We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and cheap” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gelateria della Passera

Gelateria della Passera
Via Toscanella 15 R Firenze, Florence, Italy
055291882
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 2,059 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Ice Cream
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Description: A stone's throw from the Ponte Vecchio, this gelateria opened up 1 month ago serves the perfect mint ice cream. The fior de panna (cream) and fresh mint leaves is nothing like your standard neon green industrial strength flavored mint ice creams. We went back (and again) to taste this hand crafted sublime delight.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
279 reviews 279 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 129 cities Reviews in 129 cities
328 helpful votes 328 helpful votes
“Good and cheap”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Had a 2 scoop cone - passion fruit and almond for 1.50 euros. I really liked both flavors. I thought for the price the quality was really up there. There were more flavors that seemed very interesting to me - pink grapefruit and nocciola is always my favorite but didn't get a chance to try.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    248
    56
    18
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bologna, Italy
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nothing special...I've had better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Wanted to try a new gelateria during a recent visit to Florence and went here based on all the good reviews. I have to say I was fairly disappointed overall, as were the other friends in my group. The texture of the gelato was too solid and smooth for my liking...too much like regular ice cream. I wasn't really excited about any of the flavors they had either, except for walnut, which was pretty good. The place was cute inside, very tiny, but cute. I guess when it comes to gelato, everyone has different taste. I tend to like mine with a little more texture and a slight graininess, but that's just me. I would have also preferred to see more original flavors.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Delicious ice cream with a reasonable price. Favored by locals and tourists alike. It's worth the short walk from Ponte Vecchio. It stays open until midnight or maybe even later!
Try the Pistacchio flavor.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best Gelato in Florence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Easily the best we had on our trip. The Mojito flavour was amazing, perfect for a hot Florence day. Give this place a try on your way down from The Pitti Palace.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Truly amongst the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

I've had ice cream all over Italy and can honestly say this is without doubt some of the very best. I tried pistacchio and zabaglione flavours, both of which were extremely good, smooth in texture and natural in flavour. The pistacchio, a good flavour to go by when conparing gelaterias for quality, was particularly well made. At 1.50 for a small coppetta its the cheapest ive had in all of italy too! Recommended if you're on the south bank in Florence.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gelateria della Passera also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Gelateria della Passera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gelateria della Passera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.