We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place not crowded with tourists!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Desco

Il Desco
Via Cavour, 27, 50129 Florence, Italy
+39 055 288330
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 1,992 Restaurants in Florence
Price range: $17 - $34
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great place not crowded with tourists!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Fresh local food prepared and served by friendly Florentines. On a good route from the duomo to San Marco.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    229
    82
    10
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delicious, local produce”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We ate lunch here almost every day that we were in Florence. The staff are so helpful and the food is fresh, delicious and from their farm in Tuscany. We had the address as 55 Via Cavour.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
460 reviews 460 reviews
267 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 128 cities Reviews in 128 cities
217 helpful votes 217 helpful votes
“Great lunch.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

This spot is so great. Small and intimate with great food at a reasonable price. Friendly and fast, it's a great stopping place for some wine and more. Dinners look good here, too!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Check Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We really wanted to visit this restaurant because of reviews here and our preference for vegetarian cuisine. However, the map on trip advisor shows it right on Piazza San Marco. There is a Via Cavore 55 there but it was not the restaurant and nobody we asked seem to know about it). The restaurant website indicates it is two blocks closer to the Duomo - 55R. Maybe will try again tomorrow.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bistrotildesco, Food &Beverage Mngr at Il Desco, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Hello...
Thank you for giving us the occasion to clarify where we are located:
Walking from Piazza San Giovanni (the cathedral square) toward Piazza San Marco, we are on the left hand side of the street at the beginning, called Via Martelli, then Via Cavour, at the civic number 55 RED. As in Florence we have red and black numbers, maybe it would be easier if you look for the 27 BLACK and 29 BLACK: We are between them.
Hope to welcoming you here today,
my kindest regardes.

Shams Shahidi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
367 reviews 367 reviews
249 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
“Excellent, Tasty, Fresh and Healthy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Had a fantastic lunch with super service. This is a small restaurant and the staff are very friendly! Food is fresh, healthy and tasty. Daily special of Florentine gnocchi was awesome and all sides (salad, couscous and vegetables with mint yogurt) were excellent. Quite near San Marco church - we recommend this restaurant!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Desco also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Il Desco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Desco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.