We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Florence for Foodies Tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Florence Urban Adventures

Florence Urban Adventures
Florence, Italy
+393388847405
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #26 of 278 activities in Florence
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Florence Urban Adventures offers the best authentic day tours around Florence. They range from 2 hour to 1 day adventures and uncover back streets, hidden gems, and fascinating sights. Step into the lives of locals, find out what makes the city tick, and get acquainted with the local food, culture, and traditions of Florence. A local expert guide will provide the knowledge and lead you through a fantastic urban experience.
Halifax, Canada
1 review
“Florence for Foodies Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Linda was so friendly, informative and took us under her wing and fed us well! She gave an insider perspective to the beautiful city and felt like a friend who was sharing stories and giving information rather than a tour guide.
From companionship, sweets, cheese, wine and wild boar meat sandwiches, our tour was great!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda S, Manager at Florence Urban Adventures, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Laura
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was such a pleasure to have you on our Food Walk in Florence. Don't forget you can also download our free app's at www.urbanadventures.com of all the cities in the world where we have tours. The apps will give you a fantastic insight in to each city and you can use the app when you are off line!
Hope to see you again some day in Florence.
Kind Regards Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blue Bell, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Florence Apertivo Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We had just arrived in Florence from a wonderful four days in the Tuscan countryside, when we joined Linda for the Apertivo Tour. While it was a rainy evening, we were able to walk around and learn some interesting City History from Linda, as she showed us several winebars where the locals go. We got a true flavor of the culture and enjoyed her selections and accompanying foods. We even made a Gelato stop at a tiny, great shop. This was highly personalized and interactive with a very knowledgeable and interesting guide and we were both very pleased!
Jon and Pat

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“Do As The Florentines Do”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

My wife and I recently returned from our honeymoon in Italy. During our stay we spent one day and night and Florence and during that time it became our favorite city we visited (we visited 4 others!!) thanks to this tour. Since we only had a day, my wife and I wanted to see what kind of local food and drinks Florence had to offer. While searching for tours online, we were lucky to come across this one. Since we were visiting Florence out of main tourist season and during the week, we were also very fortunate to get the tour alone, which made it very intimate. We first met our guide, Linda, who oversees the tours, at a quaint wine boutique just a few blocks from the Duomo, where we had some wine and were able to sample some truffles. From there we were taken to other shops, bars, gelaterias, and ristorantes, that you would never find on your own. And every place we went seamed more delicious than the previous. Linda was an incredible guide and host so if you are going to be in Florence for even just a few hours, this is definitely the tour you should sign up for.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Tasmania, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Aperitif tour was excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

My sister had recommended this company from here previous experience in Venice and we were not disappointed in Florence. We met our lovely guide Arianna? at the designated area and with a small group of 6 headed off, we were instantly impressed by our guides open, friendly approach and obvious indepth knowledge of the city. We asked her questions about a range of things and arrived at the first bar about twenty five minutes into the walk. At both the bar stops we sampled local wines and cheeses while Arianna gave us detailed information about the wine production and industry and the traditional italian approaches to cooking and drinking. A great tour thoroughly recommended, and a great way to get to know the back streets and restaurants of Florence.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“A personal tour of hidden foodie gems!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

I did the Florence Foodies Walk in July 2013. After a few initial hick ups in meeting up I met up with Lisa for what become a one on one tour of some hidden foodie gems of Florence. We visited places to try olive oil, sandwiches, gelato, chocolate to name a few. Some of these were hole in the wall places I'd walked past but never really taken notice of and what a mistake that was! Lisa's passion for Florence and Italian food was a real bonus and made the tour that bit more wonderful (on top of the food!).

Unfortunately I did this on my final evening in Florance but would highly recommend doing it as soon as you arrive. Also, double check/confirm the actual meeting time before hand........

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda S, Manager at Florence Urban Adventures, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our tours. We apologise for the mix up at the meeting point at the same time very pleased that our expert guide Lisa was able to meet up with you for the tour! I like your point about taking this tour at the beginning of your stay in Florence. It really is an excellent way to learn about off the beaten places that you can then return to in your own time.
Kind Regards Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Florence Urban Adventures also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Florence Urban Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Florence Urban Adventures, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Florence Urban Adventures to your Saves list