We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Day in Tuscany” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Under The Tuscan Sun Tours

Under The Tuscan Sun Tours
50100 Florence, Italy
+39 348 314 6644
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: FULLY LICENSED PROFESSIONAL GUIDES & DRIVERS since 1980-The Association Under The Tuscan Sun is composed of Tourist Guides & English Speaking Drivers certified by the Region of Tuscany since 1980, and has been operating in Florence as well as in cities of art all over Tuscany for over ten years. Its offices are situated in Florence. Since 1980 we offers: FLORENCE TOUR• In and around Florence by car• Walking tour in Florence MIDDLE TUSCANY• The "CHIANTI" country (wine,food,vineyards,olive trees,medieval villages)• Siena and San Gimignano NORTHERN TUSCANY• Pisa and Lucca• The "Versilia" coast and the withe marble quarries of Carrara MOREOVER:• The Cinque Terre and the eastern Riviera SOUTHERN TUSCANY• Arezzo and Cortona• The "val d' Orcia": Montepulciano, Pienza, Montalcino• The southern Siena: Montalcino and the "Brunello wine country"• The west coast: the "Maremma" country and the Romans and Etruscans ruins MOREOVER:• ASSISI, THE CITY OF SAN FRANCESCO - CRUISE SERVICE from the main ports such LIVORNO, LA SPEZIA, SAVONA, GENOA, CIVITAVECCHIA, NAPLES, SICILY.."Giving you the most every day in every way"
Useful Information: Stroller parking, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Lockers / storage
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic Day in Tuscany”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Our family had pre booked the Tour Wonderful Tuscany tour in September, Andrea picked us up at our apartment in Florence and he instantly made us feel very welcome. We drove through to San Gimignano & Siena in a new Mercedes van which was airconditioned and very comfortable for long drives. Andrea was very professional sharing stories and making the day lots of fun for us and in particular engaging my 13 yo son. We had lots of laughs driving through the countryside and learning about the Tuscan way of life and history. We had a memorable lunch at an organic winery where we were taught the finery of wine tasting by the family who own the winery, this was so much fun we loved it!! The food is delicious and the wine the same, you can buy to enjoy at your hotel or they can ship to your home country. The weather turned late in the afternoon and the rain was very heavy driving back to Florence, Andea was careful and looked after us to ensure our day wasn't completely washed out, he drove us to Michelangelo's Park a gorgeous hill top park which has panoramic views of Florence - not to be missed!
Thank you Andrea for a fantastic day to always be remembered!!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    16
    5
    5
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gatineau, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Tour choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We booked many excursions with Andrea. We were two couples traveling in Italy and preferred to have private tours. In Rome we arranged to have this tour company pick us up at the airport to take us to our hotel. The driver was excellent and on time. At the end of our stay in Rome we booked the Vatican tour with a pick up from the hotel and then a drop-off at the airport. Our guide for the Vatican tour was Emmi and she was excellent. She knew her history. Our driver Claudio was funny and full of information.
In Florence, Fabio pick us up at the port to drive us to Pisa and Florence. What a beautiful day. He provided us with some great information. What a great day.
In Naples, Antonio was waiting for us at the port for an Almafi Coast and Pompeii tour. What a beautiful region. Antonio was very knowledgeable and because of him we had a great day. We definitely recommend this tour company.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A Day in Tuscany”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Our first trip to the Tuscany region and our party of 4 wanted a full day to try and get a memorable experience. Under the Tuscan Sun Tours did not dissappoint. Adreas was our guide and was prompt, fun, informative and as we got to know each other during the day really added a valuable local color beyond the history and scenic descriptions.

I had been initially concerned that the stops which were planned; Monteriggioni, Siena, a meal / wine tasting, San Gimignano and Piazzale Michelangelo might feel rushed. But to the contrary, the pace of the trip and the ability to feel like this was a full but well designed day created an excellent atmosphere.

Andreas provided us with good advise on spending our time in the various towns and planned the timing of the day's adventures to coincide with missing crowds at each stop. The trip also wasn't completely structured as we changed up the time in Siena (les time in the church, more time exploring the town, and more overall time in the town before going to lunch) as we discussed our preferences with him. Andreas' personality also added value to the experience as we became more engaged together during the day. While this is an obvious need for a driver / guide, Andreas also shared personal experiences as we talked during the day; education, raising a family, general philosophy, etc... He also surprised us with 4 big umbrellas at San Gimignano as there was a brief rain down pour. But with the umbrellas we didn't even miss a beat of our day or feel that there was any interruption at all - the day just kept going at its wonderful pace

Looking back, all I want to say is that the whole day was really a blast - lots of fun, educational and left us wanting to go back! Andreas was a wonderful trip companion; a guide Plus++. We absolutely had the memorable experience that we wanted.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
“Wonderful Day in Tuscany!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We had the pleasure of taking a day trip with Andrea in Tuscany. We were extremely impressed with the service that Andrea provided, the quality of his car (black Mercedes van), and all the great things we got to see/do (especially the food/wine!). We are still talking about the great day we spent with Andrea visiting the Tuscan countryside and hope to return very soon.

We both would highly recommend Andrea and Under the Tuscan Sun Tours to anyone visiting Italy.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Relaxing Day in Tuscany”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

While our self-guided trip to Italy primarily focused on the historic urban areas of Florence, Venice and Rome, we did want to spend some time in the Tuscan countryside, sampling the Chianti, visiting places like Siena and San Gimigniano. I've driven in Tuscany before, and enjoy the freedom a car brings; however, navigating the more urban areas of Florence is a less-appealing aspect of having your own car, so the idea of a tour guide-driver became an appealing alternative. We discovered Under the Tuscan Sun Tours on Trip Advisor, and after an exchange of several e-mails, decided to give Andrea and his company ago. In short, this was probably the best decision on our entire trip. For less than the cost of a good car rental, we were able to enjoy what was essentially a private driver and tour guide for the day.

We were picked-up at our hotel at the arranged time by Andrea, who was very easy to get to know; personable, conversational, and very knowledgable about the art and history of Italy. The car was a Mercedes van, which he noted was the vehicle of preference for folks in his day-tour business. We started our trip with an overview of Florence from Piazza Michelangelo, where Andrea pointed out the well-known sites, including all of the greats who are buried at Ste. Croce.

Then it was off to San Gimigniano. Andrea dropped us outside the walled town, with a few suggestions for things to see and do, and then we were off on our own to explore for an hour and a half or so; about the right amount of time for us. Once we re-joined Andrea, we were off to lunch and wine tasting at a vineyard, which was very simply a lot of fun (and another great reason to have a driver!). While a nap might have been appealing after this extended wine-tasting, we pressed-on to Siena, for a couple of hours of sight-seeing around this wonderful medieval city. Again, Andrea shared his knowledge of Sienese history and art.

So in short, I am happy to recommend Andrea nad Under the Tuscan Sun Tours as a wonderful alternative to renting a car or joining a larger bus tour. This was an exceptionally relaxing, enjoyable, and pleasant day. Andrea was very accommodating of what we wanted to do, and at the same time, very knowledgable about what would make an enjoyable tour. Put yourself in Andrea's hands, and enjoy a day in Tuscany!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Under The Tuscan Sun Tours also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
La Spezia, Province of La Spezia
 

Been to Under The Tuscan Sun Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Under The Tuscan Sun Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.