We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There must be better options in Florence” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Astor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Astor to your Saves list
Hotel Astor
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Maragliano, 101, 50144 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #410 of 458 Hotels in Florence
Tegucigalpa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“There must be better options in Florence”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

This hotel not too close to the center of Florence (you need a bus that will take like 15 minutes to reach it). The room was small, but ok and clean. The wifi signal did not reach my room tough and that was really annoying. The staff of the hotel was gentle, but definetly there must be better options in Florence.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    28
    36
    53
    56
See reviews for
24
67
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

We got to the hotel after a long tiring trip from Rome and upon checking we were given a small awful smelling rome with dirty bed linens. We refused and was given an even worse room in the back. Then we were taken to a room on the 2nd floor which was a bit bigger and did not smell. Being tired and hungry We left our bags and went to get some dinner. We were told that the room was hot since the air was just turned on. On our return we went to the room which was very hot and then asked about a/c. A different worker told us the a/c was not working and we should open the window. The place was plagued by Mosquitos which I am allergic too. My niece who is pregnant tried to take a bath and on entering the bathroom the door fell of almost injuring her. I call the staff and he acted surprised. It was was late and I was hot and tired without a bath and scared of mosquito bites and being hurt in the bathroom. I was offered a next room and told bathroom does not work but I could sleep in that one and since it was on the ground floor it was cooler. Imagine my horror no working bathroom, a pregnant niece, no a/c. No bath. There were no towels but some pieces of cloth that looked like table cloths. I had to book another hotel and leave. The hotel is dirty and smelly. Not even for a penny a night should anyone stay at this hotel. Travel sights should not promote this hotel.

Room Tip: Book another other place. This is not fit for humans.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Florence hotels

Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Luckily was only here for the one night while heading towards Lavagna, man this place is so run down. The room was big enough, the beds were so unconformable, the bathroom was small and dirty and water leaked out of the shower, this place really needs a good makeover. Our room was right in front of the air conditioner unit (I think) so there was this constant loud buzzing noise, so we did not get a good nights sleep. Breakfast was limited and unimpressive. I probably would not call this place a Hotel, but I guess you get what you pay for. as this was one of the cheapest places in Florence.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is old and poorly maintained. At the first glance rooms are looking good. But the disappointment when you enter the bathroom... Maybe they cleaned it but still seemed quite dirty. It's small and many tiles are broken or even missing, shower floor is cracked plus the water stays in.
Madras is old with bumps on both sides of the bed.
It wasn't too expensive but definitely not worth the money.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

My wife and I stayed here as a base for Florence.

It's not in the city centre, but the bus stops right outside and only takes 10 minutes, there neighborhood is good with shops (including supermarket), and some good restaurants within walking distance (I suggest iTemplari, ask the staff and they will direct you). And there is also free parking on site for those with cars.

Breakfast was good with breads, pastries cheese, meat and cereal with coffee brewed to order.

The room was good and the bed comfy, however the bathroom was rather small and the shower leaked. I would stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bloemfontein
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Coming down the street to the hotel, it looked rather scruffy from the outside. However, even though we were very early (11H00) the friendly desk attendant showed us the hotel parking at the back of the hotel. (Free - which is seldom found in Florence, or any other city in Italy.) She quickly helped us with maps, directions and suggestions for the rest of the day, including restaurants nearby for the evening. The hotel could do with a lick of paint and some renovations, especially the showers, which do not drain. I reported this to the cleaning lady, but she must have not understood me or ignored me. It was clean (no dust under the bed) and we received new towels on the second day. The breakfast was continental, which kept us going until about eleven. Bus stop to the city close by, on the same street. On the reception staff's suggestion, we walked a couple of blocks from the hotel for a fantastic Florentine evening meal. Overall, good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I would like to start off this review by saying I am not someone who has to have a top notch hotel when I visit a new city for the first time - my attitude usually is, as long as it is clean and the mattress halfway decent - then that's fine. My main aim is to explore the city and not stay in the hotel room....BUT...this hotel well, first of all it is seriously far away from the city center. When I say far away, it's okay by bus which is not that bad actually - and the bus stop is not too far from the hotel so that is fine. The girls behind reception were also very nice and tried to be as helpful as they could - but I guess we just went at the wrong time - and by that I mean our stay coincided with about 80 Italian teenage schoolkids who were away for a few days on a visit to Florence. That is cool too - but what was NOT cool was the noise they made until well into the early hours and I am talking 2 or 3 am and then again from 7am onwards. Not sure if their teacher was with them but neither he/she nor the hotel management did anything about that until we complained bitterly. Then they put an italian notice on all the doors that was meant to have said - no noise after 10pm - well guess what, it did not work. Eventually we decided to leave the hotel and lastminute.com into another one as it was my birthday week after all. The rooms are pretty basic and sometimes a bit shabby and the walls need cleaning (dead nats that someone obviously swatted were still sticking on there) - I think this hotel is more for groups as I did not see many couples. The breakfast was as basic as they come and the girls who served it were rather grumpy. I suppose it had something to do with the fact that 80 kids had descended on them. All in all, I would NOT recommend this hotel to couples who want to have a romantic getaway in one of the most beautiful cities in the world. Yes, it is cheap but you certainly get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Good luck - we moved from one facing the street to one facing the back car par - but at least there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Astor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astor

Address: Via Maragliano, 101, 50144 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #410 of 458 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Astor 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Astor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Astor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.