We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sergio Bernini--Tuscany Wine Tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The St. Regis Florence

Save Saved
You added The St. Regis Florence to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The St. Regis Florence
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Ognissanti 1, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 461 hotels in Florence
Chicago, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Sergio Bernini--Tuscany Wine Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Our stay at the St. Regis was fantastic, but the best part was the driver that they coordinated to take us wine tasting in Tuscany. His name is Sergio Bernini and he works for Barocchi Limousine Service. Sergio speaks English very well and is extremely well read and knowledgeable on all things Tuscany as well as just about any other topic of conversation. Sergio drove us to San Giammano (sp?) for our first wine tasting at a small family vineyard which was fantastic and later drove us through Siena and Montalcino before dropping us off at our hotel in Chiusi. My wife and I both agreed that Sergio's experience and knowledge of the region greatly enhanced our enjoyment and the day truly flew by. I highly reccommend Sergio for any type of chauffer service.

Vivek Dave
Chicago, IL

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St_Regis_Florence, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Florence, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear Vivek D, allow us to thank you for sharing with all of us your bespoke experience with our driver during the tour in the Chianti area. Coming to Tuscany is a must a tour outside the city in order to explore the outstanding Chianti region's (tasting good wine) or to visit other fascinating medieval cities nearby. And our amazing Concierge Team is the best in taking care of any travel arrangements you desire and they provide you just the best expert drivers. All the best, Ombretta - The Lobby Butler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    502
    73
    17
    11
    1
See reviews for
132
322
18
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

At first we weren’t sure whether we would want to book the St. Regis for our stay as the decor from the pictures look a bit aged. But once we arrived we were very impressed! After you come in the revolving doors, you will see a beautifully decorated reception, classy and breathtaking.

The rooms are not big, but spacious enough. We had a room with the balcony and the view is just jaw-dropping – looking over the river of Florence, nothing beats waking up to such tranquil scenery. The decoration is classy but the functionality is modern. Surprised to find the TV disguised inside the mirror in the bathroom!

The bathrooms are not big as well, but the layout is great. It actually makes you feel that the hotel has put into thoughts the comfort of the users and not just those trendy modern bathrooms which always lacks functionality.

And remember to go for the breakfasts. The breakfasts here had to be one of the best meals we had in our Italy trip! Service was impeccable, the food were delicious and the setting was amazing. This is a beautiful hotel.

I see that many of the reviews rave about the butler service, with us, it was a so-so experience. The concierge was polite but not friendly, the attitude was cold, but I guess you can’t really complain people being “cold”, it’s just that when people are more genuine it does improve your experience! Would still strongly recommend a stay in this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St_Regis_Florence, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Florence, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear jklove, allow us to tell you that we are happy you have catched the real sense of the last reformation: classy decoration, breathtaking public areas but with a modern touch with high technology. Regarding the room and bathroom size and the butler service, allow me to inform all our travelers that we have a wide range of rooms type: we start from the lowest category (the deluxe room) to our best Suites (the Royal, the Presidential and the Bottega Veneta). Each category has different size and just the Junior Suites and the Suites have the full butler service (hot drinks complimentary all day, 2 items pressed complimentary upon your arrival, internet free, and goes on); whilst just the Premium rooms looking the river have the Premium butler (hot drinks Complimentary at the wakeup call, internet free, packing, unpacking, shoes shine). Should you ever decide to come back, please do not hesitate to contact me personally: it will be a pleasure for me to let you experience our bespoke full butler service. Sincerely, Ombretta - The Lobby Butler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

This hotel offers a good central location, right by the river, in walking distance of some wonderful historic sights. The hotel itself is truly luxurious and palatial and our room was a beautiful suite, that looked as if it was done for the queen herself! Regal and luxurious comes to mind! We ordered room service a couple of times and it was wonderful, we were offered a champagne and canape reception, which was lovely and the staff were very professional. The only complaint, would be the breakfast lay out in the morning there are tables around a banister and we were located far away from the buffet but the food was up to standard. I would stay here again and will do so. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St_Regis_Florence, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Florence, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear lilmisskaty, allow us to tell you that we are glad you had an amazing experience with us thanks to our splendid location right by the river, and we believe saying that you ordered a wonderful in room dining for not leaving our luxury royal room. Looking forward for your return, sincerely, Ombretta - The Lobby Butler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I travelled with my daughter and a co worker to Florence and our experience was amazing. Place is clean, sevice is top notch and the restaurant for dinner in the hotel is beautiful and food was amazing. We got there and they made us feel so special the minute we got there in taxi. Breakfast was excellent and so many different choices for all ages. They tolld us to go to the roof top of Westin to look at the view of Florence at night and it was beautiful. Hotel is situated at a very beautiful location next to the river.

Thoroughly enjoyes it and I had trouble with the magnified mirror and called the front desk and they came up within 5 minutes and fixed the mirror. That is what you call service.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St_Regis_Florence, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Florence, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear rdhami, allow us to thank you for sharing with all of us your fantastic experience at The St. Regis Florence and in particular at our Restaurant Winter Garden by Caino, where we propose a fine dining, bringing together the culinary tradition of Tuscany and bespoke service in the heart of Florence, thanks to a collaboration between our Executive Chef, Michele Griglio and the multi-Michelin stars Chef Valeria Piccini. Looking forward to meeting you again, all our best regards, Ombretta - The Lobby Butler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

If you can splurge, this hotel indeed deserves your business, Everything in the place is well designed, luxurious and worth the money, even with slightly high price tag.
Staff take good care of the guests in any way possible and are very polite. The rooms we had were deocrated tastefully and were well furnished. The food was typically Italian and very good. We ate there thrice during our stay in the city and enjoyed everything.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Neck, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Our first time in Florence was very memorable and it had a lot to do with the St. Regis. Checking in the beautiful hotel is very civilized, sitting in a comfortable setting with person who cares is very nice. Once we received our unexpected room upgrade we escorted to one of the nicest suites we had ever seen. The two bedroom suite had everything, views, three bathrooms, huge TV's beautiful bedding and butler service. The rest of the hotel was as nice as our room. As wonderful as the hotel was, the staff was on the same par. I do not have a single bad thing to say about anything with this hotel. I would recommend spending the extra money to stay here and just enjoy the beautiful city and this great hotel.

Room Tip: Our room over looked the river, and it was truly beautiful. it was not noisy at all. the Concierge s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St_Regis_Florence, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Florence, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear philip w, Thank you for recommending the St. Regis hotel to the TripAdvisor community. It is motivating to read comments like yours and we look forward to welcoming you for another memorable stay with us Warm regards - Ombretta - The Lobby Butler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Best hotel in Florence. Great view of river. Great service. Amazing room and view. We loved the bed. Very clean. Great restaurant. Nightly champange and apps. Easy to walk to train station and attractions. Loved the butler service. They hotel was remodeled a few years ago and it looks great.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St_Regis_Florence, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Florence, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Lizz123, we are proud that you consider us the Best hotel in Florence, thanks to our great views, amazing rooms and restaurant, and unbelievable butler service. Looking forward to meeting you again in the nearest future, all our most sincere regards. Ombretta - The Lobby Butler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The St. Regis Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Florence

Address: Piazza Ognissanti 1, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#1 Spa Hotel in Florence
#4 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#5 Business Hotel in Florence
#7 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Florence 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a sumptuous palace in the heart of the city, The St. RegisFlorence is a privileged base from which to experience Tuscany'stimeless attractions. A short stroll will bring you to the iconic Uffizi,Duomo or Ponte Vecchio’s elegant jewelry shops. Legendary for its history, Florence’s streets offer inimitable treasures.The St. Regis Florence offers 19 exquisite suites enriched with refinedfurniture and antique artworks, together with 81 elegant guestroomsdecorated with the prestigious Medici, Fiorentino and Renaissancestyles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Starwood EMEA, Booking.com, Venere, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The St. Regis Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Florence Hotel Florence
Florence Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The St. Regis Florence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;