We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Wine, Ok everything else” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Antica Sosta Degli Aldobrandini

Antica Sosta Degli Aldobrandini
Piazza Madonna, 5/6R, Florence, Italy
++/39/055 - 23 99 199
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,116 of 1,973 Restaurants in Florence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Description: Tel 055 289 131
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great Wine, Ok everything else”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I've stopped here a few times for lunch and evening drinks. Their sandwiches are only ok, and not worth the €4 you pay for them. They are made fresh, but they still aren't very good. The salads are a much better deal and are fresh, so go for those if you are eating in. Also, the service is always slow whether it is busy or not. Last time I stopped in it took 20 minutes to get a sandwich to go!
I do like this place for aperativo though. They have a good selection of wine and their snacks are pretty tasty. It's a busy place, but the crowd is light and fun. If you sit outside, there's always good people watching since it's right on Piazza Madonna at the Cappella Medici.
Check it out for aperativo but skip their panini.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    31
    15
    13
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect little wine bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Great wine, free snacks on the bar (crostini with delicious toppings, nuts, olives, pizza) and a great atmosphere. Lovely little bar for an afternoon drink.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
“Our 'local' whilst in FLorence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stumbled on this place after having arrived at the Medici chapel too late for a visit as it is just across the way. We kept returning most nights! Early in the evening the served free little crostinis on the bar with different toppings, ham, cheese, tomatoes and also olives and crisps and walnuts were on the bar.. Lovely to go with Aperaol Spritzer. The girls that ran the bar were helpful with orders, with suggesting wines from their list. you could also order sandwiches and platters of anti pasta. They also did discount for students. Lovely place to drop in to any tiime of the day. We christened it The Girly bar as it is entirely run by happy helpful girls!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A LITTLE GEM”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Good atmosphere, great wine and free food at this lovely little place on Piazza Madonna. According to my wife they also do the best aperol spritzer in Firenze. The free food consists of pizza, olives, crisps and bread with meat, cheese, pesto and tomato toppings. Service by the three girls is very good.

Our favourite place in the city for a drink by a mile.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“nice place to have a glass of wine”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I've been there twice and I'd go again. There are many tourists but the wine is fine and the food of the aperitivo too... Maybe the staff is not polite, but they're toung people

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Antica Sosta Degli Aldobrandini also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Settignano, Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Antica Sosta Degli Aldobrandini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antica Sosta Degli Aldobrandini, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.