We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow Wow Wow” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The St. Regis Florence

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The St. Regis Florence to your Saves list
The St. Regis Florence
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Ognissanti 1, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Santa Barbara, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Wow Wow Wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Fantastic hotel. Over the top in every way. A staff that strives for excellence at every turn. It's like they spend all their time trying to figure out how to enhance each guests experience. Even the Dowager Countess would be impressed! And don't fret about the price. The memories here will be remembered long after price is forgotten. Cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Arno River!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St_Regis_Florence, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Florence, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Mpclaw, Allow us to thank you for recommending the St. Regis hotel to the TripAdvisor community. It is motivating to read comments like yours and we look forward to welcoming you for another memorable stay with us. Warm regards - Ombretta - The Lobby Butler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    570
    76
    20
    12
    2
See reviews for
141
365
21
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

What I liked about this hotel most is that it combines a historical atmosphere while at the same time everything looks so clean & new. I stayed a few years ago at the nearby Westin, but the St Regis exceeded my expectations by all means.

On the negative side, as a Platinum SPG member I expected a Suite upgrade which didn't get.

Room Tip: River Arno Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St_Regis_Florence, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Florence, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear DavEdUK, We are very glad that you have caught and brought to all of us the essence of the enormous renovation made in the last few years at The St. Regis Florence: we offer modern amenities while preserving the inmost soul of the Palazzo Giuntini. All our best regards, Ombretta - The Lobby Butler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
119 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
443 helpful votes 443 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

This is one of the most beautiful St Regis hotels we have stayed. I can only wonder what the renovations cost. Florence is one of our favorite cities in Europe, and this property is world class in every way. Butler service is bespoke and as fast as any we have experienced.

Our only problem at check-in was a young agent who smiled sweetly when I asked if we had received our Platinum SPG Suite upgrade and told me we had indeed been given a beautiful upgraded premium deluxe on the top floor. So I gently asked again if there was a Platinum Suite upgrade available and after looking intently at her computer screen she walked to an older woman at the next desk and spoke in Italian as to my request. They were indeed so very happy to have been able to upgrade me.

For those of you who have earned Platinum SPG status, you may have encountered this same line or variation previously in other Starwood hotels. I find it all too common and now even check day of check in inventory online or through Platinum Concierge, because sometimes it humors me and other times it annoys me, but most of all given the money spent with this company I expect consistency. And when hearing an absolute NO to a Platinum Suite upgrade request, after I have already checked inventory, I simply call the Platinum Concierge hotline and they always promptly call the hotel manager on duty...and then guess what happens next...

Other than that one small issue, everything was grand. Our suite perfectly appointed, the bathroom swathed in white and black marble. Morning breakfast perfect. The dining room has an incredibly well priced three course dinner and fabulous wine selection. Area restaurant recommendations are spot on. The Arno river location is brilliant. While the fitness room is small and compact it's efficient and served our purposes. And again the hotel is worth a visit just to see how beautiful a restoration has been achieved.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St_Regis_Florence, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Florence, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear PDXStocks, allow us to tell you that we are honored you consider us one of the most beautiful St Regis hotels you have stayed. Allow us also to remind that all our Platinum members receive upgrades to the best available room at check-in, including Standard Suites, but this benefit is subject to availability and Special Suites such as Presidential and multiple bedroom suites are excluded. Thank you again for your strong loyalty to our Starwood Family. Sincerely, Ombretta - The Lobby Butler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

If you have the dough, stay at st Regis in Florence. Great hotel in fantastic location on the river
Superior staff and service always willing to assist with all requests. Outstanding stay in a beautiful hotel

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St_Regis_Florence, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Florence, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear bruce a, allow us to thank you for defining excellent our staff and service: we are always willing to assist with all requests and to go beyond them. Sincerely, Ombretta - The Lobby Butler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Our second time in Florence and all of Southern Italy and by far one of the most memorable. A great deal of it was due to our stay at the St. Regis. Checking in the beautiful hotel makes you feel as part of the family. Our arrival was before check in and we were just hoping that our room would be available. If though it was not, they did offer a smaller room in order for us to relax, take a shower and have lunch before our stepping out to sight see. Even though, we are Starwood members, I was expecting to receive an upgrade but unfortunately we did not. After our temporary room we were then notified our Deluxe Room with huge closets and nice shower and tub were available. If possible try to stay in a bigger room as the temporary room was very small and when taking a shower the water spilled all over the floor as the bathroom was very small and no separate shower. The rest of the hotel was very nice as well. The staff was very attentive beginning with our check in experience as was the concierge which speaks volumes for their service. I do not have a single bad thing to say about anything with this hotel. I would recommend spending the extra money to stay here and just enjoy the beautiful city and this great hotel. It is minutes away from everything without being in the middle of everything. We were contemplating staying at the Savoy, but after seeing exactly their location I was very happy where we decided to stay. An experience also was our dinner at the Winter Garden in the St. Regis an exceptional experience ending with a fantastic night cap and piano bar!!! A must, is also, a visit to their other Hotel The Westin Excelsior. The last floor where the bar is located, is a must after a long day to have a drink overlooking the most beautiful romantic city called "Florence"!!

Room Tip: Try to pay a little more for a suite with Butler and balcony. Unfortunately we didn' would have been well worth it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St_Regis_Florence, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Florence, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear Vivian R, allow us to thank you for sharing with all of us your memorable experience at The St. Regis Florence. We are glad you have appreciated our offer of a temporary room waiting for the check in time and allow us to assure all our guests that we don't sell the temporary room beeing smaller than a deluxe and we use it, upon availability, just as a courtesy for our guests We are also very glad to read about your exceptional experience with the dinner at our restaurant the Winter Garden by Caino ending with a fantastic night cap and piano bar. Looking forward to meeting you again in Florence for the third time, all our best regards, Ombretta - The Lobby Butler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westlake Village, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

I've stayed here a few times and this is one of my favorite hotels anywhere. Since becoming the St Regis and undergoing an extensive renovation they've stepped it up several notches. We had a lovely suite overlooking the Arno. My favorite part if the experience is the personal butler service. We never had to wait more than 5 minutes for any request, whether it was ice for my aching back or espresso and cookies in the morning. The check in staff remembered us from previous stays and knew all our preferences. A home away from home like no other.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St_Regis_Florence, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Florence, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Dan V, your amazing words of appreciation of our bespoke service and your strong loyalty to us are the best recognition for any efforts we make in order to create indelible memories for our guests. We are proud about our Butler Service, considered the key differentiator among us and the rest of our competitors: no other hotel can vaunt such a service. Looking forward to welcoming you again and again at your home in Florence, all our best regards. Ombretta - The Lobby Butler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed in the Florence St. Regis for five days prior to our Le Marche wedding . It was an elegant and gracious experience. Our room overlooked the Arno, and it was large with an entrance vestibule, walk-in closet and a large bath. The service was all that you'd expect from a St. Regis, and the concierge was particularly helpful. He arranged a family dinner for us, and secured a private room that could accommodate us all.

We'd previously stayed at the Westin (right across the Ognissanti square), and both are good choices. It's worth going over to the Westin for it's roof-top bar, and the panoramic view of the city. For that matter, the Ognissanti church at the back of the square is not to be missed.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the river do have some street noise form the road below. If you are a light sleeper, yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St_Regis_Florence, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Florence, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear David S, allow us to thank you for your kind words of appreciation about our Concierge impeccable service. We are really glad you could experience both our properties, enjoying also the amazing view from the roof top at SeSto Restaurant Bar at the Westin Excelsior. We would love to welcoming you back and look forward to delivering another bespoke and indelible experience at The St. Regis Florence. Ombretta - The Lobby Butler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The St. Regis Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Florence

Address: Piazza Ognissanti 1, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Florence
#2 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#3 Business Hotel in Florence
#4 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#5 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Florence 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a sumptuous palace in the heart of the city, The St. RegisFlorence is a privileged base from which to experience Tuscany'stimeless attractions. A short stroll will bring you to the iconic Uffizi,Duomo or Ponte Vecchio’s elegant jewelry shops. Legendary for its history, Florence’s streets offer inimitable treasures.The St. Regis Florence offers 19 exquisite suites enriched with refinedfurniture and antique artworks, together with 81 elegant guestroomsdecorated with the prestigious Medici, Fiorentino and Renaissancestyles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood EMEA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The St. Regis Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Florence Hotel Florence
Florence Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The St. Regis Florence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.