We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“getr your walking legs on...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Uffizi Gallery

Uffizi Gallery
Piazzale degli Uffizi 6, 50122 Florence, Italy
055 238 8651
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Skip the Line
$74*
and up
Skip the Line: Boboli Gardens with Vasari...
Ranked #21 of 215 Attractions in Florence
Type: Art Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: One of the great museums of the world, the Uffizi houses the premier collection of Italian Renaissance art, featuring works by such masters as Botticelli, Titian, Michelangelo and da Vinci.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“getr your walking legs on...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

fantastic. highlight was the leonardos. my mum wanted to use the lift for disabled & the coat desk was most unhelpful until we approached a local police guard who was there on another matter with collegues & he showed us to the elevator & then brought the surly coat desk man to us & spoke to him sharlply in front of us. The coat man then apoloised, explained he didn't understand what we had wanted !! (my mum is clearly unable to manage many steps) & then showed us the way behind the scenes. Just be persistant is my advice. none of this detracted from the displays though....what an experience

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,350
    1,934
    741
    206
    116
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sedona, Arizona
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Give yourself plenty of time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Be prepared to spend some time here and wear comfy shoes. Upon entry, there is a lift, but we missed it until we were beginning the second flight of stairs up and there were more. Lots of statues and busts, the ceiling were incredible, and the paintings just went on and on. There was one room on display but you couldn't enter it. Quite impressive! Nice gift shop for gift for friends, family and other loved ones (plus yourself!). Even after viewing the inside there was plenty of action outside. A very creative clown busily interacting with the crowd. Two figures that we at first thought were pieces of art work but upon further inspection if you drop a coin in the ornate box in front of them they come to life and it's a great photo opportunity. Very fun and well worth spending a good deal of time. There is also food and drink outside to purchase in order to refuel!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Normal, Illinois
Top Contributor
398 reviews 398 reviews
199 attraction reviews
Reviews in 137 cities Reviews in 137 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
“renaissance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Incomparable collection of renaissance art and artists in a single roof. Collection is housed in one of the most powerful man in Florence during the middle ages.

Get your ticket ahead of time - well worth the extra 4 Euro.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“How to get a ticket to Uffizi Gallery without prebooking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I arrived at lunchtime and didnt have a ticket. There was a long queue so thought Id have a long wait to buy one. I then saw a woman holding up a sign saying 'English speaking guide' so I bought a ticket from her for 33 euros (normal admission/no guide is 15 euros) and joined the guided tour with 7 other tourists. The guide was excellent and gave us insightful information on the history and features of the building, and the artwork. The tour went for an hour and we could then stay on in the gallery by ourselves. For me, the guide was a more worthwhile way to visit the gallery and well worth the extra 18 euros.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, SC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“More art than you can shake a stick at!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

If you can only do one thing in Florence, tour the Uffizi. It contains masterpieces by all the major artists of the Renaissance as well as earlier pieces and many, many paintings by Caravaggio, one of my favorites. You need at least 3 hours to do justice to this fine museum. Have lunch in the cafe if you need sustenance, but don't scrimp on time here.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Uffizi Gallery also viewed

 
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Uffizi Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Uffizi Gallery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.