We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Decoration & Charming Staff!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The St. Regis Florence

Save Saved
You added The St. Regis Florence to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The St. Regis Florence
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Ognissanti 1, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 461 hotels in Florence
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic Decoration & Charming Staff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We arrived last Friday afternoon and were given an extremely warm welcome by the Concierge and Front of House staff. The first impression is wonderful! The photos on their own website do not do the place justice. The decoration is a fabulous mix of old and new with a quirky twist thrown in to spice it up. Being the beginning of February, the hotel was very quiet.

We were shown to our room, the Caterina de Medici room, which they made a big fuss over giving us. We were handed over to the Butler for the "St Regis Butler experience". We never used it. If we had never been to Florence before we may have used the service for recommendations but we knew what we wanted to do.

The room was decorated handsomely, again a similar melange of styles which worked. A fault here was that there was only one comfortable chair and a desk chair in a room which could have taken a sofa and two arm chairs at least. They don't want you to stay and enjoy the room I guess. Also, we travel with a large quantity of luggage but the minuscule closet in the room is unacceptable. I understand the restrictions of buildings hundreds of years old but a free standing antique armoire would have been welcome and again there was room for this as well! The bed is like a giant marshmallow and comfortable! The view is lovely but the roar of the river is something you will never get away from. Also beware that the two sides of the Arno river, at this point, seem to be a rat run for ambulances and you can hear them at all hours of the day and night.

The Champagne Experience for aperitivo was lovely and a nice touch - in season, with some more people, it could but quite fun. Breakfast was good not exceptional but the service was extremely charming and made up for the average food offering. We didn't get a chance to try any spa offerings.

All in all, a very good experience! It is on the edge of the action but in season this could be a godsend when the hoards arrive.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    500
    73
    17
    11
    1
See reviews for
131
322
18
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dyer
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Stayed here a several ocasions. Hotel staff is outstanding. Rooms are great and so is the food.
It is located are the Arno River and is easily with in walk distance of most the the key sight seeing stops in the city

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St_Regis_Florence, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Florence, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear jwp1952, we don’t need any other comments about our outstanding staff and great location: we know that you have already been with us many times and this is the best recognition we can receive from a guest. I trust we will meet you again. Best regards, Ombretta - The Lobby Butler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

This was our second trip to Florence in less then one year and once again, our stay at the St Regis Florence was magnificent! Our suite, the hotel and the staff were incredible in every way. We dined on the balcony every morning overlooking the Arno as the weather was perfect. The fresco’s, décor and furnishings in our suite were spectacular and well done. Our Butler’s were the best as well as the Concierge team as they helped us with our needs like our 2nd truffle hunt, wineries and restaurant reservations and all of the recommendations were far above our expectations.
Kelly and I travel extensively for both business and pleasure and The St Regis Florence has become our favorite hotel in Europe. We want to thank the entire staff of the St. Regis for their hospitality and we look forward to our next visit.
Gary Mazurek Plano, TX

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St_Regis_Florence, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Florence, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear garymazurek, we are those that must thank you for your loyalty. We are glad that you have lived and appreciated our services at 360 degrees: from the magnificent frescoes and furnishings in your suite, to the attentive Butler and Concierge service … with their advice, you can discover the most secret Florence. Please, do not hesitate to contact me personally for your next visit. Ombretta – The Lobby Butler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

The Grand Hotel in Florence was part of the Luxury Collection. At least in Italy, and elsewhere in Europe, the Luxury Collectiom hotels each have (or had) their own personality. As if they were a loose collection of highly individual hotels.the Gritti in Venice, the Imperial in Vienna, etc., the Goldiner Hirsch in Salzburg ....al luxury collection hotels. Now the Grand has been re branded as a St Regis, part of a tightly branded group of hotels that cater to a different clientele. I loved the one-off sense that the Grand was jut the perfect exquisite, luxury but slightly sleepy hotel, beditting the singular character of Florence. Ot was an unself-conscious but beautiful hotel that happened to be covered with murals or soaring ceilings with collections of antique furnishings, set out in an old fashioned, bu truly well-suited way.
The Grand Hotel on gorgeous Piazza Ognissanti was one of this traveler's life's great pleasures. It was the essence of Florence. It was elegant and quiet and dreamy. Old, and palatial but a bit dusty. It was a true palazzo. The front office really ran the hotel. It wasn't a rigidly organized notch in a company's belt. The St. Regis sucked the originality and the flow and ebb of Florentine life out of the hotel with its uniform and garish "improvements." If, as a guest, innthenpast, if you got to the hotel, and one of the huge rooms facing the Piazza as well as the Arno was free, you would wearily walk up the grand main staircase and the door was flung open to reveal an impossibly huge room with 15 foot ceilings and a terrace or two, were yours to enjoy. As a steady customer, I was always treated in such a manner. When the hotel was crowded, we still got a huge deluxe room, with an enormous green velvet canopy overlooking the Arno for a fair price. Frescos on the wall, of course and a weird little dressing room all added to the charm that said "Italia," " Firenze."
The breakfast room was modest, but a delicious spread was included every morning.
The hideous Westin, across the aquare, that had already been subjected to the branding of its grand corporate owners, was no longer a special spot in Florence, but a convention or tour group hotel...noisy, turbulent and terribly commercial.
But the New St. Regis has ruined and homogenized a treasure. The rooms all have the same cornets above the bed. A new,mirrarional insignia isneverywhere. The categories and prices have been codified and the prices are high! They building has been renovated beyond recognition. I don't believe special top of the line baths even go In this hotel. Sure, room service was a laugh and the TV and pay per view were abysmal. But the new hotel has taken and the Grand and ruined it. Not every hotel,lends itself to some corporate idea of polish and "bespoke" whatever. Whatever St. Regis is selling, at this hotel, is a travesty because the real product, that is The Grand, has been obscured as much as possible.
Of course most guests seem to love it.. It is safe and everything matches. And the St. Regis logo is everywhere. and it's expensive and has fancy everything.
My heart is broken that an old, elegant original has been described as gaudy and compared to other hotels in the St. Regis chain. Garish, ersatz and another one of a kind swallowed by a chain.

Room Tip: All the rooms are ersatz and garish
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St_Regis_Florence, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Florence, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Lessylphides, your comment shakes two different feelings: on one hand, we are proud to know that we have completely seduced and enchanted you with our services and our staff (which is always the same) since the glory days of the Grand Hotel Florence; from the other hand, we are sorry to learn that the wonderful memories you have of the Grand Hotel will not allow you to enjoy the wonders of the St. Regis Florence, but we believe it’s only a matter of time and habit. Allow us to have another chance to show you that nothing has changed if not in better.
As you wrote Starwood Hotels & Resorts has renovated the famed Grand Hotel, formerly a Luxury Collection, and rebranded as the St. Regis Florence, after a meticulous ten-month restoration to bring it back to its historical grandeur and artistic heritage.
The hotel’s building (one of the city’s most significant) was designed by the Renaissance architect Filippo Brunelleschi in 1432 and Starwood has maintained the original design (one example for all: the glass-art ceilings at the Etichetta Restaurant of the 19th century), recreating an old fashioned environment.
There’s no one room alike, and all of the 81 guest rooms and 19 suites are available in three different styles: Medici, Florentine and Renaissance. Starwood asked local artisans to regain and restored the authentic furnishing and unique frescoes decorating the Grand Hotel and incorporate crystal chandeliers and paintings creating a luxury dimension and celebrating Florentine history and culture.
The Management and the employees are the same for years which allows an immediate recognition of the regulars guest and to know well their preferences (for example, it’s natural for us to give a regular guest his favorite room).
Our service also has been enhanced with The Butler Service provides a bespoke service any time for any guest.
Allow me, please, to invite you to contact me personally in order to understand better if you have a complaint to bring to our attention beyond your nostalgic feelings and words for The Grand Hotel.
Sincerely, Ombretta – The Lobby Butler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We only had the priveledge of staying at the St. Regis in Florence for one night traveling through Italy, but it was a wonderful experience. We were greeted by the bell staff and valet immediately pulling into the driveway. The doorman was welcoming and attentive. Sitting at a desk in a beautiful library setting, we found check-in to be very easy and low key. We had two rooms for our party of four and were pleasantly surprised how large the rooms and bathrooms were. They were grand! From the canopy bed to the marble bathroom with the tv in the mirror...it exceeded our expectations. The only complaint I had is that the room was on one of the lower floors and I heard street noise. I am a light sleeper and it did interupt my sleep, but not my husbands. The concierge did a fabulous job recommending a wonderful restaurant for dinner. The buffet breakfast was a treat with many options.
The location was perfect. The hotel is centrally located to most of the tourist sites we wanted to visit. We turned our car in to the rental company that was literally right around the corner. (Europcar) The train station was also very close.
For our future trips to Florence, we will happily plan on returning the St. Regis.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St_Regis_Florence, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Florence, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear susiegio, it's great to know that even if only for one night your experience at The St. Regis Florence has been exceptional: certainly much about that, it had our wonderful and romantic room with the canopy bed and the large marble bathroom, the perfect location so close to the main places of cultural and touristic interest and the fabulous job made by our Concierge recommending the best restaurant in town. All our best regards, Ombretta – The Lobby Butler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Classic/upscale Italian Renaissance decor yet newly renovated with touches of modern influence. The interior decorator's shop is right down the road from Hermes and the gold coast area shops. It's gaudy decor but perfect with the theme. If you have a room on the Piazza, be prepared for morning chatter to wake you up.
It's right across the street from the Westin. And while they both look identical from the outside, the decor in the St. Regis is a step up. If you're not into the interior, then save some money and do the Westin. But if you like all the little touches, go for the St. Regis.
ps. Westin has a great outdoor bar overlooking the river.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St_Regis_Florence, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at The St. Regis Florence, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear NBL629, You have captured the essence and intent of the imposing restructuring done at the St. Regis Florence: Classic/upscale Italian Renaissance decor with touches of modern influence; a gaudy decor but perfect with the historic environment. Thank you for the perfect picture you gave. Ombretta – The Lobby Butler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

This was the best stay I have had in years at a St. Regis. St. Regis in Deer Valley was beautiful with terrible service. St. Regis in Monarch Beach lovely but lacking in a few areas. Hope to see if things change in the Spring.

From arrival to departure this was a true St. Regis experience.
The door man was great.
Check in was fast and welcoming.
The double balcony room over looking the Arno was superb.
Room service was prompt.
Both Butlers were warm, professional.
The Wintergarden was beautiful and the bartender was the best I have ever had.
The lobby and public areas were wonderfully appointed.
The concierge was amazing.

I highly recommend this luxurious property to anyone who enjoys, and appreciates pampering and superlative service.
The location was perfect.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the Arno and with a butler. You will not be disappointed. 4th Floor 422...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St_Regis_Florence, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at The St. Regis Florence, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Travelarbiter14, It's really important for us to know that it was the best stay you have had in years at The St. Regis and you could live a true St. Regis experience thanks to our superlative service: from the great Doorman, the friendly Front Office Staff, the amazing Concierge, the prompt room service, to the professional Butlers and our exceptional Bartenders. And, certainly, the superb rooms and public areas have played also a key role in making your stay memorable. Thank you very much. Ombretta – The Lobby Butler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The St. Regis Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Florence

Address: Piazza Ognissanti 1, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Florence
#2 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#3 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#4 Business Hotel in Florence
#6 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Florence 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a sumptuous palace in the heart of the city, The St. RegisFlorence is a privileged base from which to experience Tuscany'stimeless attractions. A short stroll will bring you to the iconic Uffizi,Duomo or Ponte Vecchio’s elegant jewelry shops. Legendary for its history, Florence’s streets offer inimitable treasures.The St. Regis Florence offers 19 exquisite suites enriched with refinedfurniture and antique artworks, together with 81 elegant guestroomsdecorated with the prestigious Medici, Fiorentino and Renaissancestyles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Starwood EMEA, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The St. Regis Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Florence Hotel Florence
Florence Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The St. Regis Florence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.