We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impeccably stunning” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The St. Regis Florence

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The St. Regis Florence to your Saves list
The St. Regis Florence
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Ognissanti 1, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Ankeny, Iowa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Impeccably stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

We are relatively well traveled, but nothing we have experienced to date could approximate our satisfaction with this magnificent hotel or the people who are clearly passionate about the satisfaction and contentment of their guests. From the moment we arrived until our departure, not one detail fell short of perfection. Our two week trip to Italy was elevated several notches by the two nights we stayed at the St. Regis. Our stay there has been included in every conversation we had about our trip and we will remember this place fondly for years to come!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St_Regis_Florence, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Florence, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear Marla M, we are very glad to read that you lived an experience beyond expectation in our magnificent hotel. Our Staff is really passionate about the satisfaction of our guests: for this reason we take care of even the smallest details in order to surprise our clients. Looking forward to welcoming you back again at The St. Regis Florence. All our best regards,
Ombretta - The Lobby Butler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    591
    78
    20
    12
    2
See reviews for
145
376
22
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ankeny, Iowa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

Words cannot express our satisfaction with our experience at the St. Regis, Florence. The hotel is ideally situated. Our suite was so exceptional, candidly I was grateful it rained our last morning in Florence, so as to provide an excuse to suspend touring and stay in. The front office manager, Stephanie, is quite simply one of the most delightful people I have encountered in a long time. Everyone we encountered there was so courteous, warm and welcoming. The spa exceeds even the most ideal expectations. This hotel is my fondest memory of our time in Italy. We are so grateful for a wonderful experience. SPG members for life!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St_Regis_Florence, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Florence, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear Craig M, Allow us to tell you that your amazing words leave us breathless.Actually we all live with empathy the guiding values of Starwood and we are committed every day in delivering them to our guests (and our professional and sweet Front Office Manager, Ms. Motteau, is a great example of that). It's an immeasurable honor to know that you, a SPG member for all life, noticed it and lived it. Sincerely, Ombretta - The Lobby Butler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

So after staying at this place for many years when it was the grand hotel, I was excited to stay here as the St. Regis. While I did get the requested view of the Arno, the room was small and the bathroom was a nightmare.
I missed the standard automatic shades which completely blocked out the morning sun as they discontinued them with the change, and I missed the walk-in shower which is now a super narrow bathtub with half a glass divider which floods the bathroom floor when one tries to use the shower, no matter what angle you choose for the shower head. The only real delight was the staff, especially the bartender, who made excellent cocktails and was a joy to interact with. For my money, the Westin across the piazza is a much better value.


Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St_Regis_Florence, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Florence, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear Stan P, Thank you for choosing again the St. Regis as your exclusive address in Florence. Allow us to explain that most of our rooms have the shower separate to the bath, but in your case just thinking of your strong wish to have a view, hoping to meet your needs, we have made every effort possible to find a room looking the river available available (even if with no separate shower). Should your future travels bring you back to Florence, feel free to contact me directly - I will personally ensure that your next stay with us will be a most enjoyable and comfortable one. Ombretta - Lobby Butler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

This is by far the best hotel that we have ever visited, and we travel a lot. From check-in, to concierge services, to check-out, all the staff were most welcoming and helpful.

We had the "Taste of Luxury" package, which made the cost very reasonable, considering what we received. We stayed in a premium deluxe room, which was spacious, clean, and luxurious, with a wonderfully comfortable canopy bed. We decided to request a room facing the inner courtyard instead of the river because we preferred a very quiet setting, and we were not disappointed. We took advantage of the option of having our breakfast delivered to our room instead of taking it in the public dining area. The foods for breakfast were excellent, and their omelet maker deserves special praise.

My wife had a medical issue while there, and the staff arranged for a doctor to visit her at the hotel and procured the needed medicine for us, which ensured a quick recovery. We were most appreciative of the assistance that we received.

This is what a luxury experience is supposed to be. Stay here, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St_Regis_Florence, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Florence, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear RubyCavalier, Allow us to thank you for sharing your detailed comments and kind words of praise. It's certainly a moment of pride to read tha our staff showed you a high level of service and you enjoyed our elegant and spacious Premium room. And we could not agree more: what better than a sweet and smooth wake up with a special breakfast in room? Should your future travels bring you back to Florence, feel free to contact me directly - I will personally ensure that your next stay with us will be a most enjoyable and comfortable one. Ombretta - The Lobby Butler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Pluses:

Decor: The hotel is an elegant mansion filled with beautiful paintings and rennaissance colors. I've always like the St. Regis brand because their design focuses on the details and accents. It's luxurious and exquisite but not trying too hard to be grand. (In contrast, Four Seasons Firenze is more like a castle. I went there for Christmas dinner and while everything was beautiful as well, it felt a bit over the top.)

Breakfast buffet: was amazing! Nothing like the scale of St. Regis Bali, but still a lot of food and everything you'd hope for: omelette/egg station, continental + American selections, snack bars...etc If you up for waking early, get the breakfast inclusive deal!

Location: St Regis is located 10-15 mins walk away from the "center" of the city. The hotel is located in a high-end district (a few minutes away from Cellerini, the famed leather goods shop), so a walk in the neighborhood is extremely pleasant. Again, it is better located than the Four Season, which is wayyyy off the grid.

Minuses:
Nothing I could think of!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St_Regis_Florence, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Florence, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Dear asiapproach8, we are really glad you enjoyed our exclusive location in the heart of the city: The St. Regis Florence is an historic palace designed by Brunelleschi in the center of Florence and ideally located along the Arno River, minutes away from the city's finest shopping, museums and the world famous Ponte Vecchio. We look forward to welcoming you back for another indelible stay. Sincerely, Ombretta - The Lobby Butler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Loved the hotel. We arrived (after a below par experience at St Regis Rome) with high hopes and we were not disappointed! Effortless check in, shown to our room which was upgraded to a river view (would not hesitate to pay for this in future!) and given the lowdown on everything by our Butler. The service at the hotel is incredible and the bar/restaurant were buzzy and fun. The champagne ritual is a must!

The hotel is centrally located for everything. Concierge restaurant recommendations were excellent, and Simona the guide we had was an expert on everything and good fun to spend a morning strolling around with.

We will be back and staying for longer next time, 2 days just wasn't enough!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St_Regis_Florence, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Florence, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Jpjn83, From your explicit words of appreciation, we understand we literally seduced you making you taste some of the pleasures of a stay at The St. Regis Florence: our Signature Champagne Ritual accompanied by chef Michele Griglio's epicurean creations. We eagerly look forward to your return. Sincerely, Ombretta - The Lobby Butler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

I love this hotel! The staff are very friendly and I like the way they interact with guest upon arrival, all these little chats make a big difference. The building has hundred of years history but the hotel only been open for three yrs and beautifully design. Each room had its own name and design, our room has a lovely balcony so I can see the famous river and bridges, also view of the beautiful sunset! Wifi was included but free use of computer and printing also available in lobby. 10mins walk from train station and you can reach to main shopping area by walk as well! Can't recommend this place enough!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St_Regis_Florence, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Florence, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Kyl l, Allow us to thank you for recommending the St. Regis hotel to the TripAdvisor community. It is motivating to read comments like yours and we look forward to welcoming you for another memorable stay with us. Sincerely, Ombretta - The Lobby Butler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The St. Regis Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Florence

Address: Piazza Ognissanti 1, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Florence
#2 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#2 Business Hotel in Florence
#4 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#5 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Florence 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a sumptuous palace in the heart of the city, The St. RegisFlorence is a privileged base from which to experience Tuscany'stimeless attractions. A short stroll will bring you to the iconic Uffizi,Duomo or Ponte Vecchio’s elegant jewelry shops. Legendary for its history, Florence’s streets offer inimitable treasures.The St. Regis Florence offers 19 exquisite suites enriched with refinedfurniture and antique artworks, together with 81 elegant guestroomsdecorated with the prestigious Medici, Fiorentino and Renaissancestyles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Starwood EMEA, Venere, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The St. Regis Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Florence Hotel Florence
Florence Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The St. Regis Florence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.