We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The St. Regis Florence

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The St. Regis Florence to your Saves list
The St. Regis Florence
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Ognissanti 1, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Elegant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I have stayed at hotels all over the world. This hotel must have few rivals. I knew from the minute I exited the taxi to check in I was in for a treat. I had difficulty locating cash to pay the taxi. The bellman saw this and rushed to pay the taxi! What service! I checked in with Marcelo who instantly proved himself to be the standard of professionalism against whom all other hotel managers should be compared. He is simply the best. Marcelo is gracious, dignified, and patient. He recommended great restaurants, made outstanding hotel reservations for my family in Venice, and unflinchingly handled our laundry and dry cleaning. The hotel itself is spectacular from lobby to bar to restaurant to rooms. One of my best hotel experiences.

Room Tip: They have connecting rooms if you have kids. Ask when you book the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    551
    74
    19
    11
    2
See reviews for
139
352
20
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Just returned from a trip to Italy with my husband and 2 teenage children. The St. Regis in Florence is truly one of the nicest hotels we have ever visited. Our family is very fortunate to be able to travel often and to stay at some of the nicest hotels wherever we go. We are very partial to the Starwood properties as we are a member of their generous rewards program. Prior to visiting the St. Regis in Florence our favorite St. Regis was the property in Kauai which is simply beautiful with breath-taking views. The St. Regis in Florence has currently undergone a renovation and the property is just amazing and now our favorite in the Starwoods family. From the beautifully decorated rooms, the luxurious bathrooms (the bathroom mirrors have a TV in them...I have never seen anything like this!) to the elegant public spaces, this hotel feels more like a boutique hotel than part of a larger chain. The hotel is situated right on the Arno river. Our corner suite on the 3rd floor had sweeping views of the Florence hillside and the top of the Duomo. We were in walking distance to all major sites, the best shopping and excellent dining. (Try the roof top restaurant for dinner or drinks at the Westin across the street for a 360 degree view of the Florence skyline) Each morning we enjoyed a beautifully laid out buffet breakfast in one of the nicest hotel dining rooms I have seen..stained glass windows, high ceilings, etc. I can not express enough how EVERY detail of this hotel was of the highest quality. ( The paper stock that the next day's weather is printed on and delivered to your room feels like Crane quality stationary!) The front desk staff, concierge and wait staff were friendly, professional and helpful. We wish we could have stayed longer at this beautiful property and will definitely be returning on our next visit to Florence.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Situated in front of Piazza D'Ognissante, less than 10min. Walk from Florence Sta. Maria Rail Station. 45mins by train to Pisa Station.
The rooms are clean and very spacious, bathroom is really nice, with built in small LCD Tv in the mirror.
The staff are all very very friendly, courteous and helpful, especially Anna, the restaurant manager and Marco from the cobcierge.
Breakfast buffet is highly recommended, lots of choices. I don't recommend having dinner there bec the selection is very limited, quite a few choices, more on wine.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying at the St Regis, Florence for a combined celebration, our wedding anniversary, and our eldest daughter's 21st birthday. The reception that we received from the front desk staff was so welcoming that we knew we had made the right choice of hotel. We were given a well appointed room with a beautiful view across the Arno. Our 'butler' Juliana organised all the little touches that made our birthday celebration very special indeed. The hotel itself is beautiful and, with its great staff, is a reminder of a quality and standard of service which can be increasingly hard to find. If you have the opportunity to visit Florence, I would strongly recommend the St Regis.

Room Tip: Opt for a room with a view overlooking the River Arno.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St_Regis_Florence, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Florence, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Chiar0scuro, it was an honor for us taht you chose the St. Regis Florence in order to celebrate such special events as your wedding anniversay and your daughter's birthday are:
what pleasure was to celebrate with you. Juliana, your personal Butler, was excited in preparing all the little touches that made this celebration very special indeed. we hope to have left a trace of us in your fondest memories. Ombretta - The Lobby Butler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashiya, Japan
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

What a hotel. Right on the Arno river. We stayed here one night, made the reservation by phone from the taxi cab immediately after Lufthansa stranded us and another 600 of our closest friends for one night (3 flights to Frankfurt canceled at the same time) at the Florence Airport.
The hotel is small, intimate and lovely. I think that it must be nearly new but it has a character and charm that makes it feel opulent and approachable. Our room was on two levels separated by 6 or 7 stairs. We had two bathrooms and a magnificent sitting / living room with huge windows looking out on the river. They brought us two glasses of Prosecco immediately after checking in ( we had a butler!). We drank them slowly on our little veranda while looking at the Ponte Vecchio while savouring the scene that we would have never experienced if not for Lufthansa's poor customer service. This may be the nicest hotel I have ever stayed at and it was by accident. Everyone was nice to us at this hotel, some even referred to me by name, really a nice touch.
If you are going to be in Florence try this hotel. Its awesome.

Room Tip: We said nothing and were given one of the nicest rooms I have ever stayed in my life. Perhaps the se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St_Regis_Florence, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Florence, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear Ashiyadudeman, what's better than a glass of Prosecco served by a St. Regis Butler on our little veranda while looking at the Ponte Vecchio in order to forget the journey fatigues. Could be our new advertising. Thank you very much for sharing your incredible experience with all of us. Ombretta - The Lobby Butler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

The room, the food, the staff, the spa - everything was perfect. Was even upgraded upon arrival. I stayed in 438 and it was great - especially liked the mirror TV in bathroom. Truly a luxury five star hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St_Regis_Florence, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Florence, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Chris B, thank you for sharing your "amazing" comment. We are glad to know that you enjoyed the room 438 in Florentine Style with frescoes and warm colors evoking ancient Florentine tunes but with a modern touch: the tv in the mirror in the bathroom. Sincerely, Ombretta - The Lobby Butler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Stayed here with my wife on our anniversary. Used my SPG points, and as a Platinum Member, we were upgraded to a beautiful room overlooking the Arno River. From the lobby to the hallway to the room, the hotel is very nicely decorated. Check-in process was very prompt, and our butler was warm and welcoming, she showed the way to our room and explained everything, including that TV hiding behind the mirror. We loved our room, large bathroom, walk-in closet, and a window with a view of the river and sunset. In the morning, the butler brought us coffee or hot chocolate, very nice touch. The breakfast is served in Winter Garden, very elegant setting, and the breakfast was delicious. The location of this hotel is very good. It's not far from all the major sights, and there are many nice restaurants around the hotel. Overall, St. Regis Florence is one of the best hotels we have stayed in Europe.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St_Regis_Florence, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Florence, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Alan Tam 25, thank you for choosing The St. Regis as your exclusive address in Florence in order to celebrate your wedding anniversary. It's really important for us to know that besides the wonderful enviroment we created, you could appreciate also our efficient and friendly team: from the prompt Check-in process, to our warm butler service. We, also, know that the breakfast is an important moment for our guest to start in the best way their day, for this reason we serve our delicious buffet in the relaxing and enchanting Winter Garden. We really hope to see you again next here again for your anniversary. Ombretta - The Lobby Butler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The St. Regis Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Florence

Address: Piazza Ognissanti 1, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#1 Spa Hotel in Florence
#4 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#5 Family Hotel in Florence
#5 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Florence 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a sumptuous palace in the heart of the city, The St. RegisFlorence is a privileged base from which to experience Tuscany'stimeless attractions. A short stroll will bring you to the iconic Uffizi,Duomo or Ponte Vecchio’s elegant jewelry shops. Legendary for its history, Florence’s streets offer inimitable treasures.The St. Regis Florence offers 19 exquisite suites enriched with refinedfurniture and antique artworks, together with 81 elegant guestroomsdecorated with the prestigious Medici, Fiorentino and Renaissancestyles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood EMEA, Hotels.com, Venere, Orbitz, Expedia, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The St. Regis Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Florence Hotel Florence
Florence Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The St. Regis Florence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.