We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“By far best hotel we have ever stayed in!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The St. Regis Florence

Save Saved
You added The St. Regis Florence to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The St. Regis Florence
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Ognissanti 1, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 461 hotels in Florence
Merrick, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“By far best hotel we have ever stayed in!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I have stayed in many hotels in my life. This by far was the best!!! Not one thing which I could find wrong. The most amazing service, best view, the nicest rooms. each member of the staff was nicer then the next. I would 100 percent stay here again... You would make a big mistake if you visited Florence and did not stay at the St Regis in Florence!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St_Regis_Florence, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Florence, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Leslie B, to be told from our guests that we are by far best hotel you have ever stayed in, encourages us to do even better. As you are 100% sure that you will stay here with us again, allow me to invite you to contact me personally: I do not want to miss the opportunity to take care of your possible future stay. Ombretta - The Lobby Butler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    518
    73
    17
    11
    1
See reviews for
134
330
19
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Had an amazing stay at the St Regis Florence. We were upgraded to a Premium Deluxe Room with an Arno River view which was spectacular - especially the little balcony (even in February) - one morning looking down the Arno could see snow-capped mountains in the distance. Truly breathtaking. The Florentine furnishings and frescoes on the wall are all beautiful - truly a great hotel room. The real strength of the hotel, however, is the staff. Everyone there from the butlers to the concierges to the front desk staff were wonderful, friendly and seemed to genuinely like finding ways to help guests.

Logistics-wise, the location is terrific: you can walk to anywhere - many sites being 10-15 minutes away. Also, the train station is less than 10 minutes away. Very convenient.

This is a true 5-star hotel and had a fabulous stay - one of the nicest hotel experiences I've ever had. Would strongly encourage anyone to stay here - no matter how high your expectations, they will be met.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St_Regis_Florence, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Florence, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear HopperRunner, it’s a great honor see how much you trust us and it’s visible from your amazing words telling that independent on how high are the Guest’s expectations, we will meet them. And we are even more grateful for giving due recognition to our staff: everyone there from the butlers to the concierges to the front desk staff are genuinely committed to helping guest an making their stay a memorable one. Warm regards, Ombretta . The Lobby Butler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

The St. Regis Florence is a luxurious 5-star hotel set in a prime location of Piazza di Ognissanti. It is located on the River Arno and in walking distance to all the shopping and dining and of course sightseeing.This Hotel has Florentine-style furniture, rich colors, custom frescos, sparkling crystal chandeliers and marble bathrooms.We booked a regular room for an excellent price. For some it could be a bit small, but for us it was actually a good size, because we have been traveling to Europe a lot and already got accustomed to everything being small. The bathroom was a bit small even for us tho. But it had everything you'd need and even a pretty cool mirror TV. The hotel was spotless and the staff was very helpful and professional. Although Florence is filled with Trattorias and Bucas we wanted to try the Hotel restaurant as well. We had lunch there with delicious Bloody Mary's and left very pleased. We also stopped for a complimentary Champagne (Bollinger)before dinner and enjoyed a live piano in the evening with an excellent lemon drops. Food drinks service and atmosphere were great. We were traveling during the Holidays so they still had charming decorations and Christmas spirit all around.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St_Regis_Florence, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Florence, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Helen34438, Thank you for the lovely comment posted. As you told, we are a luxurious 5-star hotel and we have 100 rooms, each different form the others. Apart from the majority of enormous rooms (Premium, Junior Suites and Suites), the few standard rooms (around 30 square metres) are a great solution for those that are looking for an excellent price but without give up the luxury visible through the rich colors, the frescoes, the sparkling crystal chandeliers and marble bathrooms. As you did, all our Guests can enjoy the exclusive St. Regis Rituals, celebrating memorable moments with a delicious Bloody Mary or a vibrant Champagne. Thank you again, Ombretta - The Lobby Butler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

This wonderful hotel is ideally situated by the river & short stroll into city centre. The service provided by staff was impeccable. The room well equipped & over looking the river with views of homes perched on the hillside made this the perfect base for our stay, so much so we extended twice. St Regis always hit the mark with their small touches, the attentive butler service, the friendly warm staff in a beautiful hotel. Rooms are large, bathrooms gleaming & decor to suit the Tuscan history,
Would highly recommend this place for anyone seeking a sanctuary during their Florence holiday.
Thank you for making it special.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St_Regis_Florence, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Florence, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Avandane, it's an honor for us to know that also this time we hit the mark with our small touches provided by the impeccable Butler Service , so much so you extended twice. Sincerely, Ombretta - The Lobby Butler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We arrived last Friday afternoon and were given an extremely warm welcome by the Concierge and Front of House staff. The first impression is wonderful! The photos on their own website do not do the place justice. The decoration is a fabulous mix of old and new with a quirky twist thrown in to spice it up. Being the beginning of February, the hotel was very quiet.

We were shown to our room, the Caterina de Medici room, which they made a big fuss over giving us. We were handed over to the Butler for the "St Regis Butler experience". We never used it. If we had never been to Florence before we may have used the service for recommendations but we knew what we wanted to do.

The room was decorated handsomely, again a similar melange of styles which worked. A fault here was that there was only one comfortable chair and a desk chair in a room which could have taken a sofa and two arm chairs at least. They don't want you to stay and enjoy the room I guess. Also, we travel with a large quantity of luggage but the minuscule closet in the room is unacceptable. I understand the restrictions of buildings hundreds of years old but a free standing antique armoire would have been welcome and again there was room for this as well! The bed is like a giant marshmallow and comfortable! The view is lovely but the roar of the river is something you will never get away from. Also beware that the two sides of the Arno river, at this point, seem to be a rat run for ambulances and you can hear them at all hours of the day and night.

The Champagne Experience for aperitivo was lovely and a nice touch - in season, with some more people, it could but quite fun. Breakfast was good not exceptional but the service was extremely charming and made up for the average food offering. We didn't get a chance to try any spa offerings.

All in all, a very good experience! It is on the edge of the action but in season this could be a godsend when the hoards arrive.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dyer
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Stayed here a several ocasions. Hotel staff is outstanding. Rooms are great and so is the food.
It is located are the Arno River and is easily with in walk distance of most the the key sight seeing stops in the city

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St_Regis_Florence, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Florence, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear jwp1952, we don’t need any other comments about our outstanding staff and great location: we know that you have already been with us many times and this is the best recognition we can receive from a guest. I trust we will meet you again. Best regards, Ombretta - The Lobby Butler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

This was our second trip to Florence in less then one year and once again, our stay at the St Regis Florence was magnificent! Our suite, the hotel and the staff were incredible in every way. We dined on the balcony every morning overlooking the Arno as the weather was perfect. The fresco’s, décor and furnishings in our suite were spectacular and well done. Our Butler’s were the best as well as the Concierge team as they helped us with our needs like our 2nd truffle hunt, wineries and restaurant reservations and all of the recommendations were far above our expectations.
Kelly and I travel extensively for both business and pleasure and The St Regis Florence has become our favorite hotel in Europe. We want to thank the entire staff of the St. Regis for their hospitality and we look forward to our next visit.
Gary Mazurek Plano, TX

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St_Regis_Florence, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Florence, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear garymazurek, we are those that must thank you for your loyalty. We are glad that you have lived and appreciated our services at 360 degrees: from the magnificent frescoes and furnishings in your suite, to the attentive Butler and Concierge service … with their advice, you can discover the most secret Florence. Please, do not hesitate to contact me personally for your next visit. Ombretta – The Lobby Butler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The St. Regis Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Florence

Address: Piazza Ognissanti 1, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#1 Spa Hotel in Florence
#2 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#5 Business Hotel in Florence
#6 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Florence 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a sumptuous palace in the heart of the city, The St. RegisFlorence is a privileged base from which to experience Tuscany'stimeless attractions. A short stroll will bring you to the iconic Uffizi,Duomo or Ponte Vecchio’s elegant jewelry shops. Legendary for its history, Florence’s streets offer inimitable treasures.The St. Regis Florence offers 19 exquisite suites enriched with refinedfurniture and antique artworks, together with 81 elegant guestroomsdecorated with the prestigious Medici, Fiorentino and Renaissancestyles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood EMEA, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your The St. Regis Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Florence Hotel Florence
Florence Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The St. Regis Florence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.