we are spoiled by your enthusiastic words and more than glad that you enjoyed our Hotel, your Suite, our professional associates and to read that our surroundings contributed to your satisfaction. Looking forward to welcoming you back again at The St. Regis Florence. All our best regards, Ombretta – The Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The St. Regis Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Florence

Address: Piazza Ognissanti 1, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Florence
#2 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#2 Business Hotel in Florence
#4 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#5 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Florence 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a sumptuous palace in the heart of the city, The St. RegisFlorence is a privileged base from which to experience Tuscany'stimeless attractions. A short stroll will bring you to the iconic Uffizi,Duomo or Ponte Vecchio’s elegant jewelry shops. Legendary for its history, Florence’s streets offer inimitable treasures.The St. Regis Florence offers 19 exquisite suites enriched with refinedfurniture and antique artworks, together with 81 elegant guestroomsdecorated with the prestigious Medici, Fiorentino and Renaissancestyles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Starwood EMEA, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The St. Regis Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Florence Hotel Florence
Florence Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The St. Regis Florence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.