We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Florence Markets & Deli's tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Florence Urban Adventures

Florence Urban Adventures
Via Sasetti 6, 50123 Florence, Italy
+39 338 884 7405
Website
Improve this listing
Visit like an insider
$68*
and up
Ranked #16 of 123 Sights & Landmarks in Florence
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Florence Urban Adventures offers the best authentic day tours around Florence. They range from 2 hour to 1 day adventures and uncover back streets, hidden gems, and fascinating sights. Step into the lives of locals, find out what makes the city tick, and get acquainted with the local food, culture, and traditions of Florence. A local expert guide will provide the knowledge and lead you through a fantastic urban experience.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Florence Markets & Deli's tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

What a fabulous way to experience Florence! Linda was extremley knowlegable in food and wine, and her passion for both is evident as she delights in sharing her knowledge. Our took us around to various deli's, explaining various foods from the region and the way they are prepared. This was followed by a wonderful experience at the fresh produce markets, where we sampled delicious cold meats and delicious cheeses. No question was too hard, no request impossible! I would highly recommend this tour to ANYONE of any age to see Florence in an informative, and delicious way!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda S, Manager at Florence Urban Adventures, responded to this review, September 24, 2014
Darling Virginia
It was so lovely to spend the morning with you and your gorgeous daughter. Thanks so much for the Tim Tams and the Kangaroo Jerky!! Best Regards x x Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    2
    0
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Simply excellent! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

My husband and I did the food tour with Linda on our first full day in Florence. It was such an excellent experience. We tasted a range of cheese, prosciutto, wine, chocolate, truffle oil, gelato. Linda's knowledge is superior and now I spend far more time reading labels on oil, wine and vinegar! It was great visiting some of the more authentic smaller places off the tourist track. Loved Grana Market! I would definitely recommend this tour to anyone with an interest in food. A lovely way to spend an afternoon. Great value. Thanks Linda! Angela & Gareth Shore.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda S, Manager at Florence Urban Adventures, responded to this review, September 24, 2014
Dear Angela and Gareth

Thank you for taking the time to write a review! It was such a pleasure to meet you. Please return soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful off the beaten path tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

This tour was wonderful. Our guide Linda was extremely knowledgable and lovely. She knew a tremendous amount about Italy as well as food and wine. I suggest doing this tour on your first day in the city as it helps give you a lay of the land and unexpected places to explore. Highly recommend urban adventures.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda S, Manager at Florence Urban Adventures, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear Melissa
Thank you for your wonderful review! It was a pleasure meeting you. I am sure you had a fantastic time in Rome and Sorrento. I await news about the cooking class in Rome! Best Regards Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Florence Foodies Walk with Linda”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

This review is painfully overdue - sorry Linda! My husband and I took the walk with Linda in October 2013. We ended up having a private tour and Linda took us to some fabulous places where we sampled local foods including prosecco, truffles, chocolate, gelato, prosciutto, balsamic vinegar, and baked goods, including a seasonal schiacciata featuring grapes that was absolutely delicious. Linda also gave us some great history of the streets that we walked around and the places we visited, as well as some recommendations for the rest of our stay. We had a great time and learned a lot. The length of the tour was perfect to bridge the gap between a day of museums and our evening dinner reservations. I think that the amount of food and the information you receive is well worth the fee. Thanks again, Linda!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda S, Manager at Florence Urban Adventures, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear Susie
Thanks so much for your review! We had such a fun time that I can not believe it is almost a year that has gone by! Please come visit again soon
Best Regards from Beautiful Florence
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Florence Foodies Walk with Natale”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

My boyfriend and I, joined by another couple, took the Florence Foodies Walk on 17th July 2014. Our guide was Natale, a Florentine local who took us for tastings of gelato (honestly, some of the best I've ever eaten - and believe me, I've eaten a lot!), wine, cheese, cured meat, balsamic vinegar and olive oil.

Natale exudes a quiet, but undeniably passionate love for Florence and its exceptional food and wine. We felt very privileged to join him on this tour and gain a glimpse into some wonderfully authentic, local vendors. We had but one day in Florence, and we're very glad to have spent our afternoon discovering delicious foods with Natale rather than sweating it out in the heat with the huge crowds!

Natale also set us up for a fantastic evening with a really great local dinner recommendation after the tour. All in all, we were very happy to have dipped into Florence's food culture with Urban Adventures!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda S, Manager at Florence Urban Adventures, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Terri
We are so happy to hear you enjoyed our Florence Foodies Tour. Natale is a joy to be around as a professional sommelier, guide and fantastic cook he really is the perfect foodie.
Hope we will see you in Florence again
Best Regards Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Florence Urban Adventures also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Florence Urban Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Florence Urban Adventures, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.