We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel and Wonderful Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The St. Regis Florence

Save Saved
You added The St. Regis Florence to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The St. Regis Florence
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Ognissanti 1, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 461 hotels in Florence
Beijing, China
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel and Wonderful Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Stayed here with my wife on our anniversary. Used my SPG points, and as a Platinum Member, we were upgraded to a beautiful room overlooking the Arno River. From the lobby to the hallway to the room, the hotel is very nicely decorated. Check-in process was very prompt, and our butler was warm and welcoming, she showed the way to our room and explained everything, including that TV hiding behind the mirror. We loved our room, large bathroom, walk-in closet, and a window with a view of the river and sunset. In the morning, the butler brought us coffee or hot chocolate, very nice touch. The breakfast is served in Winter Garden, very elegant setting, and the breakfast was delicious. The location of this hotel is very good. It's not far from all the major sights, and there are many nice restaurants around the hotel. Overall, St. Regis Florence is one of the best hotels we have stayed in Europe.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St_Regis_Florence, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Florence, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Alan Tam 25, thank you for choosing The St. Regis as your exclusive address in Florence in order to celebrate your wedding anniversary. It's really important for us to know that besides the wonderful enviroment we created, you could appreciate also our efficient and friendly team: from the prompt Check-in process, to our warm butler service. We, also, know that the breakfast is an important moment for our guest to start in the best way their day, for this reason we serve our delicious buffet in the relaxing and enchanting Winter Garden. We really hope to see you again next here again for your anniversary. Ombretta - The Lobby Butler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    493
    73
    17
    11
    1
See reviews for
128
319
17
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We were so pleased we chose this hotel and read the Tripadvisor reviews when selecting where to stay. In a place of outstanding beauty we stayed in a hotel that reflected exactly that. The rooms were beautiful and spotless, the staff were outstanding giving excellent service. The view from our room was magnificent and we didn't want to leave. Our stay in Florence was enhanced with our time at this hotel. We must go back and stay there again!!

Room Tip: I don't think there are any bad rooms!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St_Regis_Florence, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Florence, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Michael T, We are so pleased you chose us, The St. Regis, as your exclusive address in Florence and to know that your stay was enhanced with your time with us.
Allow me also to thank all the beatiful people (you are the first) posting their amazing and warm reviews on Tripadvisor, so useful when selecting where to stay in a place. Again: Grazie, Ombretta - The Lobby Butler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Was a perfect stay, couldn't ask for more. Perfect location. Room with a balcony.

Butler was very friendly, explain everything, even prepare wifi access code for entire stay. Thanks Juliana

Check in was speedy and informative about our stay benefit.

Breakfast was wonderful. The winter garden was lovely.

Champagne Ritual was so lovely with snack.

The waiter at Restaurant was very professional. Explain the whole menu and even took time to explain and let us try different olive oil. Thanks

Concierge to Doormen was perfect, very attentive. They even remember us by name and address us everytime we went in and out. Restaurant recommendations was spot on.

All the staffs were so friend and with a big lovely smile.

Thanks guys and gals. We will return to Florence for another stat for sure

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St_Regis_Florence, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Florence, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Dooeey, considering that you consider perfect your stay with us, it's not hard to think that you will find another occasion to come back for a longer stay. As you generously do well to note, at the St Regis Florence all and everything combine to make a unique experience for our guests: our romantic rooms, the impeccable service of our staff (the Butlers, the Reception, the Concierge, the Food and Beverage staff), the magical Ritual celebrated in an equally magical location (the Winter Graden). Should you ever decide to come back, please do not hesitate to contact me personally: it will be a pleasure to make again your next stay with us a special one. Ombretta - The Lobby Butler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrick, New York, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I have stayed in many hotels in my life. This by far was the best!!! Not one thing which I could find wrong. The most amazing service, best view, the nicest rooms. each member of the staff was nicer then the next. I would 100 percent stay here again... You would make a big mistake if you visited Florence and did not stay at the St Regis in Florence!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St_Regis_Florence, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Florence, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Leslie B, to be told from our guests that we are by far best hotel you have ever stayed in, encourages us to do even better. As you are 100% sure that you will stay here with us again, allow me to invite you to contact me personally: I do not want to miss the opportunity to take care of your possible future stay. Ombretta - The Lobby Butler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Had an amazing stay at the St Regis Florence. We were upgraded to a Premium Deluxe Room with an Arno River view which was spectacular - especially the little balcony (even in February) - one morning looking down the Arno could see snow-capped mountains in the distance. Truly breathtaking. The Florentine furnishings and frescoes on the wall are all beautiful - truly a great hotel room. The real strength of the hotel, however, is the staff. Everyone there from the butlers to the concierges to the front desk staff were wonderful, friendly and seemed to genuinely like finding ways to help guests.

Logistics-wise, the location is terrific: you can walk to anywhere - many sites being 10-15 minutes away. Also, the train station is less than 10 minutes away. Very convenient.

This is a true 5-star hotel and had a fabulous stay - one of the nicest hotel experiences I've ever had. Would strongly encourage anyone to stay here - no matter how high your expectations, they will be met.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St_Regis_Florence, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Florence, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear HopperRunner, it’s a great honor see how much you trust us and it’s visible from your amazing words telling that independent on how high are the Guest’s expectations, we will meet them. And we are even more grateful for giving due recognition to our staff: everyone there from the butlers to the concierges to the front desk staff are genuinely committed to helping guest an making their stay a memorable one. Warm regards, Ombretta . The Lobby Butler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

The St. Regis Florence is a luxurious 5-star hotel set in a prime location of Piazza di Ognissanti. It is located on the River Arno and in walking distance to all the shopping and dining and of course sightseeing.This Hotel has Florentine-style furniture, rich colors, custom frescos, sparkling crystal chandeliers and marble bathrooms.We booked a regular room for an excellent price. For some it could be a bit small, but for us it was actually a good size, because we have been traveling to Europe a lot and already got accustomed to everything being small. The bathroom was a bit small even for us tho. But it had everything you'd need and even a pretty cool mirror TV. The hotel was spotless and the staff was very helpful and professional. Although Florence is filled with Trattorias and Bucas we wanted to try the Hotel restaurant as well. We had lunch there with delicious Bloody Mary's and left very pleased. We also stopped for a complimentary Champagne (Bollinger)before dinner and enjoyed a live piano in the evening with an excellent lemon drops. Food drinks service and atmosphere were great. We were traveling during the Holidays so they still had charming decorations and Christmas spirit all around.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St_Regis_Florence, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Florence, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Helen34438, Thank you for the lovely comment posted. As you told, we are a luxurious 5-star hotel and we have 100 rooms, each different form the others. Apart from the majority of enormous rooms (Premium, Junior Suites and Suites), the few standard rooms (around 30 square metres) are a great solution for those that are looking for an excellent price but without give up the luxury visible through the rich colors, the frescoes, the sparkling crystal chandeliers and marble bathrooms. As you did, all our Guests can enjoy the exclusive St. Regis Rituals, celebrating memorable moments with a delicious Bloody Mary or a vibrant Champagne. Thank you again, Ombretta - The Lobby Butler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

This wonderful hotel is ideally situated by the river & short stroll into city centre. The service provided by staff was impeccable. The room well equipped & over looking the river with views of homes perched on the hillside made this the perfect base for our stay, so much so we extended twice. St Regis always hit the mark with their small touches, the attentive butler service, the friendly warm staff in a beautiful hotel. Rooms are large, bathrooms gleaming & decor to suit the Tuscan history,
Would highly recommend this place for anyone seeking a sanctuary during their Florence holiday.
Thank you for making it special.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St_Regis_Florence, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Florence, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Avandane, it's an honor for us to know that also this time we hit the mark with our small touches provided by the impeccable Butler Service , so much so you extended twice. Sincerely, Ombretta - The Lobby Butler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The St. Regis Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Florence

Address: Piazza Ognissanti 1, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Florence
#3 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#4 Business Hotel in Florence
#4 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#6 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Florence 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a sumptuous palace in the heart of the city, The St. RegisFlorence is a privileged base from which to experience Tuscany'stimeless attractions. A short stroll will bring you to the iconic Uffizi,Duomo or Ponte Vecchio’s elegant jewelry shops. Legendary for its history, Florence’s streets offer inimitable treasures.The St. Regis Florence offers 19 exquisite suites enriched with refinedfurniture and antique artworks, together with 81 elegant guestroomsdecorated with the prestigious Medici, Fiorentino and Renaissancestyles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood EMEA, Venere, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The St. Regis Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Florence Hotel Florence
Florence Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The St. Regis Florence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.