We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A moment of peace and ecstasy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gelateria della Passera

Gelateria della Passera
Via Toscanella 15 R Firenze, Florence, Italy
055291882
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 1,942 restaurants in Florence
Cuisines: Ice Cream
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: A stone's throw from the Ponte Vecchio, this gelateria opened up 1 month ago serves the perfect mint ice cream. The fior de panna (cream) and fresh mint leaves is nothing like your standard neon green industrial strength flavored mint ice creams. We went back (and again) to taste this hand crafted sublime delight.
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“A moment of peace and ecstasy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

If you haven't downloaded the Trip Advisor City Walks app then do so. On the San Spirito walk you visit this tiny Piazza, more a crossroads than anything else. So, buy your ice cream and watch them making tomorrow's batches as you do so in this tiny shop and then sit on a bench, dribble the wonderful ice cream down your hands and feed the pigeons the bottoms of your cones. Heaven but only 4 stars, there is one better gelateria across the river!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    182
    33
    16
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best Gelato in Italy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We researched the Gelaterias we wanted to visit during our visit to Italy and had Gelato at some of the best reviewed places. This one was not one of the places on our list, we went there because it was very close to where we lived in Florence. We were in for a surprise, this is definitely the best Gelato we had not just in Florence but in Italy. The Gelato tastes fresh and full of flavor. All the flavors we tried were great, the Mint and 7 spice did stand out. A MUST go when in Florence.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas, United States
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Favorite Gelato in all of Firenze!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

You know it's a good place when the gelato is covered. Don't be shy to ask for samples or questions about flavors- staff is super friendly and inviting. Small cone is only 1.50Euro and comes with 2 flavors- perfect! Pistachio, crema, crema di 7 profumi- can't go wrong with these flavors, people! Go to Gelateria della Passera and you will not be disappointed.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Gelato in a sea of gelati”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

What's wrong? A reasonably priced ice cream in Italy. For €1.50 I had a two fabulous and subtle flavoured scoops in a cone. This is no lightweight and is not scooped from highly coloured piles in the shop window. One more score for the Oltrarno, methinks!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Top Contributor
279 reviews 279 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 160 cities Reviews in 160 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Ice cream shop highly appreciable, excellent value for money.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

This ice cream shop is located in a small, secluded, lovely square, half way between "Santa Trinita" bridge and Pitti Palace. Even the shop is tiny, there's only space to prepare ice cream, and - if there is place - you can sit only in the public benches of the square.
The ice creams are good to very good. I find eg outstanding tastes as "zabaione" (eggnog), chocolate with orange, and even more "crema ai sette profumi" (seven scents cream). Instead - for example - the mango is not exciting.
Excellent value for money, especially when you consider that the shop is in the heart of most tourist Florence.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gelateria della Passera also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Gelateria della Passera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gelateria della Passera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.