We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to eat just in front of the train station” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Trattoria Osteria dall'Oste

Trattoria Osteria dall'Oste
Via Luigi Alamanni, 3/5r, 50100 Florence, Italy
055212048
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #108 of 1,967 Restaurants in Florence
Price range: $29 - $65
Cuisines: Italian, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: An Osteria should not be missed to let people appreciate Tuscan cooking, specialty REAL FLORENTINE STEAK. 'Osteria dall'Oste' is located just near the Dominican Church of Santa Maria Novella and the Central Railway Station. When at the Osteria, customers are surrounded by a modern atmosphere matching with old pieces of furniture, which convey a sense of comfort, peace and hospitality.
Asti, Italy
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good place to eat just in front of the train station”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

I found this place on tripadvisor while looking for something to eat before catching a train. It's just beside Santa Maria Novella train station and he place is nice, tidy and modern. Good variety of food and wines, cheerful and fast service and fairly-priced dishes. Definitely recommended.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    375
    253
    48
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great pizza, nice table wine, good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We went here twice during our stay both times for dinner. The place was one of the recommendations from our hotel which was close by. I love the décor of this place, very cosy yet modern, the wall made up of wine bottle corks lends a unique charm.
The bread they serve at the start is wonderful, fresh crusty with a hint of salt and warm which was a bonus, it was raining when we arrived there and eating warm bread and wine was very comforting.
Food was great both times we visited, we split a porcini mushroom soup and a pizza on one of the occasions, the pizza was great, wood fired, thin crust, delicious!
The staff understands English which is a big plus and the service charge of 2 euros per person was decent enough.
I tried chicken on the next day and it was delicious as well, pan seared with olive oil and just perfectly cooked. The table wine - chianti was had on both nights and went well with the food.
Very nice dining experience which we enjoyed, would definitely recommend this place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roland, Arkansas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Wonderful atmosphere and food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stopped in to eat at this restaurant fairly late at night because it was a few doors down from our hotel. It was lively and welcoming, and the service and food were fantastic. We liked it so much we went back the next night, and the staff recognized us and were extremely friendly. Again the food was delicious! Prices were very reasonable. The service was very personalized, and it seemed they would go to any lengths to accommodate us and make us feel welcome and comfortable. A delightful experience!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Average steak, mostly for tourist”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stay in one if the hotel near by, so its a really convenient location and its close to the train station. You can imagine most of the customers are tourists. The waiters are nice and all speak english very well. Unlike other popular florence restaurents, like ristorante republica, you don't need to have reservation to get a table. The food is average. As other suggested, they show the fresh steak outside the restaurent and seems very proud of it. So we ordered the steak of Florence for 44 euro, medium rare. The grill is ok. The problem is the meat. Its not very tender, and it does not have meat flavor. I had tasted both good and bad steak of florence in other places. This is not bad, but its not good either, even the size is big. It didn't give you the WOW taste. The steak is disappointed without meat taste. My mom ordered spagetthi with meat source. The meat is rough but the pasta is fine, the source is tasty. The wine is reasonable compare to others. We ordered a bottle of Banfi chianti for $15. Its ok, but not restaurant' fault. All in all, I would not say it worth 5 star. There are other much better restaurants in Florence.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Best pizza in Firenze”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

This was wood-fired pizza at it's best - I had the pizza with seafood - it was large and covered with mussels, shrimp, clams, scallops and calamari - wow. Paired well with red wine. Staff were friendly and helpful. When they got a bus load, the entire staff swung into action. We watched what other people were eating, and one couple got steak - it was enormous. This place is definitely worth a trip!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Osteria dall'Oste also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Trattoria Osteria dall'Oste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trattoria Osteria dall'Oste, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.