We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staying here put smiles on our faces” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The St. Regis Florence

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The St. Regis Florence to your Saves list
The St. Regis Florence
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Ognissanti 1, 50123 Florence, Italy (Santa Maria Novella)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 457 Hotels in Florence
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Staying here put smiles on our faces”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

There is not much that I can say that hasn't already been said. Location is great 3 bridges away from Ponta Vecchio. All of the staff where very friendly. Note this is not always the case in Italy but has been our experience staying at St Regis hotels. Upon arrival we were escorted to check in and then shown our room. With two small kids in tow they did upgrade us to a larger room. The room was fabulous. Huge bed with lots of space to run around for the kids. The bathroom was also enormous with a great tub for the kids and shower for the adults. And the bed was very comfortable, again not always a guarantee in Italy.

But what made the stay special was the thoughtfulness of the staff. They sent two small toys for the kids as gifts and a bottle of sparking wine for us as we were celebrating our 10 year anniversary. At 7 pm the customary champagne ritual with a very nice snack assortment. They also accommodated a late check out. Yes, it's not cheap but you could not have taken the smiles off of our faces. Thank you St Regis.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St_Regis_Florence, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Florence, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear FamilyGuyBoston, allow us to thank you for valuating so high our staff and our friendly attitude towards your family. We dedicate the utmost attention to detail because we want to ensure a bespoke and indelible experience for the entire family. With captivating activities and thoughtful welcoming attention tailored for younger guests and their families, each St. Regis hotel and resort is a destination of distinction that celebrates the art of play. All the best, Ombretta - The Lobby Butelr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

869 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    737
    94
    25
    11
    2
See reviews for
191
457
26
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Our stay at the St. Regis was fantastic, but the best part was the driver that they coordinated to take us wine tasting in Tuscany. His name is Sergio Bernini and he works for Barocchi Limousine Service. Sergio speaks English very well and is extremely well read and knowledgeable on all things Tuscany as well as just about any other topic of conversation. Sergio drove us to San Giammano (sp?) for our first wine tasting at a small family vineyard which was fantastic and later drove us through Siena and Montalcino before dropping us off at our hotel in Chiusi. My wife and I both agreed that Sergio's experience and knowledge of the region greatly enhanced our enjoyment and the day truly flew by. I highly reccommend Sergio for any type of chauffer service.

Vivek Dave
Chicago, IL

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St_Regis_Florence, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Florence, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear Vivek D, allow us to thank you for sharing with all of us your bespoke experience with our driver during the tour in the Chianti area. Coming to Tuscany is a must a tour outside the city in order to explore the outstanding Chianti region's (tasting good wine) or to visit other fascinating medieval cities nearby. And our amazing Concierge Team is the best in taking care of any travel arrangements you desire and they provide you just the best expert drivers. All the best, Ombretta - The Lobby Butler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

At first we weren’t sure whether we would want to book the St. Regis for our stay as the decor from the pictures look a bit aged. But once we arrived we were very impressed! After you come in the revolving doors, you will see a beautifully decorated reception, classy and breathtaking.

The rooms are not big, but spacious enough. We had a room with the balcony and the view is just jaw-dropping – looking over the river of Florence, nothing beats waking up to such tranquil scenery. The decoration is classy but the functionality is modern. Surprised to find the TV disguised inside the mirror in the bathroom!

The bathrooms are not big as well, but the layout is great. It actually makes you feel that the hotel has put into thoughts the comfort of the users and not just those trendy modern bathrooms which always lacks functionality.

And remember to go for the breakfasts. The breakfasts here had to be one of the best meals we had in our Italy trip! Service was impeccable, the food were delicious and the setting was amazing. This is a beautiful hotel.

I see that many of the reviews rave about the butler service, with us, it was a so-so experience. The concierge was polite but not friendly, the attitude was cold, but I guess you can’t really complain people being “cold”, it’s just that when people are more genuine it does improve your experience! Would still strongly recommend a stay in this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St_Regis_Florence, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Florence, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear jklove, allow us to tell you that we are happy you have catched the real sense of the last reformation: classy decoration, breathtaking public areas but with a modern touch with high technology. Regarding the room and bathroom size and the butler service, allow me to inform all our travelers that we have a wide range of rooms type: we start from the lowest category (the deluxe room) to our best Suites (the Royal, the Presidential and the Bottega Veneta). Each category has different size and just the Junior Suites and the Suites have the full butler service (hot drinks complimentary all day, 2 items pressed complimentary upon your arrival, internet free, and goes on); whilst just the Premium rooms looking the river have the Premium butler (hot drinks Complimentary at the wakeup call, internet free, packing, unpacking, shoes shine). Should you ever decide to come back, please do not hesitate to contact me personally: it will be a pleasure for me to let you experience our bespoke full butler service. Sincerely, Ombretta - The Lobby Butler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

This hotel offers a good central location, right by the river, in walking distance of some wonderful historic sights. The hotel itself is truly luxurious and palatial and our room was a beautiful suite, that looked as if it was done for the queen herself! Regal and luxurious comes to mind! We ordered room service a couple of times and it was wonderful, we were offered a champagne and canape reception, which was lovely and the staff were very professional. The only complaint, would be the breakfast lay out in the morning there are tables around a banister and we were located far away from the buffet but the food was up to standard. I would stay here again and will do so. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St_Regis_Florence, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Florence, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear lilmisskaty, allow us to tell you that we are glad you had an amazing experience with us thanks to our splendid location right by the river, and we believe saying that you ordered a wonderful in room dining for not leaving our luxury royal room. Looking forward for your return, sincerely, Ombretta - The Lobby Butler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I travelled with my daughter and a co worker to Florence and our experience was amazing. Place is clean, sevice is top notch and the restaurant for dinner in the hotel is beautiful and food was amazing. We got there and they made us feel so special the minute we got there in taxi. Breakfast was excellent and so many different choices for all ages. They tolld us to go to the roof top of Westin to look at the view of Florence at night and it was beautiful. Hotel is situated at a very beautiful location next to the river.

Thoroughly enjoyes it and I had trouble with the magnified mirror and called the front desk and they came up within 5 minutes and fixed the mirror. That is what you call service.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St_Regis_Florence, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Florence, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear rdhami, allow us to thank you for sharing with all of us your fantastic experience at The St. Regis Florence and in particular at our Restaurant Winter Garden by Caino, where we propose a fine dining, bringing together the culinary tradition of Tuscany and bespoke service in the heart of Florence, thanks to a collaboration between our Executive Chef, Michele Griglio and the multi-Michelin stars Chef Valeria Piccini. Looking forward to meeting you again, all our best regards, Ombretta - The Lobby Butler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

If you can splurge, this hotel indeed deserves your business, Everything in the place is well designed, luxurious and worth the money, even with slightly high price tag.
Staff take good care of the guests in any way possible and are very polite. The rooms we had were deocrated tastefully and were well furnished. The food was typically Italian and very good. We ate there thrice during our stay in the city and enjoyed everything.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Neck, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Our first time in Florence was very memorable and it had a lot to do with the St. Regis. Checking in the beautiful hotel is very civilized, sitting in a comfortable setting with person who cares is very nice. Once we received our unexpected room upgrade we escorted to one of the nicest suites we had ever seen. The two bedroom suite had everything, views, three bathrooms, huge TV's beautiful bedding and butler service. The rest of the hotel was as nice as our room. As wonderful as the hotel was, the staff was on the same par. I do not have a single bad thing to say about anything with this hotel. I would recommend spending the extra money to stay here and just enjoy the beautiful city and this great hotel.

Room Tip: Our room over looked the river, and it was truly beautiful. it was not noisy at all. the Concierge s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St_Regis_Florence, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Florence, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear philip w, Thank you for recommending the St. Regis hotel to the TripAdvisor community. It is motivating to read comments like yours and we look forward to welcoming you for another memorable stay with us Warm regards - Ombretta - The Lobby Butler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel David
#1 of 457 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 2,281 reviews
San Marco
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
#11 of 457 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 989 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#16 of 457 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Hotel & Spa
Villa Cora
#6 of 457 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 504 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#9 of 457 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Florence

Address: Piazza Ognissanti 1, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Florence
#2 Spa Hotel in Florence
#3 Business Hotel in Florence
#4 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#6 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Florence 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a sumptuous palace in the heart of the city, The St. RegisFlorence is a privileged base from which to experience Tuscany'stimeless attractions. A short stroll will bring you to the iconic Uffizi,Duomo or Ponte Vecchio’s elegant jewelry shops. Legendary for its history, Florence’s streets offer inimitable treasures.The St. Regis Florence offers 19 exquisite suites enriched with refinedfurniture and antique artworks, together with 81 elegant guestroomsdecorated with the prestigious Medici, Fiorentino and Renaissancestyles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Venere, Booking.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Starwood EMEA and Jetsetter so you can book your The St. Regis Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Florence Hotel Florence
Florence Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The St. Regis Florence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.