We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place for lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bistrot Il Desco

Bistrot Il Desco
Via Cavour, 27, 50129 Florence, Italy
+39 055 288330
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Bistrot Il Desco is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #39 of 2,059 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $13 - $28
Cuisines: Organic, Mediterranean, Vegetarian, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: We are located in the historic center of Florence, between Piazza del Duomo and San Marco and we offer a simple and tasty cuisine, made with the freshest ingredients of the highest quality. We owned a small farm in Reggello that provides us vegetables, fruit and extra virgin olive oil certified organic by ICEA. For this reason our menu is seasonal and changes every three months according to the production of the garden. The focus is on offer vegetarian dishes and great attention is paid to the Gluten Free offer, almost everything on the menu is suitable for people with celiac disease! Limited offer of meat, but always available in most traditional recipes:)
San Clemente, California
1 review
“Perfect place for lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Il Desco was recommended to us by friends that visited Florence recently so we decided to go there for our first lunch in Florence. Shams is the happy, warm, and friendly guy running the place and was so welcoming the second we walked in, we immediately knew we were going to like the place. We had such a great lunch experience that we returned again. The food was delicious, the people were incredible, and I would highly recommend going to Il Desco.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    269
    94
    11
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florence
1 review
“A haven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We were introduced to Il Desco through our holiday organizers Inntravel but came back of our own accord for lunch twice. Food is lovely, simple and yet incredibly tasty - perfect for lunch when it is hot. Service is so friendly and knowledgeable both on food & wine. Part of making our holiday special so thank you . . . . Only suggestion would be please could you open evenings as well?

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, California
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Lunch Spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

This small bistro is part of the Hotel Il Guelfo Bianco where we were staying for 4 nights. We decided to give it a try for lunch one day and were not disappointed. We had the lunch specials that day - a veal dish and a pasta dish and both were very good. Service was extremely friendly and efficient. Highly recommend!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic vegetarian lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

The staff was top notch and very personable and the food was delicious. My son had the omelette tower and my husband really enjoyed his seitan special. I had an artichoke in waffle (which ended up being zucchini because they were out of artichoke. All the flavors were complex and bold. Would definitely go back to try some other dishes if we had time. Also enjoyed a great recommended local beer.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A delightful suprise in a wonderful city.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Il Desco was exactly what we wanted on our recent visit. The veggie food was exceptional, my favourite being the Sautéed Artichokes in Parmesan Waffle followed by the Towers Omelette with creamed Asparagus and Smoked Tofu. Accompanied by a glass of Prosecco and friendly, fun service. I was with someone very special and the time that we spent at Il Desco helped to make this a memorable and exciting time for me. I would definitely go there again and hope to stay in the hotel next time.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistrot Il Desco also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Bistrot Il Desco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bistrot Il Desco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.