We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite as good as expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Helvetia & Bristol Hotel

Save Saved
You added Helvetia & Bristol Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Helvetia & Bristol Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Dei Pescioni 2, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Save €25 on select meals
Ranked #73 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Newcastle upon Tyne
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Not quite as good as expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We returned to the Helvatia & Bristol hotel to celebrate our anniversary and were made very welcome. The hotel was exactly as we remembered it and is certainly a beautiful establishment. Whilst we were familiar with the hotel one of the things that we were slightly disappointed with was the breakfast. We felt it was somewhat limited in the choice and selection of food and we kind of remembered that the last time we visited we had breakfast in the conservatory which was a lovely. This time we were served breakfast in a room off the lounge which was no-where near as relaxing. Other than that though it was an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luana M, Secretary to the General Manager at Helvetia & Bristol Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Sirs,
Thank you so much for returning to the Helvetia & Bristol hotel in occasion of your anniversary!
We appreciate your comments regarding your stay with us, which would help us to build up a still better service to our guests.
We regret to hear that the breakfast room was not of your liking this time, it probably coincided with those days when the Winter Garden conservatory room was reserved for a separate big group.
Even though we are delighted to learn that you had an enjoyable stay.
We sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you once again to the Helvetia & Bristol and thanking you for your patronage, we send you our best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    68
    31
    20
    3
See reviews for
58
133
18
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We were advised by a friend that this would be a good choice of hotel for a family and friends holiday and she was right. This hotel, and it particular its staff, was a success long before we arrived. My mother has trouble walking for long and so we asked the concierge to book a private guide, certain sites and a wheelchair in advance. All done in advance with helpful advice and charming emails. The guide they recommended was wonderful, informed, funny and charming.

When we arrived everything was as planned and they had been thoughtful about an appropriate room (no steps) as well. The hotel is beautiful, the rooms comfortable and everyone is incredibly helpful. The location is close to everything you might want to see and overall we were thrilled with the whole experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luana M, Assistant General Manager at Helvetia & Bristol Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Ladies,
We sincerely appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Hotel Helvetia & Bristol. It is always a great pleasure for us to receive positive feedback.
We will share your comments with our team, who we are certain will be encouraged by your remarks. We strive to assure all the quality, services and comforts that Helvetia & Bristol Hotel has to offer with charming rooms and a friendly, professional staff.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

When we had our breakfast in 1st floor (beside the lobby), two gentlemen went in, one guy asked what time is it, the other guy grabbed a handbag on our table and tow of them walked away unhurried. There were 6 passports, 4 credit cards, flight and train tickets and $4000 in this handbag. Hotel deemed it as a very common practice without any special assistant or issue management.
It is a nice hotel, but all the good experiences were stolen by the robbers and hotel's careless manner.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luana M, Assistant General Manager at Helvetia & Bristol Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Sirs,
We are really surprised to hear your comments. We carried out a thorough investigation and checked our log books since the theft dates back to June 14th, 2012.
We would like to point out that:
- our breakfast room is in the ground floor
- it is not a very common practice since it never happened before in our restaurant.
- the hotel did not deal this issue lightly and the local police was promptly called and suggested
you went to the Police station, located in the vicinity of our property, to report the theft
accordingly and allow the Police to start a proper investigation, as per Italian law.
Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We loved everything about this hotel especially the location! We were upgraded to a junior suite and our room was HUGE. We had two big bathrooms and this made our stay that much more enjoyable. The breakfast was only average and we thought a hotel of this caliber should have free wifi but those were our only criticisms. This hotel is great.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luana M, Assistant General Manager at Helvetia & Bristol Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Sirs,
Thank you for taking the time to write us about your recent stay at the Helvetia & Bristol.
It is with the help of constructive comments such as yours that we can enhance continuously and satisfy customers needs.
We would like to take this opportunity to inform you that our internet charges are in line with similar competitors.
We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again to our Helvetia & Bristol in the future.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

A very friendly hotel with beautiful rooms, helpful staff and ideal location. The breakfast buffet offered a wide choice and was tasty throughout. Our room must be one of the most beautiful I have ever stayed in - high ceilings, beautiful furniture, comfortable bed etc. We stayed with our 14 month old baby and found the staff flexible and helpful. I recommend this hotel wholeheartedly!

Room Tip: The rooms towards Palazzo Strozzi are beautiful but can be noisy. Still worth taking for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luana M, Assistant General Manager at Helvetia & Bristol Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Sirs,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at Hotel Helvetia & Bristol. We are delighted to learn that your experience did meet your expectations and we are most grateful for your kind words of appreciation.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family once again in the near future.
Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Just returned from my third visit to this excellent hotel.Location cant be beaten in the centre of the city near all important attractions.As for the hotel itself it is a centre of old fashioned hotel service lacking in the main today.Staff are friendly give good service cant do enough to help .Food very good breakfast etc fine eat a couple of times in the Bibendum restaurant a couple of times top quality to say the least.Was upgraded to a junior suite comfortable excellent shower big bed etc cleaning by room maids was excellent as well.The hotel is an old historic building but is kept up to the highest standard .This hotel is as good as my other special hotel The Cliff Bay in Madeira so i can now say this hotel is my favourite hotel in Italy.Hope to return all going well to this great hotel next year enough said i have said it all before.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luana M, Assistente di Direzione at Helvetia & Bristol Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Sir,

I was happy to have you again as our guest and sincerely hope that you will always make the Helvetia & Bristol your “home” whenever you are in Florence.
I wish to thank you very much for taking the time to write your kind comments and I am glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you once more to the Helvetia & Bristol, I send you my best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

For a City Break the location of the hotel is really important and you can't beat this hotel on that score. Virtually everything you want to cover in a 3 or 4 day visit is within easy walking distance. The hotel itself certainly lived up to our expectations and the staff were very helpful and friendly. Bedrooms tend to be a compromise between views and noise levels, as with many city centre hotels.
We were upgraded to a beautiful Royal Junior Suite at no charge with a great view over Piazza Strozzi. Unfortunately we found it on the noisy side at night, there was music coming from somewhere close by that went on till about 1am and the night was punctuated with the noise of groups of people passing by. In the morning the hotel very obligingly moved us with minimum fuss to a suite on the second floor which overlooked the inner courtyard and our remaining nights were blissfully quiet! From our point of view it was well worth sacrificing the view so if noise at night does bother you I would strongly recommend requesting a room facing onto to the hotels inner courtyard.
We only used the restaurant (Bibendum) on the night we arrived but wished we had used it more as it was significantly better than the other restaurants we tried - we tried their taster menu which was pretty good value at 38 euros and a very good standard. If you are looking for a hotel that is traditionally stylish and elegant (as opposed to modern-chic), with friendly service, you won't find much better particularly once you take the location into account.

Room Tip: Go for a room facing the inner courtyard if noise is an issue - it is worth sacrificing the view as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luana M, Assistant General Manager at Helvetia & Bristol Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Sirs,

Thank you for taking the time to tell and write about your recent stay at the Helvetia & Bristol.
We are most obliged to you for bringing to our attention any comments which would help us to build up a still better service to our Guests.
As you have been able to experience, being right in the middle of a tourist city as Florence, it may cause night noise beyond our control. We would like to take this opportunity to inform you that we have notified the local authorities and are starting a legal action.
We also wish to thank you for your comments regarding our hotel restaurant, hoping that your suggestion will encourage other guest to try it! Good quality for good value!
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again to the Helvetia & Bristol in the not too distant future.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Helvetia & Bristol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helvetia & Bristol Hotel

Address: Via Dei Pescioni 2, 50123 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#49 Family Hotel in Florence
#80 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Helvetia & Bristol Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Helvetia & Bristol, a historic property located amongst Florence's many cultural treasures, is part of Niquesa Hotels & Residences. Niquesa's Hotel Helvetia & Bristol is undoubtedly the only place to stay when in Florence. As a World Heritage site and magnetic cultural destination, it is the focal point for any visitor, and we are blessed by being at the heart of it all. Our front door opens onto the Palazzo Strozzi, a masterpiece of Florentine Renaissance architecture, along with an enviable location in the luxury shopping district. Our rooms and suites offer tasteful colour palettes and the carefully chosen antique furniture, objects d'art, paintings and rich furnishings are our hallmark in design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Venere, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Helvetia & Bristol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helvetia And Bristol Hotel
Helvetia Bristol Hotel
Helvetia Bristol Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Helvetia & Bristol Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.