We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, nice restaurant” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rossopomodoro - CLOSED

Rossopomodoro
P.zza del Mercato Centrale, 17/18r, 50123 Florence, Italy
055 211131
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $39
Cuisines: Pizza
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good location, nice restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Located near Central Market, I was not surprised by the food. They sat us in a corner, with hardly any light, and took our order quickly, and the waiter seemed to want to get rid of us as soon as possible, we constantly felt that we were being rushed, and could not enjoy our meal. The food was average, there are many restaurants nearby.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    43
    17
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa City, Iowa
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Excellent food and attentive service for a reasonable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Desperate for somewhere reasonably priced with freedom from crowds in a place still worth seeing, we "settled for" this place in the Piazza del Mercato Centrale and had the most wonderful surprise. The servers ere lovely and the owner very amiable, the menu was extensive and the atmosphere pleasant despite some smokers in the outside marquee. The starters and main course were served together, which gave us the choice of pacing the meal in our own way and the servers and owner kept coming back to check on our satisfaction with things, adjusting as necessary (for example bringing more water). The mixed Salume starter was quite large but excellent and so was the Straccia beef. All potions in the courses we ordered were generous and very very tasty. Excellent value for money.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phila, PA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“what a surprise!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

we were cold and wet on Sunday night and getting cranky....stopped at Rossopomodoro just to get out of the rain. What a great surprise!
Pizza crust had FLAVOR, staff excellent, fun atmosphere, and Claudio the manager was charming.
We were skeptical about a chain in Italy, really? With all the small trattorias?
Don't fear....enjoy!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great eating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Super menu and really friendly service. Very reasonable prices. Eat outside or in. Went several times and had lots of different things - all excellent.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“A pizzeria that cares.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I love that Chef Gennaro Napolitano (and he's really from Naples) cares about the ingredients he uses, including some Slow Food Presidia food and products! They have a wood-fired oven and I saw some good looking pizza's coming out, but we chose other things on the menu. The eggplant appetizer was really delicious (there version of Eggplant Parmigiano) and the chicken and mushroom dish was wonderful. Desserts are killer here also and everything including the table bread is made in-house. Sure, it's a little tourist - it's in a very central location in the Piazza della Mercata, but I saw plenty of Italian families and people of all ages dining, as well.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rossopomodoro also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Prato, Province of Prato
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rossopomodoro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.