We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST ONE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The St. Regis Florence

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The St. Regis Florence to your Saves list
The St. Regis Florence
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Ognissanti 1, 50123 Florence, Italy (Santa Maria Novella)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 463 Hotels in Florence
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“BEST ONE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

One of the best hotels we ever stayed at a beautiful view of the river Arno, a divine service, cleanliness and relax in the bedroom and bathroom. \ Great products courtesy, the typical Tuscan restaurant with meat unique. Concirge from 5 star luxury. Room original paintings, double sinks in the bathroom and tub separate from the shower. Super

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St_Regis_Florence, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Florence, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Von t, I'ts an honor for us to be considered one of the best hotels you ever stayed and we are glad that you especially enjoyed our Etichetta Restaurant and all the concierge recommendations.
Thank you.
Ombretta Comito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    713
    90
    23
    11
    2
See reviews for
181
441
26
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Farmington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
278 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I am not clever enough to think of anything to say about the St Regis that probably hasn't already been said. But when my friend asked me how I'd slept the night before, I could only reply that I'd slept on a cloud.
I adored the architectural details, too and I must mention all the spectacular art that lines the walls and sits on tables; everything here is a work of art from the fabrics to the carpets to the antique French clock in a foyer. The staff is spectacular as well.
More particulars:
gym open 24 hours a day, equipped with the expected: 2 treadmills, an elliptical, an upright and a recumbent bike, I think. My biggest problem was the early morning when I was the first one there and I couldn't turn on the lights. (not that big a problem but it took a while and even though I pushed every button I do not know what finally made one come on)
breakfast: order eggs and omelets cooked to your request along with all the other million or so things on the buffet. The beautiful fresh fruits were greatly appreciated, too, as I do not join the Italians in their traditional national breakfast obsession of a sweet roll and espresso.
we could not get the usb port in our room to charge our phones. an adaptor did the trick. We stayed in a room without a view and it was still paradise.
Even though most of your time in this spectacular city will be spent being out and about, if you can stay here you will appreciate the luxury, the amenities and the quiet.

Room Tip: I doubt there is a bad one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St_Regis_Florence, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Regis Florence, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear bravo-cinzia,
You said you slept on a cloud; you woke up and enjoyed a rich buffet breakfast; you discover that everything at the St. Regis Florence is a work of art. Maybe these beautiful things about the St. Regis Florence have been already said … but in this way they sound so magic.
Thank you very much.
Ombretta Comito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Beautiful room with balcony looking over the Arno. Small but excellent room with exercise equiptment. Food was fresh, well prepared and offered options for guests with dietary challenges. Very quiet and well managed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarwoodFirenze, Responsabile reception at The St. Regis Florence, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear La contessa-uno,

I am glad that your appreciate the food at our restaurant and the variety of choice for all diet.
Thank you for your great comments about your stay.

Best Regards and hope to see you back

Stéphanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Okay so it is not inexpensive but if you are going to treat yourself this hotel will not disappoint. Ask for a room on the riverside - it is worth it. The rooms are spacious - ours was huge -and the hotel was completely renovated last year so it is pristine. The service is courteous, friendly and knowledgable. They arranged our transportation to Tuscany and it was flawless. If I could offer one word of caution - their breakfast buffet is top drawer but if you are not going to take advantage of a hearty meal then the sticker price will not be worth it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarwoodFirenze, Responsabile reception at The St. Regis Florence, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Pinkrules 123,

it is a pleasure for us to know that you enjoy our completely renovated St Regis Florence with a unique location overlooking the river and our friendly staff.
Buffet is an experience at the St Regis with a vast choice and view of the Winter garden.

Thank you

Sincerely

Stéphanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This hotel is a pretty compelling proposition for anyone looking for luxury and comfort in the heart of one of the most fascinating cities in the world. So the top reasons for the 'very good' rating:

1. Of course the main reason has to be the quality of the space. I stayed in a 1 bedroom suite with a massive balcony looking over the ponte vecchio. It was glorious. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was equiped with a brilliant shower. I also liked the tv in the bathroom mirror...cool little toy that many top end hotels are investing in nowadays. Admittedly the room was of modest proportions but it was enough to keep two people comfortable.

2. The room was quiet - this is very important. Those who travel to florence frequently know that central florence is noisy. The streets are noisy with the sound of cars, scooters, horse carriages, drunks, garbage men, loud italians, music...of course its fantastic atmosphere but not when you need to sleep! This hotel is excellent because although its on a main road, noise insulation is great. I slept like a baby on that ridiculously comfortable bed.

3. Consistent, polite, professional staff throughout. The front desk were wonderful (and beautiful too but thats not important). The concierge was knowledgable and efficient. The restaurant staff attentive but not intrusive. The suits come with a butler who would bring us free tea, coffee, biscuits, snacks..etc whenever we gave them a call - so cheerful.

Why did I not give this place 5 stars? Ilike to save that rating for a place that really blows my mind and st regis doesn't have that sort of fire power. Its cosy, its kind of cute, its certainly luxurious but ultimately those of you that have gone to places like vegas, middle east/asian top hotels will know what i mean...it doesnt have that "epic" feeling but it definitely holds its own. I certainly wouldnt stay anywhere else and I go back every year!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarwoodFirenze, Responsabile reception at The St. Regis Florence, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Eyeous,

Thank you for considering the St Regis the best hotel in Florence.
I am happy that you enjoy your suite and our confortable bed.
Sleeping as a baby is always good especialy in a quiet place as we are but still in the city center.
I hope to welcome you back and to blow your mind next time

Best Regards

Stéphanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This hotel is beautful and well appointed, but the mark of a great hotel is the quality of its service, and the service here is outstanding. My 21 year old granddaughter, studying in France, was coming to meet me in Florence by train; when her first train was 2 hours late she missed all her connections. Marco and Emiliano went way beyond their concierge duties by first trying to find train connections, then when she could get only as far as Pisa, arranging to send a car for her; then when she discovered the train to Pisa was full and she was stranded in Turino, finding a hotel near the station for her. Emiliano was literally on the phone with her at 11:p.m., walking her down the street to find the hotel. I was so appreciative, as I worried about a pretty young woman traveling alone in a strange country.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarwoodFirenze, Responsabile reception at The St. Regis Florence, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear gapeach 2012,

Our concierge staff marco e Emiliano was really happy to help your granddaughter.
We always like our guest to feel the St Regis their home away from home.
Thank you for appreciating the quality of our service.

Sincerely

Stèphanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Excellent location. Room had great view of Arno. The hotel itself was magnificant. The room was palatial. We had a wonderful romantic holiday here. I am not sure I would call it a great value, but what is in Florence? Their are probably more reasonably priced hotels, but I doubt many as beautiful. The lounge area was very attractive and romantic. My only complaint was that I felt that the staff was a bit impersonal.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarwoodFirenze, Responsabile reception at The St. Regis Florence, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Triplet 027,

I am glad that you had a wonderful romantic holiday with a great view over looking in our hotel.
Normally we are really famous for having friendly and courteous staff so i apologize if you had a different impression and hope to see you again at the St Regis Florence.

Best Regards

Stèphanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel David
#1 of 463 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 2,239 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#16 of 463 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,750 reviews
San Marco
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
#11 of 463 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Hotel & Spa
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#8 of 463 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 293 reviews
Villa Cora
#5 of 463 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Florence

Address: Piazza Ognissanti 1, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Florence
#2 Spa Hotel in Florence
#3 Business Hotel in Florence
#4 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#5 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Florence 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a sumptuous palace in the heart of the city, The St. RegisFlorence is a privileged base from which to experience Tuscany'stimeless attractions. A short stroll will bring you to the iconic Uffizi,Duomo or Ponte Vecchio’s elegant jewelry shops. Legendary for its history, Florence’s streets offer inimitable treasures.The St. Regis Florence offers 19 exquisite suites enriched with refinedfurniture and antique artworks, together with 81 elegant guestroomsdecorated with the prestigious Medici, Fiorentino and Renaissancestyles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Venere, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, EasyToBook and Jetsetter so you can book your The St. Regis Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Florence Hotel Florence
Florence Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The St. Regis Florence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.